You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 2:30 p.m.

Frozen custard and burger chain Culver's to open restaurant on Jackson Road

By Lizzy Alfs

A Culver’s franchise owner recently closed on a deal to open the restaurant’s first Washtenaw County location in front of Lowe’s on Jackson Road in Scio Township, the company confirmed today.


Culver's plans to open a restaurant on Jackson Road.

Photo courtesy of Culver's

According to Scio Township documents, Lowe’s sold a portion of the outlot property to Karich Scio Properties LLC in December for $700,000. Karich Scio Properties LLC is registered to Barbara Smith and Karen Richard.

Max Goldman of Southfield-based Ludwig & Seeley, who is marketing the outlot site, confirmed the sale was for a Culver’s restaurant location. Goldman is now marketing the 5.7-acre property next to Culver’s for an additional retail development.

Richard, an Ann Arbor resident who owns a Culver's in the Jackson area, told she hopes to open the Scio Township location by the end of May.

“They are already moving dirt at the site, so weather permitting, I would expect to be open right around Memorial Day at the latest,” she said.

The Wisconsin-based frozen custard and burger restaurant chain has been considering the local market for years. Richard said a deal has been in the works for the Lowe's outlot since late 2008.

She said she wanted to open her first Culver's location in the Ann Arbor area, but couldn't find a "decent property" at the time, so she opened one in the Jackson area in 2006.

“Ann Arbor would have probably been my first choice for a restaurant, however, there wasn’t any property available when I began to look,” she said. “We looked in Pittsfield Township, then a site out by Saline, and then we found this piece of property.”

A Culver’s restaurant, she said, is the “perfect fit” for the Ann Arbor area.

“It’s a fabulous brand and a family-type environment and business,” she explained. “It’s a very close knit organization of owners who believe in extreme hospitality and fantastic food.”

The Culver’s menu includes the restaurant’s signature “ButterBurgers,” sandwiches, salads and frozen custard.

The first Culver’s restaurant opened in Wisconsin in 1984, and there are now over 425 locations nationwide. There are 34 locations in Michigan.

Lizzy Alfs is a business reporter for Reach her at 734-623-2584 or email her at Follow her on Twitter at



Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 5:41 p.m.

MMMM Culvers


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 4:43 p.m.

More tasty places to eat is always a good thing. I've never eaten there but I'll be sure to try it given the great reviews on here. However... Is anyone going to point out that while there will be more jobs most of them will be minimum wage or close to it? You can't live on minimum wage in this area.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 3:21 p.m.

This story makes me realize how prescient my parents were to fund my education at the University of Michigan, and allow me to take up residence here in this, the most enlightened center of intelligencia and sustainable and ethical living in the world, perhaps only second to Portland, Oregon. Not to mention the wide array of culinary delights that rival the best the world has to offer. I'm constantly thankful to Gaia (or whichever deity figure or philosophical pursuit is your personal choice, unless it is Jesus Christ, or any of the dated, unenlightened, judgemental, monotheistic beliefs that do nothing but cause the spread of dissension, hatred and right wing politics) that I do not have to mingle with the sub-species that infest the surrounding townships and hamlets of our fair city, nor eat their mass-produced, chemical-laden, obesity-causing scrapple. It is my fervent hope that the residents of Scio Township, with their reduced brain capacity and love for automobile racing will continue to gorge themselves with "fare" such as Culver's, so that their population may all the sooner be reduced, and our dream of a genetically pure Ann Arbor can finally come to fruition. Welcome, Culver's!


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 10:06 p.m.

Move to Ypsilanti. Better mom and pop restaurants here. I know, I never can decide which one to eat at when I am hungry.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 6:53 p.m.

Phew! I thought maybe I'd have to move out of Ann Arbor into Scio Township.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 4:14 p.m.

@bunnyabbot: I was being HIGHLY sarcastic, bunny. :)


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 4:01 p.m.

They just "may" have wasted their money.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 3:58 p.m.

and here I just mentioned in another article the elitest attitude of so many people (men) in Ann Arbor.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 2:28 p.m.

It's not hard to find nutrition information for fast food chains! But try to find it for your "finer" restaurants. Care to guess what the figures are for a lobster meal at the Real Seafood company? Or a Maryland Lump Crab & Lobster Cakes 29.95 Garlic Smashed Potatoes 6.95 Sauteed Spinach with garlic 8.95 at the Chop House you would have to guess because you can't find it! McDonald's Sandwiches & Burgers: Burger, Double Quarter Pounder, with Cheese Total Fat 42g Sat. Fat 19g Cholesterol 155mg Sodium 1380mg Buffalo Wild Wings' Meals: Combo, Boneless Wings & Traditional Wings Total Fat 98g Sat. Fat 20g Cholesterol 310mg Sodium 7940mg Culver's Sandwiches & Burgers: ButterBurger, "The Original", Double Total Fat 23g Sat. Fat 8g Cholesterol 120mg Sodium 700mg Wendy's Sandwiches & Burgers: Hamburger, Dave's Hot 'N Juicy 1/2 lb, Double Total Fat 48g Sat. Fat 21g Cholesterol 175mg Sodium 1530mg Panera Bread's Sandwiches & Burgers: Signature Sandwiches, Chicken Caesar on Three Cheese, Full Total Fat 32g Sat. Fat 10g Cholesterol 130mg Sodium 1270mg


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 8:54 p.m.

SMC No more or less irrelevant than some comments! I was just giving information to some of the "experts" like yourself that don't actually KNOW what is in food. Only what they like! Lets me know what is in YOUR favorite meal.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 5:43 p.m.

You're making me hungry


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 4:35 p.m.

Congratulations on creating a chart that is completely irrelevant, by comparing menu items that don't compare to one another. The McD's Double 1/4pounder and Wendy's Double are both larger than the Culver's burger, and a combo meal from BW's (whose nutritional information is highly suspect) that doesn't even belong on the same page. As for the dinner at Real Seafood, no, it probably isn't healthy. It also isn't available in less than 5 minutes, through a drive-through window. Not that it matters, since you point out that there is no nutritional info available for many finer restaurants, since their ingredients do not come precooked, boxed and shipped from a giant factory somewhere.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:54 p.m.

The Paula Deen of Restaurants. Caution: Just reading this could make you fat. <a href="" rel='nofollow'></a>


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:54 p.m.

...and hungry.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:33 p.m.

Does SMC 'actually' drive a Prius or not?


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 4:17 p.m.



Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:29 p.m.

50+ More jobs - Stable Business - all good


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:23 p.m.

Let's face it, anyone who has a television or can read knows that the majority of the food that this or any similar restaurant sells is exactly the food we should not be eating. We all pay for it in our medical costs and insurance premiums. Heart disease, strokes and diabetes are rampant because of our frequent stops at these places. I see nothing wrong with the posts that are critical of this restaurant for that reason. Providing jobs by building more of these places makes no sense. If you want to eat there, fine. But don't criticize those of us that realize what is really going on.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 10:03 p.m.

I saw a movie that made me go almost plant base. Forks over Knives made me start really watching what I am really eating. I totally agree with this post.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 6:48 p.m.

Some of us enjoy such places in moderation. For me, that means once or twice a month. I know what I'm eating and I enjoy it.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 9:57 a.m.

In response to the earlier posts about COSTCO in Scio Township in which there was an uproar......I was at the Board meeting and the reason that many had objections was that they proposed building it on Zeeb Road and not Jackson Rd. which was zoned for these type of Big Box stores.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 6:38 a.m.

I've eaten at the Culver's in Belleville (I-94 and Belleville Road) and really liked the food. I'd welcome a restaurant closer to home!


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 6:19 a.m.

Culver's also have some good chicken. The fries are good to.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 6:17 a.m.

Huh, I was just reading a post about Culvers on ye old Livejournal. The employees got gluten and lactose mixed up when someone asked them if the frozen custard had dairy in it. I really wanted to say...DUH, are you stupid. But then there was a whole hullabaloo about custard just being eggs and sugar... Yeah, not so much here. So FYI all you lactose intolerant people out there. But I ate at Culvers in WI back when I didn't have all the food allergies that I do now. Coincidence? Oh my god. So bad for you but so good. Frozen custard is amazing. Chicken tenders. Yum.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 2:07 a.m.

I am always amazed at how so many posters can be &quot;experts&quot; on the food at a restaurant they despise! It would seem they would need to go more than once to draw such definitive conclusions! And if it was so bad why go back?


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 2:04 a.m.

Finally!! A new family-friendly place between Dexter and Ann Arbor!! Looking forward to it!!


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 12:25 a.m.

Great news and great location! Excited to try it.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:35 p.m.

Frankly good for the new business. I am totally amazed at how much negative conversation was generated about a small business opening up. Goodness gracious. If you don't like it, don't go; if you do, then hey...


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 12:13 a.m.

Yes, I'm sure it must be shocking that negative opinions might be voiced in a venue specifically designated for discussion of news articles. Especially when said venue is located on the internet.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:23 p.m.

Nothing wrong with Culvers, and I can't wait for them to get here, but if the fast food out of state thing is a real problem for you, try these fast food delights: Roy's Squeeze Inn (two locations) Breys Burgers (top notch with grilled onions) Halo-Burger Carters Drive-Ins: Bills (no hamburgers though) Chick-Inn Absent from the list? Typical overhyped and undewhelming Ann Arbor place: Blimpy. Marginal food, served with a long wait and an attitude. You would have to be at least sort of fast to be fast food.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 10 p.m.

I wonder if Blimpy was trying to do what Walt Disney World has down there. A cafe that has mom appeal. Meaning, if you don't finish your plate a waitress is instructed to come over to your table and start nagging. It is hilarious. Or better yet, sits down next to you helping you eat. Otherwise, you get a doggy bag to go. We wanted to but never got time. We will next time we go.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 2:42 p.m.

I couldn't agree more, EyeHeartA2. I stopped going to Blimpy's years ago when I saw an employee yell at a 7-yr-old for sitting down while her parent was in line. The humiliated child burst into tears and the family left. So did I. When I called to complain to the owner he informed me that this was part of the popular employee's &quot;charm&quot;. Sorry, but I don't spend my $$ anymore on businesses that consider berating their customers charming. The places you mention are wonderful alternatives if you need a &quot;fast food fix&quot;, and they don't scream at little kids. Best of luck to Culvers.

Basic Bob

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 3:51 a.m.

Roy's has three locations now. They serve a righteous cheesesteak, nearly as good as Gabriel's.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:30 a.m.

Not sure if you mean Banfields Westside? Then you open up the whole Bar Burger, so you should include Caseys, Fraisers, Aubrees, Sidetracks along with Banfield East and West. Leave Jolly Pumpkin and their $13 burger off that list.

Lynn Liston

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 12:33 a.m.

Bill's is terrific! Been going there for decades. Let's add The Westside, good food, nice casual atmosphere.

Marshall Applewhite

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:22 p.m.

Culver's is a good place. I've never actually tried the frozen custard, because I never wanted to eat it while driving coming back from Detroit of the Airport. This one will be close enough where I may actually give it a shot.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:19 p.m.

I did visit them when they first open. After walking out of there we noticed an emptier wallet, prices are rather pricey and after eating their burgers? Gross. We will never eat there again. For a great burger that is mom and pop? Big Sky on Ecorse. Best burger in town. Since this post will get nicked if I mention any of the better burger joints in the area I will remain silent. I tell everyone to avoid them. Gross food and very salty and greasy. Culvers is another Wal Mart of America.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 9:56 p.m.

We don't do science fairs. And as for a great burger? Big Sky wins hands down.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 5:53 p.m.

No you should post where you think has a better burger I'm sure those places would appreciate the advertising and you might open people's eyes to places they had not heard of before or considered going to. Don't ever be afraid to post your opinion on here even if you know it's going to be deleted or tyou let them win. I refuse to be censored, I will post what I like and I encourage you and everyone else reading this to do that same thing. If what you write is removed so be it, but at least you let it be known how you feel about the topic!


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 3:15 a.m.

You should do your kid's next science fair project about Culver's

Lynn Liston

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:06 p.m.

I'm not sure how this can be seen as an enhancement to the area when we already have so many excellent, affordable, locally owned and independent restaurants in the vicinity. I was hoping for something useful, not another burger franchise chain.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 5:48 p.m.

Does SMC stand for Snobbery Minded Citizen? You sound really condescending SMC even though you make some valid points, the way you put it is not helping you change any minds. People don't like being called &quot;hordes of mindless consumers who lack taste and sophistication.&quot;


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 5:45 a.m.

Because part of living in America is the freedom to express one's opinions, regardless of their popularity. I'm fairly certain that not expressing dog-like excitement for another fast food franchise opening isn't a violation of the Patriot Act, either.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 2:23 a.m.

I've often wondered why some people stay in America when they are so against it.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:32 p.m.

There may be some excellent, locally owned and independent restaurants in the vicinity, but I don't believe many of them can be defined as affordable. This is Washtenaw County after all.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:09 p.m.

Sadly, America is the best place in the world to get rich by selling greasy, mass-product food products to hordes of mindless consumers, who lack the taste buds and palate sophistication to appreciate proper food. Unfortunately, Ann Arbor is located in America, much as the residents would sometimes wish otherwise.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:02 p.m.

I've heard they have fried cheese curds...are they any good?


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 6:01 a.m.

OMG! shut up! cheese curds! if this is true I am so there!


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 10:31 p.m.

Well, I see Ann Arbor snobbery is alive and well.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:57 p.m.

I wouldn't take your family to the grand opening this weekend, burl, since the article says they aren't opening until May. Perhaps you might try to support a business that is already open?


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:29 p.m.

Too true, too true. They'll bemoan the opening of the restaurant and boycott it but when it fails they'll find a bogey man to blame. Well I'm hoping it won't fail. This weekend I'm going to support it with my friends and everyone reading this should do the same!!!


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 10:35 p.m.

If, by &quot;snobbery,&quot; you meant &quot;possession of functional taste buds,&quot; then yes, I agree.

Michigan Man

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 10:30 p.m.

What took so long? Live in Chicago area where we have had Culver's for years. One Culver's just a couple of miles from my hone. I thought Ann Arbor was know for being progressive and oriented toward health food?


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:10 p.m.

You consider Culver's food health food?


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 10:19 p.m.

This is great news! My daughters take me to the one in Grand Haven every time I visit. I had one of their salads and it was absolutely fabulous. They also have fried cheese curds. Mmmmm. Heart attack in a bag but boy they were good. I only wish they had found a place nearer to me. I'll make the trip over there, you can count on it.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 10:17 p.m.

Thank you, Barbara and Karen for investing locally. I wish you massive success!


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:47 p.m.

My parent's in law will be happy to hear this news. They like the one in Battle Creek. It seems though that this location is pretty far out location-wise from most of the population of Ann Arbor. But I imagine the location has much less competition than AA where restaurants are packed everywhere.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:44 p.m.

The opening of Culver's on Jackson Rd means Scio's Twp's McMansion dwellers and Scio Farms residents alike can feel good about &quot;eating local.&quot;

Lynn Liston

Thu, Feb 16, 2012 : 2:20 p.m.

Chris, there are Carlye's, the Coney Island, the Westside and Creekside. All affordable, all have a nice atmosphere and you can get an adult beverage while the kids enjoy burgers and sodas. If you prefer pizzas and subs there is Guardino's on Jackson Rd, and Mancino's on Zeeb Rd s of Jackson. Mancino's has a license, too. It's entirely possible to go out to dinner with the kids to a clean place with a nice family atmosphere that also appeals to adults. Will Culver's have wonderful local wall murals and a real diner atmosphere, a chef willing to customize like the Coney? Can you get a beer with your burger there like you can at Westside? What you get for your dollar is so much more at these local, independent restaurants.

Chris Barrett

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 11:02 p.m.

Lynn, point us to an affordable, locally owned, independent restaurant with a decent burger and nice atmosphere around here and I'll eat there. I've yet to find that combination. I welcome any and all competition to the restaurant business. Maybe this will make the locals step up their game to keep some business. About the only place I'll go for a burger around here is Blimpy's, and that feels like a chore because of cramped space and lack of parking (not to mention the drive across town).


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 5:19 a.m.

I often forget that sarcasm is sometimes difficult to convey in this medium.

Lynn Liston

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 12:36 a.m.

Mea culpa, SMC. I'm an idiot! (slaps forhead)


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:52 p.m.

Lynn, it's only considered &quot;eating local&quot; if you take into account the fact that I am the most sarcastic person on the face of the earth. Also, I agree with you 100% on this issue; more fast food chains will do next to nothing to help our local character or economy, regardless of what the rest would have us believe.

Lynn Liston

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:21 p.m.

Could you explain how dining at a franchise burger chain from another state is considered 'eating local'? When there are already enough affordable, locally owned, independent restaurants in the area where one can get a decent burger in a nice atmosphere?


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:04 p.m.

As I said in a different post, the addition of a few barely-minimum wage jobs at a fast-food joint that serves generic, unhealthy food is hardly cause for celebration. I'm no historian, but I'm fairly certain that this country did not become an economic powerhouse by creating an economy made up entirely of teenagers making hamburgers. When some company decides to invest in our local economy by employing local residents with employment that can support a decent standard of living, that's a step in the right direction. A single restaurant on the outskirts of town slinging greasy fast food is nothing.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 10:54 p.m.

I'm not sure how eating at a local restaurant isn't eating local? So some proceeds go to Wisconsin, theres still profit coming back here. Not every job is a six figure salary job and just because they serve food that you seem to be against doesn't mean its bad. If you would try it maybe you would like it!!!


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:34 p.m.

Wow this is like life support for the ex-customers of Country Buffet. Hope the doors and seating will be accommodating enough!


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:51 p.m.

The massive amounts of butter in the kitchen could always be re-purposed for any booth-jamming emergencies.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:48 p.m.

That's cold my friend. But unfortunately, probably true.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:32 p.m.

Love their custard! So glad they are coming to AA.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:11 p.m.

This is by far the best &quot;fast food&quot; I have ever had. The burger is as good if not better than Blimpy's. And like Blimpy's, it's made to order with fresh, not frozen beef. This place puts the Wendy's and McD's to shame.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 5:11 p.m.

Gotta agree with Justcurious, Blimpy's are definitely delicious, but they have always been grease covered. Like soaking through the bag covered. But they are delicious so it's worth it once in a while just like this will be ok once in a while


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:13 p.m.

Blimpy's has always been so soaked in grease that they slide off the bun. So, anyone's burger could be better than that.

Ron Granger

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:09 p.m.

Another chain burger joint. Yawn. So many better places to go.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:07 p.m.

Stop the negative comments. If you don't want to eat there then don't. Let's be thankful some company would want to come to Michigan. I am thankful it will mean a few jobs for people and more tax base for Scio. I personaly am tired of my taxes going up every year to pay for the fire deptment. Thank you Scio and thank you Culver's. I know alot of people that would like to eat there.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 5:27 a.m.

@EyeHeart: I don't actually drive a Prius, nor do I religiously bang the &quot;buy local&quot; drum. However, I do fail to see why everyone's so excited about another fast food chain franchising a location in the Ann Arbor area, as if it will somehow enrich the economy or our lives. russellr says we should be thankful that a company &quot;would want to come to Michigan,&quot; even though that is not the case at all. The company sold franchise rights to a pair of in-state business owners. They haven't invested a dime, and if the venture fails, Culver's isn't on the hook for any money at all. They make their money selling the franchise and the wrappers that the burgers come in, which means absolutely zero risk on their part.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 2:20 a.m.

Driving to Lafayette Coney Island is worth the carbon footprint, and you can get a beer


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:32 a.m.

@SMC Yep, buy local. Get a Prius. Classic.

Joe Kidd

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:12 a.m.

Any development, other than the occasional dirty book store helps to revitalize the economy. The Twp is going to get much more in property tax after the business is up than it is now on vacant property.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:49 p.m.

Actually, EyeHeartA2, I drive a Prius, and I don't think the fuel savings will be quite enough to offset the ecological impact of driving all the way to Flint to get a hamburger, even if it is locally-grown. Luckily, there are many locally-produced burgers available nearby, including Blimpy Burger, Bagger Dave's, and Knight's, to name but a few.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:18 p.m.

@SMC, then I would suggest you drive your Honda up to Flint and get a Haloburger. Keep all the money in State, you know.

Lynn Liston

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:18 p.m.

Supporting locally owned, independent restaurants on the Jackson Rd corridor would have the same economic effect you attribute to Culver's, and more of the money you spend there will stay in the community.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 10:23 p.m.

It's not &quot;some company&quot; that wants to come to Michigan. It's an out-of-state company that sold a fast-food franchise to a pair of local business owners, so that they can sell hamburgers, some of the profits from which will end up back in Wisconsin, or wherever Culver's is headquartered. Other than hiring a few low-wage employees, I just don't see another fast food joint doing much to revitalize the local economy.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:51 p.m.

Will there be beer?


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:46 p.m.

Icecream is good , burgers are to be desired but then again, I don't like McD. either. There is one in Adrian as well.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:45 p.m.

Great to hear! This is a decent chain. Also glad to see the typical tree-huggers out whinng about it...haven't seen some of you on in awhile.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:08 p.m.

No sticks and twigs for me...butter up them burgers!


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:42 p.m.

Tried them a few times and not impressed at all. Over cooked and not great by any means. Blimpy or Halo Burger &gt;&gt;&gt;&gt; all.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 4:37 p.m.

How could yalz have forgotten Bates burgers?

Frustrated in A2

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:08 a.m.

I've never had Culvers but a tear would fall from my eye if a Halo Burger opened up down here. I was in Flint once for a funeral and we stopped into Halo after leaving the cemetery and before returning to the church. Yes it was needed that bad, Lol!


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:24 p.m.

My husband grew up on Halos. I grew up on Wendys and after moving to Ypsi? Big Sky. I too am dissatisfied with Culvers. After checking out of there we noticed the patties are thin slabs of meat and you have to order two to make anything worth it. Plus the prices are outrageous. I tell everyone avoid them. Gross food.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:21 p.m.

I agree, a Halo Burger is a better burger.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:51 p.m.

The Master Chief would like a Halo Burger.

Audion Man

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:45 p.m.

Really? I find Culver's burgers to most like Blimpy's (the Gold Standard, of course) of any of the fast food chains. I think Five Guys are seriously overrated. And their non-burger items are good, too.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:27 p.m.

Jackson road is the best for new business. just look at what has and is being added. Going from Ann Arbor to Chelsea is the place to put up a new business. Wounder why they imporved the roads this is one reason.

Joe Kidd

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:09 a.m.

I thought Costco was pushed away by a great deal of economic recession. I recall most people were ecstatic that it was coming in here. Scio Twp has made improvements on Jackson Rd for this very purpose attracting business. Appears to be working. But wow, $700,000 for a just the lot.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 10:15 p.m.

Look at occupancy rates in A2 and then in Scio Twp. I can think of 1/2 dozen empty business buildings right around Wagner/Jackson Rd. Reasons are myriad, not just due to taxes, building regs etc.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:47 p.m.

Diagenes, it's no more friendly than the townships or city. If you recall, Costco was going to build 5 years ago in Scio near Jackson, and was pushed away with a great deal of uproar.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:34 p.m.

I wonder why Jackson Rd west is growing? Maybe lower property taxes, a friendly business development climate, no historic district, residents with disposable income? Maybe the city of Ann Arbor could learn something? Naw we already know everything, just ask us.

Audion Man

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:24 p.m.

As far as fast food goes, Culver's is best of breed.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:22 p.m.

There is one in Westland too. The burgers are pretty good, but they could use more butter. (really)


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 4:56 p.m.

Didn't there used to be on in Belleville too?


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:17 p.m.

Featuring their famous &quot;Butter Burger&quot;, Culver's announcement was met by praise from Ann Arbor's cardiologists. When asked for a quote, one leading area heart surgeon remarked, &quot;I'm estatic! This'll be great for business. There's no saturated fat like Wisconsin saturated fat!!&quot;


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 6:39 p.m.

Can't we, can't we just get along?


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 2:31 p.m.

A2D2 Please tell us the nutrition information at YOUR favorite place to eat. You can't!


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 5:43 a.m.

burl, despite what you might believe, I doubt very much that the owners of this new fast-food franchise will suddenly decide to cancel their construction plans and relocate their business somewhere else, just because a few people posted negative comments on a forum that no one reads anyway. Sorry for my unamerican activities. Please don't call the Department of Homeland Security, and I promise to try and follow your cheerfully simple example.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:34 p.m.

No I'm not saying people cant talk but that they should think about what they say. A few are against this place, a place that is coming to Ann Arbor and some folk are on a nutritional witchhunt. Whatever happened to the America where we welcome people, instead of trying to drive them away???


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 10:16 p.m.

Yes, burl, if someone voices an opinion that doesn't mirror your own, then they clearly need to read the constitution, which also protects freedom of speech, which includes opinions contrary to your own.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:22 p.m.

So here comes the food police. If you think there should be a healthy restuarant then by all means open it up. Last time I checked this was America and there's a little thing called the constitution and that means freedom to eat whatever we want!!!!

Rob MI

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:53 p.m.

If you're going to attempt to be snarky, get your facts straight first. &quot;Butter Burgers&quot; are so-called because of the butter used on the flat surface of the bun, which is toasted. This isn't like some of those awful creations where butter gets a starring role (such as the deep fried sticks of butter found at the Iowa State Fair)

Audion Man

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:32 p.m.

Culver's will be a nice palate cleanser after polishing off all the locally sourced, artisanal entrees from the $25 a plate places around here.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:29 p.m.

nothing like helping out any business in the city. ever wounder why we have so many lines at the fast foods at night time. just another one to get in line at dinner time.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:16 p.m.

This is a great thing, it's good to see a nice family restaurant open up here. Jobs in the economy is a good thing and the food sounds like an added bonus, yum. I think it's a darn shame some people will make light of this, if you don't want to eat there that's one thing but making negative comments is, in my opinion, taking it too far. Maybe some of the restaurants that had closed wouldn't have had some of our neighbors had been more supportive. Here's to hoping this time will be different!!!

Lynn Liston

Thu, Feb 16, 2012 : 2:24 p.m.

SMC, bad me! I also left off Mancino's- how could I forget them? Great pizza, beer and wine, lovely people and the new location is really pretty. Guardino's is also quite good-

Morris Thorpe

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 9:54 p.m.

Good list, Lynn. I was thinking just about the Zeeb road area (though I can't believe I forgot Matzger's) and &quot;:the sushi place that's never open.&quot; (by the way, they don't open early but stay open very late, like 10'ish often)


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 4:22 p.m.

Lynn: You forgot Giardino's, which is owned by the same family that owns/operates Uptown Coney Island. They make a good pizza, and their sandwiches aren't bad either.

Lynn Liston

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 2:47 p.m.

Actually, many of the places to eat out here in the A2/Scio junction area are NOT chains: At Westgate: Barry Bagels and Stars Across the road- Village Kitchen Heading down Jackson- Webers, Carlyle, Coffe House Creamery, the new Chinese place in the strip mall, the Coney Island, Classic Cup, Creekside, Westside On Zeeb, the sushi place that's never open, and across the freeway- Metzger's. The Coffee and Chocolate shop on Jackson is part of a small chain, started and owned by a Michigan family. Sorry if I've forgotten anyone, but there are plenty of locally owned, independent places to eat between Stadium and Zeeb, at all price ranges and offering a variety of cuisines.


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 1:57 a.m.

Morris My definition of a family restaurant is a restaurant that FAMILIES go to, NOT one that is owned by a local family!


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:41 p.m.

Making negative comments is &quot;taking it too far?&quot; When last I looked, I do believe freedom of speech (including negative comments) was protected by the constitution. Personally, I don't think another fast joint in Scio Twp will do much to solve Michigan's economic problems, but perhaps the fans of the recently closed Old Country Buffet will find some solace in the newest outlet for mass-produced food.

Morris Thorpe

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:05 p.m.

I don't want to be a naysayer, but.... My definition of a &quot;family restaurant&quot; is not a chain with 425 franchises. And what jobs will this bring? People are not going to eat any more than they do just because Culver's opens. They'll just forgo other restaurants instead (although, granted, other than Banfield's and Creekside, everything around the area are chains.) That said, I do love me some Culver's.

Annette Poole

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:13 p.m.

Woo! They have the best burgers and their custard is amazing. Great news!


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:04 p.m.

Jackson Road is far from everything!

Usual Suspect

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:48 p.m.

&quot;Jackson Road is far from everything!&quot; Except a crapload of customers, but that's not important.

Lynn Liston

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 11:14 p.m.

Not if you live here- it's 8 minutes from downtown and is home to folks with just as discriminating a palate as those 'townies' a few minutes to the East. :)


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 10:30 p.m.

You're right, Buster. Scio Twp represents the finest that big-box suburbia has to offer. We should all attempt to emulate this generic, forgettable style in every way possible.

Buster W.

Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 10:27 p.m.

Tell that to Meijer and Lowes. You really should get out more often.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 10:11 p.m.

Scio Twp has never been known for its collective taste in anything, let alone food.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 9:46 p.m.

&quot; tree hugging, lettuce munching city dwellers.&quot; yes, because lettuce is apparently a partisan vegetable...


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:53 p.m.

The people from the outskirts have different palates than the tree hugging, lettuce munching city dwellers.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:41 p.m.

No, it's close to some of us.


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:13 p.m.

Not for their key consumers


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 8:01 p.m.

This is amazing news, now I can get fat on custard!


Mon, Feb 13, 2012 : 7:50 p.m.

Tony Saccos and Jersey Mikes opening up soon should complete the full range of chain restaurants in Ann Arbor.

David Paris

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 11:07 p.m.

&quot;Tony Paco's&quot; Hey, it rhymes!


Tue, Feb 14, 2012 : 2:16 a.m.

Tony Paco's in Toledo is a unique experience