You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Fri, Jun 21, 2013 : 3:44 p.m.

Pittsfield Township's Rave theater among 32 purchased by Cinemark

By Lizzy Alfs

The Rave movie theater on Carpenter Road is among 32 theaters acquired by Cinemark Holdings Inc. after a $240 million deal was finalized in May.

The Toledo Blade reports Texas-based Cinemark Holdings Inc. completed its purchase of the Texas-based Rave Cinemas chain after the Department of Justice reviewed the case for potential anti-trust issues. The deal included 32 theaters in 12 states, including the Pittsfield Township theater and a location in Flint.


Cinemark Holdings acquired the Rave Cinemas chain, including the theater on Carpenter Road.

Photo by: inazakira (flickr)

Rave Cinemas purchased the Pittsfield Township theater, formerly a Showcase Cinemas, in 2009. The property at 4100 Carpenter Road has a 2013 assessed value of $8,959,800, township records show.

According to Toledo Blade, Cinemark is evaluating if changes need to be made at the newly acquired theater complexes, including whether to replace the Rave brand with Cinemark.

Founded in 1984, Cinemark operates 496 theaters in 14 countries. The company was valued at about $3.1 billion based on a Friday stock price of $27.19.

Lizzy Alfs is a business reporter for Reach her at 734-623-2584 or email her at Follow her on Twitter at



Mon, Jun 24, 2013 : 4:08 p.m.

Hit up the Compuware drive inn theatre. The experience is so much better.


Mon, Jun 24, 2013 : 11:12 a.m.

Well, I wont every be going to that new "criminal empowerment zone" again due to their no firearms policy. Look at how well that policy performed in Colorado...


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 6:30 p.m.

Ok after reading all the complaints on this feed about cell phones in theaters I just have to ask... What is the harm in using a cell phone on silent mode during the movie? If it's not making any sound then how is it bothering anyone? It's definitely rude if a phone is ringing or making other sounds during the movie or if people are talking, on the phone or to each other. But I seriously don't see how somebody who is bored with the movie and wants to check email or facebook or text or whatever on their cell phone is really bothering anyone else.


Mon, Jun 24, 2013 : 2:16 p.m.

You did get a reasonable answer, but just didn't care for it. The short answer is because yes it's rude and distracting and you are not entitled to do what you want when you want at the expense of other people's enjoyment. Don't worry. All of us "old people" will die soon enough and you and your phone wielding friends can illuminate the entire theater with your screens playing Candy Crush, talk with food in your mouths, and yell at the movie screen all you want. To others who like a normal experience, hit the theater on Sunday's first showing, a couple weeks after the movie has been out. It's usually a small, well-behaved crowd who are actually there to.... get the movie.


Sun, Jun 23, 2013 : 3:38 p.m.

Yes, the light on a screen is a huge distraction to those of us trying to enjoy the movie. The previous commenter is spot-on about eyes being drawn to that small, but bright and sudden, light created by a phone. It is incredibly annoying. I used to live near a high-end theater in which turning on your phone would get you very swiftly kicked out (usually to applause by the other movie patrons).

Rod Johnson

Sun, Jun 23, 2013 : 2:35 p.m.

Narcissistic commenter is narcissistic.


Sun, Jun 23, 2013 : noon

Really? The light from a tiny screen distracts you from the giant screen in front of you. Oh your eyes got distracted for a millisecond? I'm sorry but that just seems like ridiculous nitpicking to me. I never go to the movies alone and when I do my kids are with a sitter so I like to check in on them. I'm not going to leave the people I'm with to do something silently. Sounds like those who don't like the tiny light need to go to the movies at a time when there are not many others there since they are bound to be distracted by other minimal things in the theater as well. I've had great success with weekdays and earlier showings. Oh and seriously? We've resorted to name-calling to prove our points? Now who is "self-absorbed". I asked these questions, not because I haven't heard this far-fetched complaint before, but because I was hoping for some more reasonable answers.


Sun, Jun 23, 2013 : 12:06 a.m.

Our eyes are drawn to light in the dark, and when self-absorbed wankers start rubbing on their phones in a theater, our eyes are instinctively drawn to them, drawing our attention away from the movie, which we paid for.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 10:28 p.m.

It's actually quite stunning that you don't know the answers to these questions. "Obvious" indeed.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 7:09 p.m.

Spaghettimonsters is spot on. When I pay to go to the movies I want to see THE MOVIE not the light on your phone, or your Facebook page. If someone needs to text or is bored with the film they should get up and go to the hallway, the lobby, or just leave. Thank you for asking! Please tell all your friends! (Unless your companion wants to stay I don't see the point in sticking around if you don't enjoy the movie. My money is precious, but so is my time.)


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 7:01 p.m.

The light, obviously. There's a reason theaters are dark, and the rest of the audience should be able to enjoy the film without being distracted by the illuminated screens of the restless and bored. Can't you go two hours without facebook/texting/email?


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 2:23 p.m.

They need to charge these high ticket prices to pay the million dollar salaries of the stars. Wouldn't it be great if people could reach a consensus on what is fair for a ticket, say one hour's minimum wage, and boycott until the prices are lowered accordingly? And if they want to charge a family $50 for a few cents' worth of popcorn kernals and cola syrup, at least allow people to bring their own food. Yes, everybody has to earn a living, but those on the low end of the totem pole should get to participate, too.

Ed Kimball

Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 1:46 p.m.

I'm surprised it took so long for this article to appear. The information has been on Cinemark's web site (which the Rave site reroutes to) ever since schedules for the Rave stopped appearing in the paper a couple of weeks ago. Didn't anyone at think to investigate why they weren't getting schedule listings from Rave?


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 3:46 a.m.

For film buffs, such as myself, the solution is Simple! Buy movie DVDs on-line and watch them in the serenity of your own home! Buy some Jiffy Pop Corn at the grocery. Avoid cell phone and Sneezing interruptions.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 2:43 p.m.

Or just wait until Xfinity airs them for free.

Homeland Conspiracy

Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 4 a.m.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 3:16 a.m.

Rave is terrible. The place is worn and dirty. Sound and picture quality are sub-par with the amazing technology available these days. Rave's IMAX is a joke. And frankly, Quality 16 on Jackson is not that much better. Months ago, I decided to venture over to Canton to see a film at Emagine, and I have recently gone to AMC Livonia. Both these theaters are leaps and bounds better than either of Ann Arbor's big cineplexes. Do yourself a favor... it is definitely worth the half hour drive to either Canton or Livonia. And those theaters do not tolerate people texting or otherwise being rude. Here's hoping Cinemark will make a difference.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 2:02 a.m.

The Rave Ann Arbor is the single most disgusting theater in the entire 20-mile radius and I go out of my way to see movies at the AMC Livonia instead of cameras never set to the correct lumens, doors stay open with ambient light and noise coming in, previews play with no picture at times, lights don't go down when features start, nobody enforces any rules at all so teens talk and text needs a compete organizational revamp from top to bottom.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 1:19 a.m.

One movie I attended stopped about 45 minutes into it, and no one came to fix it. Finally someone from the audience went to find a manager, and the "break" ended up being 15 minutes. No refunds were offered. Bad news. I agree with others that audiences are rude these days, talking throughout the movie and checking cell phones.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 2:08 p.m.

I was at Gatsby when the movie "broke", and there was a a very long gap. I and several others went out, and I got a pass to come back another time. Then I went in and continued to watch the movie. Asking for a refund didn't seem fair to me, but in my opinion, what I did was fair.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 1:12 a.m.

Cinemark, upgrade the sound system! i stopped seeing the MET Live in HD and Encore series there when Roberto Alagna sounded bad. Roberto Alagna, for pete sake.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 12:57 a.m.

I miss the University Drive Inn


Sun, Jun 23, 2013 : 12:01 a.m.

I saw a double feature of The Lone Ranger and Flash Gordon there in 1980! I was 5, and it was the first movie-going experience that I remember.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 2:41 p.m.

Ah yes - but also the Ypsi-Ann . . .


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 2:06 p.m.

I only know of the University Drive In from my previous research, but it looked cool. From the acres and acres of unused parking and other green space, I've always wondered if they couldn't have planned both. In other words, kept the drive-in. I'm sure there are a million reasons why not, but there sure is a lot of space left over.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 10:53 a.m.

@Sawchuk Yes, it used to be University Drive In.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 3:20 a.m.

Was that where it was, on those grounds ?


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 12:52 a.m.

I hope the put the money into it that it needs. Rave kept everything status quo (besides prices) since buying from Showcase. I don't think they put a penny into the place since acquiring it. The seats are trashed, the carpet is dirty, all the side concession counters are always closed and they mistake good surround sound for just plain loud sound. They are lightyears behind the other major chains like Emagine and MJR in terms of quality, technology and comfort.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 1:17 a.m.

Definitely agree. WAY too loud.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 12:11 a.m.

I still call it showcase....


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 2:39 p.m.

Nightstars, you're breaking my heart. Hudson's personal shoppers were father and mother to me.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 4 a.m.

Hudson's, anyone?

Homeland Conspiracy

Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 3:54 a.m.

I still say Pine Knob too

Basic Bob

Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 1:23 a.m.

Me too. I'm starting to remind myself of my grandmother, talking about where the Pure gas station used to be.


Fri, Jun 21, 2013 : 10:57 p.m.

Went there a couple of Sundays ago to see Star Trek: Into Darkness. That's about the only kind of movie we see at a theater anymore, big special effects sci-fi. Wait for everything to come out on DVD. At the prices at the theater it's cheaper to buy a movie on DVD, especially if you like it.


Fri, Jun 21, 2013 : 9:37 p.m.

I don't really care as long as this doesn't ruin $5 Wednesday.

Rod Johnson

Sun, Jun 23, 2013 : 2:32 p.m.

$5 is high? That corresponds to $1.77 in 1980 prices (to pick a year at random). I certainly don't remember thinking $2 would have been a lot to spend in 1980.

Lizzy Alfs

Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 1:40 p.m.

I didn't know about that deal -- I'll have to use that this summer before it could change


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 1:16 a.m.

Well, that may change, unfortunately. The new owner may not see it as "profitable" enough. It would be a mistake, but everything today is about $$. Even $5 is a high price, but compared to the regular prices, it's a good deal. Hope they don't change it, but I wouldn't be surprised if they did.


Fri, Jun 21, 2013 : 9:14 p.m.

This place changes hands more than a dollar bill at a strip club.

Rod Johnson

Sun, Jun 23, 2013 : 2:28 p.m.

Hmm, it was the Showcase, than Rave, now Cinemark. Doesn't seem that often to me, How many years has it been in operation?


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 2:05 a.m.

It's because its a piece of trash. It needs to be torn down and rebuilt from scratch.


Fri, Jun 21, 2013 : 8:35 p.m.

I don't go here often, but I've never had a bad experience. I proudly check my phone throughout the stuff I didn't pay to see (commercials and trailers). But once the actual movie starts, it's out of sight and will not make a sound. Anyone remember CyGamz?

Rod Johnson

Sun, Jun 23, 2013 : 2:27 p.m.

I think lots of people would differ with you on that.


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 2:30 p.m.

It certainly doesn't. My phone is put away during the movie. I don't take it out. There's a clear distinction between when I do and do not use it and it's perfectly reasonable.

Jim Osborn

Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 12:41 p.m.

And that contributes to an atmosphere of it being OK to use phones during a movie. Why distract the person behind you who is watching the movie trailer?

Lizzy Alfs

Fri, Jun 21, 2013 : 8:34 p.m.

FYI: This story from June 19 says the new owners will honor gift cards until Dec 14

Jim Osborn

Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 12:38 p.m.

When you buy a business, you buy all of its assets and all of its liabilities. THey are legally obligated to honor all of Rave's debts such as gift cards. One could most likely sue in small claims court, if it was worth the trouble, and win.


Fri, Jun 21, 2013 : 8:38 p.m.

Thanks! I almost asked that question.


Fri, Jun 21, 2013 : 8:22 p.m.

I hope they do a few upgrades. The sound systems and seats are light years behind the likes of Emagine Canton and the MJR Brighton.

Basic Bob

Fri, Jun 21, 2013 : 8:07 p.m.

we always liked this theater but the patrons have gotten very rude with their cell phones. honestly, i don't care if you are paying a cell phone bill, you have no right to use it in a dark theater. cinemark will need to put a little money into the place, it is starting to look a bit worn.


Fri, Jun 21, 2013 : 8 p.m.

Well, good luck to them. As for me I think ticket prices too high and will just get my movies from AADL. People are so rude in the movies with continually checking their phones!


Sat, Jun 22, 2013 : 4:24 a.m.

I'm old. argh.