You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 5:58 a.m.

Noodles and Company will no longer lease ex-Sze Chuan property on West Stadium

By Ben Freed


Property owner Chuck Gallup said he will not redevelop the former location of Sze Chuan for the foreseeable future.

Lizzy Alfs |

Noodles & Company is looking to open a franchise on West Stadium Boulevard in Ann Arbor, but it might not happen where originally planned.

The eatery submitted permits to the city of Ann Arbor in March to build the new restaurant on the site of the old Sze Chuan restaurant on West Stadium Boulevard in Ann Arbor. The Noodles & Company website lists a location at 2161 W. Stadium Blvd. as “coming soon.”

However, Gallup Properties owner Chuck Gallup said the deal fell through.

“We ran into two or three different problems, and finally decided not to go through with it,” he said.

“I think they’re going somewhere else on the street, very close by.”


The owner of the now-closed KFC on West Stadium Boulevard is looking for a new, healthier, tenant.

Lizzy Alfs |

Leo Fox, who owns the vacant former Kentucky Fried Chicken at 2245 W. Stadium Blvd., said he was hoping to close a deal for a new tenant before the end of the year.

“I’ve had contact with several prospective tenants for the property,” he said.

“I had a ton of inquiries and that’s why I did not list the property with a broker, I got so many contacts after the KFC closed. I’m looking to find a good tenant for the space that will offer good food and be a nice addition to the West Stadium Boulevard shopping experience.”

Fox, who is a co-owner of Arbor Farms Market, said he would like to see a healthier option at the store.

“I’m trying to be somewhat selective about who opens up there and what they offer,” he said.

“I’m into food and I want something that I would enjoy on a personal level. I would enjoy going to something like Noodles & Company for example, but I cannot comment on any specific prospective tenants right now.”

Gallup’s property will likely remain vacant for some time while he tries to figure out how to deal with limited parking and traffic possibilities on the narrow lot.

“One of the issues we’ve had is that people were going to have to use the same entrance as the car wash (that I also own next door),” Gallup said.

“I decided that was going to cause too much congestion, so I’m going to sit with it for a while until I find the right traffic pattern people can use and the parking they need.”

Ben Freed covers business for You can sign up here to receive Business Review updates every week. Reach out to Ben at 734-623-2528 or email him at Follow him on twitter @BFreedinA2



Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 11:16 p.m.

Tim Horton's


Thu, Dec 27, 2012 : 12:48 p.m.

How about a tax subsidized municipal golf course?


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 10:39 p.m.

....Noodles, and any drive thru option is horrid there when you consider how well Zingerman's Roadhouse, The Quarter Bistro, and Wolverine Brewing (no food there, but the social aspect is great in the bare industrial area bordering Pauline) ... are doing with the night life and traffic in that part of town. Let's see a destination restaurant or, oh heck, a fun family place like Dave & Busters....go in there.

mike gatti

Thu, Dec 27, 2012 : 2:10 p.m.

Chuckie Cheese meets Applebees, you got no complaints there.


Thu, Dec 27, 2012 : 2:22 a.m.

Dave and Busters, if you have never been to one, is, in my opinion, a horror. It is kind of a cavernous adult Chuckie Cheese, in the style of an Applebees. That lot could never fit one,thank god.


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 6:11 p.m.

Bring back La Pinata!

Slim Jim

Thu, Dec 27, 2012 : 3:49 a.m.

That was a building with character, and it was a shame to see it torn down! Great food too!


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 6:01 p.m.

This is the lead story today, eh?

Paula Gardner

Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 6:25 p.m.

For about 90 minutes until we replace it.

Homeland Conspiracy

Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 4:13 p.m.

Blimpy Burger's new home

4 Fingers

Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 4:39 p.m.

That is not a bad idea at all, cheaper rent than downtown and parking!

Ed Kimball

Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 4:21 p.m.

Nice thought, but I think they need something within walking distance of Central Campus.

An Arborigine

Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 3:31 p.m.

"I've had contact with several perspective tenants for the property," he said. What's needed is a better perspective on some legitimate prospects for these sites.


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 2:41 p.m.

It is sad that whatever happens, Stadium will be a chain horror. These homogenized bad eateries and stores destroy all local character and accustom people to bad mass-produced food. Ugh!


Thu, Dec 27, 2012 : 1:48 a.m.

Dear Person X, While I would love to eat at more independent places with locally produced and sourced food, unfortunately because traditional food has become co opted by the upper middle class, we just can't afford to eat what my great grandmother ate a la Michael Pollen. Since she was from the Mississipi Delta, the closest restaurant approximation is the Roadhouse. It's definitely local. It's got tons of local flavor, character, and the pulled pork was raised locally too. I can get a meal for four at Noodles and Co. for under forty. That's about one and a half meals at the Roadhouse. Great food, but when a place charges $14 for grits, most American families can't afford to eat there on a regular basis, as most American families live on incomes of about $45K a year. So, yes, it is sad that chains are replacing local foods and flavors. But perhaps that comes from the process of taking traditionally affordable foods and appropriating them into a new kind of gourmet cuisine.


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 11:31 p.m.

I am puzzled ... yes, I have eaten at Bell's and loved it. I came out against chains and what do I get?

Ann English

Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 7:17 p.m.

Stadium Hardware won's poll for Best Hardware Store a few years ago. I went there a year or two afterwards, and they were helpful.

Homeland Conspiracy

Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 4:14 p.m.

The bibimbap's at Bell's rule!!!


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 3:55 p.m.

Holiday's is a family owned classic restaurant as well. If people want to eat at local, non-chain places, they can make a choice with their dollars.


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 2:59 p.m.

personX, have you eaten at Bell's Diner? the food is decent, the portions are huge(you won't leave hungry) and it is one of the few places that isn't run by the corporate machine.


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 1:19 p.m.

A crying shame that they tore down one of the structures that gave West Stadium a shred of character.

mike gatti

Thu, Dec 27, 2012 : 2:09 p.m.

yeah the rat infestation, musty smell and all that was the character. The food got really bad so the rest stopped being character and reverted back to simply rat infestation, musty smelling dump.


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 7:25 p.m.

Sheesh! Simply a memory from my youth is all. You can get lousy food at a number of filthy dirty A2 establishments that are in newer buildings and still serving the public. Go hate on them for a while!!!


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 6:42 p.m.

What? A structure with character? It was a rat-infested, smelly, decaying interior and exterior...


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 4:48 p.m.

Agree with Mr. Ann Arbor, maybe 25 years ago, you would have a good experience there in an interesting space but, musty smell, dirty cave walls, and poorly maintained interior and exterior caused us to stop going many years ago. No national chains, Chuck, please, ugh!


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 3:27 p.m.

I'm all for local character, but that building was way overdue for demolition, and the last time I ate at Szechuan West, the food was pretty bad, too.


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 1:07 p.m.

City should buy it for green space.....:-)


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 1:02 p.m.

When Sze Chuan was there, I don't recall having to use the same entrance as the car wash. It shared an entrance with the businesses immediately behind or to the west of Sze Chuan (diner, hardware store, vacuum repair). What has changed since then?


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 3:03 p.m.

The existing building was torn down which probably brings into play current zoning, set back and ingress/egress criteria.


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 12:27 p.m.

I think Leo's choice of Noodles And Co. would be an excellent addition to the food experience on west stadium. I think that the food portions are way adequate, the prices are competitive, a healthy addition to West Stadium, and the other locations are always packed. If one wants volumes of food then a Old Country Buffet could be ones choice. However, I don't think a buffet, all you can eat, reconstituted food restaurant is the best choice for this location. Thanks to Leo for being a considerate, and thoughtful merchant.

Ben Freed

Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 4:42 p.m.

There's a KFC on Washtenaw just east of Ann Arbor near the intersection with Carpenter road. Ben

Homeland Conspiracy

Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 4:12 p.m.

There's a KFC in Ypsi I think

Elaine F. Owsley

Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 2:23 p.m.

Didn't Old Country Buffet shut down six or more months ago? Where is the nearest Kentucky Fried Chicken?


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 12:01 p.m.

OH GOD?!?!?? THAT IS WHAT WAS GOING TO REPLACE IT?!?!?!?!? That wasn't OK at all. Noodles and Co. is a HORRIBLE franchise. I've never seen more expensive pasta in my life...the portions they give you are hilariously small for what you pay. On top of that, it tastes like....Ho Lee Chow... There must be a massive profit margin for that franchise because average "make cost" of a plate is well below other restaurants in it's demographic.


Fri, Dec 28, 2012 : 8:38 p.m.

Your comment just made me laugh because the "hilariously small" portions usually feed me for two or three meals, making the price very justifiable.


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 5:31 p.m.

... then don't eat there & quit whining

Unusual Suspect

Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 3:28 p.m.

I would like to apologize on behalf of all people in the world for not running our personal likes and dislikes past Brian for approval.


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 3:10 p.m.

I love how negative comments are automatically thought of as arrogant... Well played sir....well played....


Wed, Dec 26, 2012 : 1:33 p.m.

Billy I am sure that from here forward ALL businesses will get your OK before submitting plans!