You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 1:48 p.m.

Domino's moves to quash rumors of Rush Limbaugh ties

By Lizzy Alfs

Ann Arbor-based Domino’s Pizza is taking actions to assure its customers the company has no ties to Rush Limbaugh and his radio show - even though the company has never advertised on the program in the first place.


Domino's said it has never advertised on Rush Limbaugh's radio show.

AP photo

Following Limbaugh’s remarks to Georgetown law school student Sandra Fluke last week calling her a “slut” and a “prostitute,” customer complaints starting rolling into the pizza company, the Washington Post reports.

People were demanding via Twitter, email and phone requests that Domino’s pull its ads from Limbaugh’s show after the company accidentally ended up on a list of its sponsors. One Twitter user told the company she’d start ordering from Pizza Hut.

Since Limbaugh’s remarks, more than 20 companies have pulled its advertisements from the program, including the Detroit-based Quicken Loans.

But Domino’s, said vice president of communications Tim McIntyre, has never advertised on Limbaugh’s radio show.

“We just don’t know what this is all about because we’ve never advertised on the program,” he said.

To quash the rumor, Domino’s employees responded individually to each customer complaint in the form of tweets, phone calls and emails. They reached out to 3,500 people in the effort.

“We were not involved,” McIntyre said. “We don’t advertise on the Rush Limbaugh show. We should not be part of this. We are sucked into this thing that happened.”

Check out the full Washington Post report here.

Lizzy Alfs is a business reporter for Reach her at 734-623-2584 or email her at Follow her on Twitter at



Sat, Mar 10, 2012 : 3:32 p.m.

Tis is an example of divide and conquer tactics to squash free speed. Soon we'll have homogenous news coming from every TV set and radio in what used to be America. Advertisers should be allowed to support whatever radio station or TV staion they choose. They usually won't pay to advertise on a station with no ratings, so this is obviusly pressure being placed by minority pressure groups to hurt the person they don't agree with.

Superior Twp voter

Fri, Mar 9, 2012 : 5:01 p.m.

Believe I will "move" to never patronize Dominos! This is exemplary of Libs carpet-bombing and "scorched-earth" practices.


Fri, Mar 9, 2012 : 9:19 p.m.

Are you commenting on the right article? We are talking about RL here...doing exactly what you proclaim...never-mind...jeesh


Fri, Mar 9, 2012 : 4:03 p.m.

It sure seems like few people actually listened to Ms Fluke testimony. Evidently they are talking the word of celebrity entertainers over that of the actual words used before congress. And gee, I've never known Rush to twist facts before!! Good thing we took his advice on those pesky Iraqi wmd's!


Fri, Mar 9, 2012 : 2:42 p.m.

The man apologized for his comments; that is more than another did when calling Laura Ingham disgusting name. Frankly, I believe I would like our government spending more time on "important issue" rather than spending time listening to an individual asking that the citizens of USA pay for her birth control needs. I know I'll get slammed with this statement, but it is the truth. If an individual wishes to live a life style that requires birth control needs, it'is their own personal thing and it's their responsibility to take care of their needs.


Sun, Mar 11, 2012 : 10:55 a.m.

Bravo Carole. You hit the nail on the head. Why don't we, as a society, teach more personal responsibility?


Fri, Mar 9, 2012 : 2:56 p.m.

Your right about one thing...remember what you said the next time you hear someone complaining about "paying for all these illegitimate children"...which we hear everyday. I'd rather have a low monthly payment for now than for 18 yrs. Babies are expensive...BC not so much.


Fri, Mar 9, 2012 : 7:20 a.m.

All companies who advertise on his show should be boycotted. This guy is a whacko.


Sat, Mar 10, 2012 : 2:41 a.m.

I listened to him before he was national and he's changed into a whacko.


Fri, Mar 9, 2012 : 2:36 p.m.

McGiver...I have listened to him for a few seconds...right before the convulsions and nausea kicked in...I think I'm allergic to BS.

Basic Bob

Fri, Mar 9, 2012 : 11:37 a.m.

The issue is over people boycotting a company that DOES NOT advertise on the show. That is whacked.


Fri, Mar 9, 2012 : 11:35 a.m.

You obviously never listen to him. I suspect your opinion us based on what what others say who also don't listen to him.


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 10:39 p.m.

"Accidently ended up on a list of sponsors" that's a chuckle. From the full WP story: "There is an alternate explanation out there, which has to do with Domino's corporate history. The company was founded by Tom Monaghan, a businessman known for his conservative views. In 1998, Monaghan sold the company - to Bain Capital, the firm of Mitt Romney fame. Though Bain divested itself of its Domino's shares by 2011, the company's proximity to conservative politics may have eased its inclusion on Limbaugh boycott list" To their credit and full disclosure, WP linked to the daily KOS website (now there's reputable journalism) where an explanation that one San Diego radio station ran a spot for a local Domino's franchise at the wrong time. Of course the KOS explanation story had a couple of sentences on the "correction" followed by a couple of paragraphs of rant on Monaghan's religious views and the sale to Bain.


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 10:15 p.m.

The left has always hated Dominos, with or without Monahan. Someone on the left with a bone to pick starts the rumor and it is treated as fact by the mainstream media. I am sure the Washington Post will move into overdrive to dispel the rumors. Ha!


Fri, Mar 9, 2012 : 2:34 p.m.

No...It's because Monahan had the stones to fire Ernie Harwell! That's why!


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 11:25 p.m.

It is not about the pizza, Monahan had the audacity to have religious beliefs that did not coincide with the left wing intelligentsia in Ann Arbor.


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 11:05 p.m.

"the left has always hated Dominos ( aside from Monahan):" Is that even a possibility? could they ever be separated? That's like saying 'the right hates horses because they have legs". In theory i'd be the first to say that Dominos as pizza is no worse than any other chain pizza and better than some ... but why have any when there're good artisinal ones around??.


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 9:02 p.m.

So according to the picture's caption "Domino's said it has never advertised on Rush Limbaugh's radio sho." Is this like the Ford Taurus SHO?

Lizzy Alfs

Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 9:13 p.m.

Thanks for noticing the mistake!


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 8:26 p.m.

dominos isn't much better than that lunch room pizza they served when I was growing up, you could roll it and squeeze the grease out. I don't like it and I wouldn't eat it. However if they are being falsly lumped into the "boycotts" I hope it works out for them, they should demand an apology from whoever posted it. just goes to show you how easily a person or business could be harmed from all the misinformation out there on the internet. Kinda like how this article states: calling her a "slut" and a "prostitute," which isn't exactly how it went down.

Larry Eiler

Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 10:14 p.m.

RL has always been a meaningless blowhard. Enough said.


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 8:25 p.m.

More democratic hate showing most likely.


Fri, Mar 9, 2012 : 3:49 p.m.

What were Ms FLukes lies? Did Mr Limbaugh call out any GOP candidates for their lies on the campaign trail? Did he call out any of the lies promulgated by the previous administration that pulled us into a war? Is it rush's job to attack citizens that lie to congress (if she did)? If so, did he attack the energy company suits that lied to congress back in 2007?


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 10:10 p.m.

Rush got in trouble for talkng like a Democrat.


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 9:27 p.m.

No this was started by Sandra Fluke and her lies.


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 9:21 p.m.

Republican hate started this one.


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 9:17 p.m.

Sure we democrats hate the guy? why not? he's a loudmouthed bully , a bigot and a defamer ... wish your team had the minimal good sense to also hate him instead of 'dittoheading ' him and turning him into the megamillionaire he is . as to the Dominos rumor i have no comment one way or the other...(but i didnt start it.!)

John of Saline

Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 7:49 p.m.

I'm guessing someone who doesn't like Monahan started the rumor.


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 7:48 p.m.

Franchizers advertise for themselves right?


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 7:47 p.m.

It may be true about corporate owned not supporting his show, but what about franchisee's advertising?


Fri, Mar 9, 2012 : 4:48 a.m.

yup and free to slam Dominoes for the advertising on Rush's show and allow for a hit to the sales numbers. I'm good with that....its Dominoes who's complaining.

Usual Suspect

Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 10:11 p.m.

So what? It's a free country. Companies advertise where they want. You shop where you want. God bless America.


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 7:44 p.m.

"One Twitter user told the company she'd start ordering from Pizza Hut." That's like opting for pancreatic cancer over bone cancer. Seems like a lateral move, pizza-wise.


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 9:44 p.m.

This made me burst out laughing! Thank you!

Dog Guy

Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 7:44 p.m.

Let me assure everyone that I also have no ties to Rush Limbaugh and his radio show.


Thu, Mar 8, 2012 : 10:59 p.m.

Don't let Media Matters accuse you. Afterall, then it will be the truth.