You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 5:57 a.m.

Weber's Inn completes $4 million renovation project

By Lizzy Alfs

Weber’s Inn on Jackson Road in Ann Arbor recently completed a three-year, $4 million renovation project that updated the hotel facilities and replaced the front facade.

The project began in summer 2008, and was completed in phases throughout the last three years.

Most recently, the building's facade was redesigned and reconstructed in a six-month, $2.5 million project that began in March.


Weber's Inn, located at 3050 Jackson Road in Ann Arbor, recently completed a $4 million renovation project that updated the interior and replaced the facade.

Photo from

“Over the past several years, we’ve worked on the entire interior of the building,” said Ken Weber, president of the hotel and restaurant. “We also put a new facade on the property to update it.”

Weber said he felt the renovations were necessary so he could offer a “good facility to guests in one of the strongest cities in the state.”

In addition, he said that the unstable economy actually led to “opportunity” during the renovation project. He said he was able to hire talented workers, get building materials cheaper and source the materials regionally.

He said he’s already received positive feedback on the renovations from customers.

“When times are tough, there isn’t as much construction going on,” he said. “It’s amazing how you stand out more when someone does take the risk to make improvements. The customers do appreciate it.”

There is a celebration on Nov. 10 to celebrate the project’s completion with an architectural presentation.

Weber, along with Mark von Werder of JPRA Architects, and Steve Brouwer, president of A.R. Brouwer Company, will talk about the advantages of renovating existing spaces versus new construction.

Weber’s began as a restaurant in Ann Arbor 75 years ago. In 1962, it moved to its current location at 3050 Jackson Avenue, and the hotel opened in 1969.

Lizzy Alfs is a business reporter for Reach her at 734-623-2584 or email her at Follow her on Twitter at


K Thompson

Sun, Nov 6, 2011 : 9:32 p.m.

Had our wedding dinner there, also several anniversaries. Will now come for our 40th anniversary dinner. Will be interedting to compare.

Tom Teague

Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 4:55 p.m.

Good for Ken Weber. A thorough upgrade like this is expensive and disruptive to normal business; I applaud Weber's for taking it on and seeing it through to completion.

Nicole Casal Moore

Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 4:34 p.m.

Looks cool! Now if they could just update their billboards.


Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 4:29 p.m.

I've always liked Weber's: brunch, soups/salads, just an all-around nice place to go on a weekend. Look forward to seeing the new place!

Go Blue

Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 2:42 p.m.

Great news! Its been many years since their last renovation and with the holidays coming up, this is perfect timing. Always a treat to visit Webers, spend the night with the kids to enjoy the pool, hot tub and sauna. And what makes it more enjoyable is that it is family owned, one of those now rare commodities, instead of the typical chain where everything is identical no matter what city or state you're in. Truly a joy to see this family owned business still moving forward.


Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 1:58 p.m.

Webers has always been over priced and will be even more so now.


Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 1:02 p.m.

Perhaps they can now turn their attention to their kitchen. Their last inspection on 9/20/11 by the Health Dept. showed 13 violations, 5 of which were critical. <a href="" rel='nofollow'>;LastCty=28</a>


Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 3:23 p.m.

You are welcome, JGS. Keep your eye open for the monthly postings of the Health Dept. Restaurant Inspections on on the last Wednesdays of the months. Here is the most recent one: <a href=""></a>


Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 1:21 p.m.

DBH - Very interesting link, thank you for that! I looked up the following restaurants as well as Weber's: Terry B's, West End Grill, Pacific Rim, The Chop House, and Real Seafood Co. They all have violations, some more than others. An eye opener for sure...


Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 12:37 p.m.

Meh. Weber's is over-rated, in my opinion


Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 12:32 p.m.

Great news. Shoudl stop by to take a look. Played hockey with 2 of Ken's sons when I was younger. Always seemed like a really good guy.


Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 1:11 p.m.

Ken is a great guy! I played hockey with him a year or so ago. Great job Ken! The folks who want to be negative can go for it. They are entitled to their opinion for sure. However, the hotel and restaurant look fantastic inside and out. With great risk comes great reward - I do believe this played true in this case.


Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 11:34 a.m.

I am soo excited for Weber's! My family has not been there in a long time due to the darkness and gloomy look (out dated). I can't wait to check it out. I really hope this helps your business as a family owned and operated place with a long standing history in Ann Arbor. Great choice!


Thu, Nov 3, 2011 : 10:46 a.m.

Glad they were able to keep some in the construction industry working in this slow economy - can't wait to see all the renovations!