You are viewing this article in the AnnArbor.com archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see MLive.com/ann-arbor
Posted on Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 1:30 p.m.

Restaurant inspections for Washtenaw County in June 2013

By Washtenaw County Public Health

The Washtenaw County Public Health Department's Environmental Health Division is responsible for inspecting all food service establishment operations in Washtenaw County. These food service establishments are regulated under the State of Michigan's Food Law and Michigan Modified Food Code.

What do the violations in the reports mean?
The laws governing food service changed significantly on October 1, 2012. The most noticeable change was in the terminology used for violations in restaurant inspections. Previously, violations were Critical or Non-Critical, but now they are categorized as Priority, Priority Foundation or Core.

  • Priority violations are the most serious. Correcting these eliminates or reduces a problem directly associated with foodborne illness. Examples include improper food temperatures and lack of hand washing. Priority violations were previously called Critical violations.
  • Priority Foundation violations are problems that can lead to a Priority violation. Correcting these problems may keep Priority violations from occurring. Examples include not having an appropriate food thermometer, not having sanitizer test strips and not having soap or paper towel at a hand sink. The Priority Foundation category is made up of violations that were previously called Critical or Non-Critical Violations.
  • Core violations are related to general sanitation and facility maintenance. Examples include dirty floors and improper facility lighting. Core violations were previously called Non-Critical violations.

Priority and Priority Foundation violations must be corrected immediately at the time of inspection or within 10 days. Core violations must be corrected within 90 days of the inspection.

Where can I see the inspection results?
Washtenaw County Public Health posts restaurant inspections monthly on Ann Arbor.com. The inspections posted were completed the month prior (i.e. January inspections are posted in February).

You can also search the online database of all restaurant inspections and detailed reports. Click here for access to all Washtenaw County restaurant inspections!

How frequent are inspections?
Routine inspections take place twice per year (or once per year if the business is only open seasonally). Routine inspections are typically unannounced. However, when there are changes to the Food Code or Food Law, like those that took place Oct. 1, 2012, the first routine inspection is scheduled. Key restaurant staff must be present so the Sanitarian can explain how the changes impact the establishment’s operations. The number of violations observed often decreases when inspections are announced. This may explain why the inspections appeared somewhat better than usual from October 2012 through March 2013.

Each inspection is a snapshot in time, and conditions found at the restaurant are not necessarily the conditions that could be found in the restaurant at other times. Sanitarians (otherwise known as health inspectors) ask many questions about the menu, operations and procedures to get the best possible idea of the day-to-day conditions of the restaurant. Environmental Health conducts additional inspections if a foodborne illness or other complaint is reported.

What if I have a complaint?
Environmental Health responds to general restaurant complaints as well as foodborne illness complaints. Please call our office at 734-222-3800 to file a complaint or to report a suspected foodborne illness.

June 2013 Restaurant Inspection Results

EstablishmentAddressCityInspection DatePriority ViolationsPriority Foundation ViolationsCore Violations
A2 PIZZA PI208 W. LIBERTYANN ARBOR6/24/2013003
ALPHA CONEY ISLAND7049 DEXTER-ANN ARBOR ROADDEXTER6/11/2013445
AMERICAN EUROPEAN LEMONADE7089 WARNER ROADSALINE6/14/2013000
AMERICAN LEGION POST 5578225 DEXTER-CHELSEADEXTER6/21/2013012
AMER'S312 S. STATE STREETANN ARBOR6/5/2013438
ANN ARBOR COMEDY SHOWCASE314 E. LIBERTYANN ARBOR6/28/2013004
ANN ARBOR EAGLE #21547881 JACKSON RDANN ARBOR6/28/2013001
ANN ARBOR MARRIOTT COURTYARD3205 BOARDWALKANN ARBOR6/11/2013122
ASIAN LEGEND INC516 E. WILLIAMANN ARBOR6/12/2013011
AUT BAR315 BRAUN COURTANN ARBOR6/12/2013007
BAR LOUIE401 E. LIBERTY, STE 200ANN ARBOR6/26/20131410
BEET BOX (THE)211 W WASHINGTONANN ARBOR6/19/2013112
BEEZY'S LLC20 N. WASHINGTON ST. YPSILANTI6/19/2013105
BIG BOY3611 PLYMOUTH ROADANN ARBOR6/10/2013104
BIG BOY REATAURANT #386497 N. ZEEB RD.ANN ARBOR6/18/2013101
BIWAKO SUSHI (QUALITY JAPANESE FOOD INC)2276 S. MAIN STREETANN ARBOR6/5/2013003
BLACK SWALLOW EXPRESSO & COFFEE STFU210 FERRIS ST., APT. 2YPSILANTI6/26/2013201
B-LINE PIZZA ISLAND7050 DEXTER-ANN ARBOR RDDEXTER6/13/2013117
BOBBER DOWN8475 MAIN STREETWHITMORE LAKE6/20/2013144
BROOKSIDE GOLF COURSE6451 ANN ARBOR SALINE ROADSALINE6/26/2013000
BROWN JUG RESTAURANT1204 S. UNIVERSITYANN ARBOR6/27/2013013
BUBBLE ISLAND1220 S. UNIVERSITYANN ARBOR6/12/2013002
BURGER KING #8892170 RAWSONVILLE ROADBELLEVILLE6/17/2013112
CADY'S GRILL (WOODRUFF's)36 E. CROSS STREETYPSILANTI6/24/2013131
CAFE' JAPON, L'ESPRIT DE MIYOKO943 N WAGNER RDANN ARBOR6/21/2013105
CAFE MARIE1759 PLYMOUTH ROADANN ARBOR6/19/2013115
CARDAMOM RESTAURANT1739 PLYMOUTH RD.ANN ARBOR6/13/2013112
CHEESE DREAM (MOBILE)211 W. WASHINGTON ANN ARBOR6/19/2013102
CHELA'S RESTAURANT & TAQUERIA (SOUTH)4079 STONE SCHOOL RDANN ARBOR6/6/2013124
CHELSEA GRILL1120 S. MAIN STREETCHELSEA6/5/2013022
CHINA CHEF RESTAURANT2870 WASHTENAWYPSILANTI6/12/2013026
CHRISTIAN'S CATERING45 TOLANMILAN6/20/2013000
CITY'S PIZZA & SUBS3148 PACKARDANN ARBOR6/11/2013315
COLD STONE CREAMERY3597-B WASHTENAWANN ARBOR6/24/2013033
CONOR O'NEILLS318 S. MAIN STREETANN ARBOR6/21/2013004
COTTAGE INN PIZZA512 E. WILLIAMANN ARBOR6/27/2013646
CUPPY'S BEST SOULFUL DELI1396 E. MICHIGAN AVENUEYPSILANTI6/14/2013104
DAIRY QUEEN OF MANCHESTER213 E. MAIN STREETMANCHESTER6/25/2013031
DARCY'S CART 208 W. LIBERTYANN ARBOR6/27/2013024
DEE'S PLACE9876 MAIN STREETWHITMORE LAKE6/14/2013000
DEXTER BASEBALL CLUB/DEXTER LITTLE LEAGU7305 DEXTER ANN ARBOR RDDEXTER6/4/2013010
DOG DAY I / BARRY BAGELS2515 JACKSON ROADANN ARBOR6/5/2013001
DOMINO'S PIZZA #11082121 S. GROVE ROADYPSILANTI6/17/2013113
EL MANANTIAL211 W WASHINGTONANN ARBOR6/27/2013001
ELIXIR VITAE COFFEE AND TEA326 MAYNARDANN ARBOR6/6/2013001
EMMANUAL LUTHERAN CHURCH201 N. RIVER STREETYPSILANTI6/6/2013002
ESPRESSO ROYALE2603 PLYMOUTH ROADANN ARBOR6/18/2013001
FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH300 N. WASHINGTONYPSILANTI6/6/2013130
FOOD GATHERERS - OZONE DROP IN102 N. HAMILTONYPSILANTI6/24/2013111
FOOD GATHERERS / ROBERT J DELONIS CENTER312 W. HURONANN ARBOR6/21/2013002
FRASER'S PUB2045 PACKARDANN ARBOR6/25/2013115
FRITA BATIDOS117 W WASHINGTONANN ARBOR6/13/2013106
GOLDEN FOX CLUBHOUSE8500 N. TERRITORIAL ROADPLYMOUTH6/19/2013147
GOURMET GARDEN2255 W. STADIUM BLVDANN ARBOR6/28/2013366
GREENSIDE TAVERN3625 NAPIER ROADYPSILANTI6/25/2013000
HILTON GARDEN INN ANN ARBOR1401 BRIARWOOD CIRCLE DRANN ARBOR6/7/2013442
HOLIDAY INN NORTH GUY HOLLERIN3600 PLYMOUTH ROADANN ARBOR6/11/2013207
HUNGRY HOWIES #000723365 WASHTENAW AVE STE JANN ARBOR6/14/2013112
HURON VALLEY TENNIS CLUB3235 CHERRY HILL/BOXANN ARBOR6/18/2013011
HUT-K CHAATS CART211 W. WASHINGTONANN ARBOR6/24/2013121
IHOP4221 ELLSWORTH RDYPSILANTI6/6/2013104
INSOMNIA COOKIES1229 S UNIVERSITY AVEANN ARBOR6/19/2013002
JERSEY MIKE'S3650 CARPENTER RD STE FYPSILANTI6/25/2013115
JET'S PIZZA1749 PLYMOUTH RDANN ARBOR6/27/2013216
JEWISH COMMUNITY CENTER2935 BIRCH HOLLOW DRIVEANN ARBOR6/6/2013101
JIMMY JOHN'S929 E. ANN STREETANN ARBOR6/6/2013000
JIMMY JOHN'S GOURMENT SANDWICHES342 S. STATE STREETANN ARBOR6/4/2013010
JOE'S CRAB SHACK3020 LOHR RD.ANN ARBOR6/25/2013018
JR'S SNOW CONE ZONE8555 SILVER HILL ROADPINCKNEY6/27/2013486
KIWANIS OF ANN ARBOR200 S. FIRST STREETANN ARBOR6/24/2013002
KOREY'S KRISPY KRUNCHY CHICKEN124 PEARL ST., STE 100YPSILANTI6/21/2013307
KYOCERA UNIMERICAO TOOLING INC.6620 STATE RD.SALINE6/21/2013033
LA FIESTA MEXICANA, INC529 W. CROSS STREETYPSILANTI6/18/2013003
LIBERTY ATHLETIC CLUB OUTDOOR2975 W. LIBERTYANN ARBOR6/25/2013001
LI'S CHINA ONE1047 EMERICK STYPSILANTI6/13/2013126
LITTLE CAESARS PIZZA6901 STATE RDSALINE6/19/2013010
LITTLE CAESAR'S PIZZA1783 WASHTENAWYPSILANTI6/13/2013002
LITTLE CAESAR'S PIZZA TREAT1944 W. STADIUM BLVDANN ARBOR6/18/2013002
MANCINO'S PIZZA & GRINDERS OF SCIO355 S. ZEEB RD.ANN ARBOR6/5/2013011
MAPLEWOOD LANES, INC.830 E. WOODLAWN DRIVESALINE6/21/2013003
MARY'S FABULOUS CHICKEN3220 PACKARDANN ARBOR6/12/2013202
MASCO - STERLING SERVICES4600 ARROWHEAD DRIVEANN ARBOR6/10/2013013
McDONALD'S #109502310 W. STADIUM BLVDANN ARBOR6/13/2013213
McDONALD'S #138413001 LOHR ROADANN ARBOR6/11/2013428
MCDONALD'S #6134373 N. ZEEB ROADANN ARBOR6/5/2013009
MICHIGAN COMMUNITY THEATER603 E. LIBERTYANN ARBOR6/6/2013011
MO MO TEA1213 S. UNIVERSITYANN ARBOR6/25/2013122
MR. PIZZA1484 WASHTENAWYPSILANTI6/10/2013106
MR. PIZZA #36054 RAWSONVILLE ROADBELLEVILLE6/28/2013101
NEOPAPALIS OF ANN ARBOR LLC500 E WILLIAM STANN ARBOR6/4/2013225
NICK'S5333 MCAULEY DR.ANN ARBOR6/14/2013001
NOODLES & COMPANY3601 WASHTENAW, SUITE AANN ARBOR6/20/2013004
NU WAVE FISH & CHICKEN1800 E. MICHIGAN AVENUEYPSILANTI6/20/2013026
OCED SENIOR NUTRITION PROGRAM701 W. ELLSWORTH ROADANN ARBOR6/18/2013000
OCED SENIOR NUTRITION PROGRAM775 S. MAIN STREETCHELSEA6/25/2013000
PAESANOS3411 WASHTENAWANN ARBOR6/24/2013504
PALIO'S/QUALITY BAR347 S. MAIN STREETANN ARBOR6/21/2013015
PAPA JOHN'S PIZZA3397 PLYMOUTH RDANN ARBOR6/10/2013001
PAPA JOHN'S PIZZA4559 WASHTENAW AVE STE BANN ARBOR6/6/2013001
PARADISE ASIAN CUISINE883 W. EISENHOWER PKWYANN ARBOR6/27/2013010
PASTRY PEDDLER BAKERY & CAFE619 PACKARDANN ARBOR6/28/2013001
PERK & PADDLE CAFE (GALLUP PARK)3000 FULLER ROADANN ARBOR6/4/2013100
PIERCE LAKE GOLF COURSE1175 S. MAIN STREETCHELSEA6/12/2013000
PIZZA HUT #263152160 RAWSONVILLE ROADBELLEVILLE6/17/2013003
POTBELLY SANDWICH WORKS, LLC980 W. EISENHOWER (SUITE C)ANN ARBOR6/4/2013003
POWERHOUSE GYM YPSILANTI1326 ANNA J. STEPPYPSILANTI6/25/2013001
QUALITY 16 THEATRES3686 JACKSON ROADANN ARBOR6/10/2013010
RACQUET CLUB OF ANN ARBOR3010 HICKORY LNANN ARBOR6/24/2013000
RAVENS CLUB (THE)207 S. MAIN STREETANN ARBOR6/25/2013216
RAY'S RED HOT'S629 E. UNIVERSITYANN ARBOR6/12/2013001
RAY'S RED HOT'S MOBILE629 E. UNIVERSITYANN ARBOR6/28/2013000
RED HAWK316 S. STATE STREETANN ARBOR6/5/2013100
ROD'S DINER812 S. STATE STREETANN ARBOR6/25/2013105
ROGER MONK'S5400 PLYMOUTH ROADANN ARBOR6/13/2013003
ROOS ROAST ESPRESSO CART1155 ROSEWOOD SUITE BANN ARBOR6/5/2013002
ROY'S BURGER & BBQ25 WABASH STREETMILAN6/19/2013202
SALEM HILLS COUNTRY CLUB8810 W. SIX MILE ROADNORTHVILLE6/13/2013100
SALVATION ARMY STAPLES FAMILY CENTER3660 PACKARDANN ARBOR6/13/2013623
SAN STREET 1208 W. LIBERTYANN ARBOR6/19/2013020
SATCHEL'S BBQ LLC (MOBILE)211 W. WASHINGTONANN ARBOR6/24/2013003
SAVA'S216 S. STATE ST.ANN ARBOR6/18/20132113
SEVENS (THE)777 EISENHOWER PKWY, SUITE 110ANN ARBOR6/19/2013010
SIAM CUISINE313 BRAUN COURTANN ARBOR6/12/2013003
SOTTINIS SUB SHOP205 S. FOURTH AVENUEANN ARBOR6/18/2013001
SPORTS BAR WESTSIDE (THE)5510 JACKSON ROADANN ARBOR6/3/2013012
ST. MARY'S CHURCH210 W. MAIN STREETMANCHESTER6/13/2013001
ST. MATHEWS UNITED METH CHURCH1344 BORGSTROMYPSILANTI6/4/2013000
STARBUCKS COFFEE #2438133 BRIARWOOD CIRCLE CTR COURTANN ARBOR6/10/2013113
STAR'S CAFE2575 JACKSON ROADANN ARBOR6/5/2013120
STRATEGIC FOX CLUBHOUSE8766 N. TERRITORIAL ROADPLYMOUTH6/19/2013000
SUBWAY7025 E. MICHIGAN AVE., STE. A1SALINE6/20/2013013
SUBWAY885 W. EISENHOWER PKWYANN ARBOR6/25/2013103
SUBWAY25 JACKSON INDUSTRIAL, STE.100ANN ARBOR6/18/2013002
SUBWAY6060 RAWSONVILLE RDBELLEVILLE6/24/2013103
SUBWAY1156 DEXTER STREETMILAN6/17/2013203
SUBWAY #39141701 PLYMOUTH ROADANN ARBOR6/27/2013115
SWEETWATERS CAFE123 W. WASHINGTONANN ARBOR6/19/2013213
SWEETWATERS COFFEE & TEA407 N. FIFTH AVE.ANN ARBOR6/11/2013008
TEMPTATIONS - RAINBOW HOSPITALITY2876 WASHTENAWYPSILANTI6/25/2013005
TIM HORTON'S2679 ANN ARBOR SALINE RDANN ARBOR6/25/2013013
TONY SACCOS980 W EISENHOWER PARKWAY STE AANN ARBOR6/17/2013011
TOTORO215 S. STATE STREETANN ARBOR6/13/2013012
UAW LOCAL 601 WOODLAND DRIVESALINE6/21/2013012
UNION HALL KITCHEN208 W. LIBERTYANN ARBOR6/19/2013002
VILLAGE AT ST. JOSEPH HOSPITAL5341 MCAULEY DRIVEYPSILANTI6/10/2013111
VILLAGE TAP237 E. MAIN STREETMANCHESTER6/13/2013122
VINOLOGY110 S. MAIN STANN ARBOR6/19/2013108
WASHTENAW COUNTY YOUTH CENTER4125 WASHTENAW AVEANN ARBOR6/18/2013001
WEBER'S BAKERY BANQUET, STOREROOM3050 JACKSON ROADANN ARBOR6/4/2013146
WEBER'S INN HABITAT/CABANA3050 JACKSON ROADANN ARBOR6/10/2013115
WENDY'S760 E. MICHIGAN AVENUESALINE6/6/2013015
WENDY'S4020 CARPENTER ROADYPSILANTI6/24/2013413
WENDY'S73 S. ZEEB RD.ANN ARBOR6/11/2013103
WIDE WORLD SPORTS RECREATION2140 OAK VALLEY DRIVEANN ARBOR6/18/2013140
WINGS PIZZA & THINGS6877 STATE RD SUITE DSALINE6/20/2013013
WOLVERINE STATE BREWING COMPANY LLC2019 W. STADIUM BLVD. STE 103ANN ARBOR6/6/2013426
YOTSUBA JAPANESE RESTAURANT2222 HOGBACK ROADANN ARBOR6/3/2013221
YPBOR YAN4905 WASHTENAWANN ARBOR6/27/2013336
YPSI NATIONAL LITTLE LEAGUE AUHARRIS/GILBERT PARKYPSILANTI6/8/2013011
YPSILANTI ART THEATRE CORP DEJAVU31 N. WASHINGTONYPSILANTI6/19/2013111
YPSILANTI MASONIC ASSOC5752 WHITTAKER ROADYPSILANTI6/6/2013000
ZINGERMAN'S ROADHOUSE2501 JACKSON ROADANN ARBOR6/20/2013209
ZOU ZOU'S101 N. MAIN STREETCHELSEA6/18/2013334

Washtenaw County Public Health promotes health and works to prevent disease and injury in our community. Visit us online at http://publichealth.ewashtenaw.org.

Comments

Sava's

Thu, Aug 15, 2013 : 7:05 p.m.

We love that our guests and friends take health inspections so seriously! We take our guests and our guest safety very seriously as well, and are whole heartedly committed to serving safe food, and adhering to safe health code standards year round. We take a lot of pride in our previous health inspections, as we have had multiple "perfect" health inspections leading up to this one. If we were using a grading system, we would currently have an A- in our front window. We are very proud of that! We did have 13 Core Violations, however, those are pertaining to our facility (i.e. missing lightbulbs, leaking sinks, etc.) and are the least concerning of the violations. Whenever we receive a violation, no matter how severe, we take action to correct immediately, which is why we have held consistently positive inspection reports. We kindly ask you to please read our inspection notes, because as you will see, the consistent lack of priority violations is testament to our passion. We hope your trust in us has not waned, because our commitment to food safety and our guest has not. If you were ask our health inspector if he/she would dine at our establishment, the answer would be YES.

lindor

Thu, Aug 15, 2013 : 3:05 p.m.

Interesting... Several of my comments were removed because I accurately quoted the health inspection reports? Why is that? Everyone on here blasts certain businesses, my response was with respect to Sava's not replacing lightbulbs, moving pipes, etc... all minor violations and it was removed? Perhaps AA.com should do a better job and remove comments that single out and do nothing but serve negative commentary. Several businesses have worse reports and when I accurately (copy and paste) the positive comments from the health inspector re: Sava's it gets removed??? WEll, I'll paraphrase.... Sava's received nothing but praise the last 4 reports, but the last one had 13 issues related to the building itself..

A2comments

Mon, Aug 5, 2013 : 10:55 a.m.

Some citiesost these report cards on the window of the establishment. Perhaps Washtenaw County should also.

Bertha Venation

Thu, Aug 1, 2013 : 8:48 p.m.

Restaurant injections are a good thing! I always read them.

Harm

Thu, Aug 1, 2013 : 8:18 p.m.

Fawlty Towers, Basil the rat episode, say no more.....

Kitty

Thu, Aug 1, 2013 : 7:37 p.m.

whatz going on with webers and zingers

treetowntenor

Thu, Aug 1, 2013 : 5:45 p.m.

The William Street Cottage Inn location has been getting high violation counts for years. How they stay open is beyond me. I was very surprised to see Gourmet Garden with so many. We've been regulars there for well over a decade...I think I might mention the report next time I'm there.

JimB

Thu, Aug 1, 2013 : 2:52 p.m.

Looks like the good old Ann Arbor classics may be getting somewhat complacent in their operations. Maybe spend less time trying to impress customers with the latest in molecular gastronomy and take care of the fundamentals of restaurant operations first.

Gee

Thu, Aug 1, 2013 : 1:04 p.m.

Going to be a lot of "there will be changes around here!!!" conversations in local restaurants today!

Washtenaw County Public Health

Thu, Aug 1, 2013 : 12:35 a.m.

To clarify, the term "STFU" stands for Special Transitory Food Unit. (Admittedly, not the greatest acronym!) It means that the establishment is licensed to be transitory in nature, rather than operating at a fixed location. Apologies for any confusion. -Angie Parsons, Washtenaw County Environmental Health

nunya

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 9:58 p.m.

With all the other "trendy" things big cities do that our city council tends to latch onto, I wish they would mandate the posting of scores or grades on restaurant window fronts. It is one thing to get a bad report that gets buried in county records and that only a few of us notice in this article. On the other hand if every patron could see their rating before choosing to enter it should really motivate the establishments to manage toward an acceptable performance 100% of the time. I doubt this article and the scores have much impact on a business. But I wonder how popular Sava would be if they posted it on the front door. 13 is a big number, even if they are the non-critical. And for the record, I really like(d) that place. Although the last time I was there I was picking up take out and noticed all of the food ingredients for drinks sitting on the bar counter while servers and bar tenders were constantly reaching over with dirty glasses and dish rags. This included eggs, all sitting at room temp and I actually thought right then that the health inspection would not look good.

BobbyJohn

Thu, Aug 1, 2013 : 3:33 a.m.

Right on, other cities are doing this, A2 should also. "Just the facts, Ma'am, just the facts."

a2xarob

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 9:13 p.m.

I'm really surprised at the number of critical violations Paesanos has now and in the past. It's one of our favorite places and we've never gotten sick here or been aware of this history. I hope they get the problems cleaned up fast and permanently!

Lauren Erickson

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 9:06 p.m.

Sava's is off our list.

Colorado Sun

Thu, Aug 1, 2013 : 4:14 a.m.

Lauren, I was by Sava's Sunday night and it was packed! I can't believe Sava Lelcaj could allow so many violations. How is that place being operated? This article is being discussed by everybody! There are many who I have spoke with who agree with your commentary after seeing these disturbing findings.

linuxtuxguy

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 8:49 p.m.

Seriously why is my comment getting deleted? The article text above refers to a 'BLACK SWALLOW EXPRESSO & COFFEE' business followed by a four letter abbreviation. This abbreviation usually refers to a swear word. Google does not provide any relevant hits as to why it would be associated with this coffee place. So, why are those four letters appearing in the name of that business in this list?

David Barnett

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 9:10 p.m.

To be fair, that is how it is listed on the ewashtenaw site. Misspelling and all (expresso should be espresso).

oyxclean

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 9:10 p.m.

Yeah, that caught my attention too.

David Barnett

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 9:07 p.m.

It is also spelled espresso.

jen777

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 8:21 p.m.

This month Cottage Inn, last month Pizza House - classics near campus with high priority violations - enough to put me back on my diet.

A2comments

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 7:16 p.m.

We stop frequenting restaurants that score poorly, and we let them know. Haven't been to Cottage Inn in quite a while, and won't be going anytime soon. Same for Bar Louie - used to go maybe 3 times a year, never go now. My wife just went to Paesano with some friends, I just pointed out to her how bad they did and she'll be telling all her friends. Clean up your act guys!

whojix

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 6:46 p.m.

Shame on Cottage Inn, will not be getting pizza from them any more.

Goober

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 6:43 p.m.

Oh no! Zingerman's got zinged again. Go figure!

eyesofjustice

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 6:38 p.m.

This is not the first time Sava's has been in trouble for food violations, a couple years back she did a interview with the Michigan Daily about " cleaning up her restaurant" The kitchen in Sava's was infested with Flies and Roaches.....Seems the problem is back.

lindor

Thu, Aug 15, 2013 : 1:31 p.m.

That article in the daily was after she was the new owner of Zanizbar.... and the place was trashed. Who was the owner back then... Roger Hewitt.

Colorado Sun

Thu, Aug 1, 2013 : 4:16 a.m.

@eyesofjustice: Do you have a link to that Michigan Daily article? I am appalled at these violations. Accountability needs to be imposed upon Sava's.

Observant

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 6:34 p.m.

Health inspections - like the train wreck where you simply cannot force yourself to look away. Can it be that Cottage Inn & Paesano's are now both on my "No Fly" list?? Next you are gonna tell me there's no Santa Claus?!

DBH

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 6:50 p.m.

There is no Santa Claus [unless, perhaps, your name is Virginia ;-) ]. Sorry about that.

hometowngirl

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 6:09 p.m.

UGH!! Bar Louie has 15 total -- 10 core violations! And Sava's has 16 total -- 13 core violations! That seems like enough to close 'em down til they get their act together. There's too many good, clean places to eat -- AA does not need restaurants like this.

Jessica Webster

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 6:16 p.m.

Priority violations are the most critical - there are a few places I've been to in the past year with a pretty high priority violation count. You can read the details of the violations here: http://www.swordsolutions.com/inspections/pgesearchresults.asp?County=28

slave2work

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 2:23 p.m.

They know they are coming too.. how bad is it regularly.

hometowngirl

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 6:11 p.m.

Regardless of IF they know WHEN they're coming.... they're coming. Besides.... keep it clean guys!! WTH!?!?

DBH

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 5:38 p.m.

The restaurants only knew when the sanitarian was coming October 2012 through March 2013. As of April 2013, the inspections have been unannounced. The restaurants only know in which month the sanitarian will be coming, but not the week or day.

applehazar

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 11:50 a.m.

How many priority violations does it take to close a restaurant. There are several 4 5 and even 6. Nice job award to these restaurants! Time to avoid!

Jessica Webster

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 7:05 p.m.

Asia City's most recent visit (3/28) was much better than their jaw-dropping 11 priority violations in October.

BCell

Wed, Jul 31, 2013 : 12:43 p.m.

Asia City Restaurant chuckles at those with a mere 6 priority violations.