You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Tue, Jul 2, 2013 : 4:05 p.m.

She & Him play Hill Auditorium for appreciative crowd

By Melanie Maxwell

She & Him—the musical pairing of indie singer-songwriter M. Ward and actress Zooey Deschanel—brought their tour to Hill Auditorium on Monday, with Camera Obscura as the opening act.

Photographer Melanie Maxwell captured these images.

iSpy magazine reviewed the show, saying in part, "Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward had everyone in the filled Hill Auditorium hanging on every riff of M. Ward’s guitar and each beat of Zooey’s tambourine."

Read the full review on iSpy.



Wed, Jul 3, 2013 : 4:11 p.m.

I didn't go to this show, but have been to many others at Hill and sound is a big problem unless the sound guy understands the acoustics at Hill. I remember going to an Esther Phillips concert years ago when I left the theater and went out to the lobby. The sound was much better out there. I've had the same experience at the Michigan Theater. Local sound techs who understand the theaters should be used instead of those with the band, who obviously don't.

Marc Williams

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 : 2:44 p.m.

I was disappointed. Both bands are favorites and I was looking forward to hearing them play in Hill Auditorium. The sound was awful, muddy and distorted. The volume and feedback were painful. People around me looked pained. The woman next to me jumped at every high note. Some left between acts and did not return. One of my group sat in the lobby for the second half of the show. While they sang beautifully (I'm guessing since it was often difficult to hear them through the wall of noise) both Tracyanne Campbell and Zooey Deschanel seemed detached. The author of the iSpy review was at a concert in an alternate universe or didn't want to write anything negative. It's sloppy to blame the audience. I can only speak for myself, I tried to have a good time in spite of the painful sound but by the end of the concert I was sad that I didn't really get to hear two of my favorite bands and felt foolish for putting myself through it.

Marc Williams

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 : 2:57 p.m.

Ms. Deschanel's recent performance on Conan O'Brien was equally stiff. I don't mind that as long as the music is good... and it was... the problem was the sound. They clearly didn't understand the venue and didn't check before the show started.

Jon Saalberg

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 : 1:36 p.m.

I can't get past the grammatically incorrect name - so pretentious.

Kyle Mattson

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 : 1:12 p.m.

I actually think the iSpy review is a little too forgiving of the show as it was easily the most forgettable concert I've been to in a long time. Obviously Deschanel is the name that sold most of the tickets, but in reality it was everyone else on the stage that should have been the focal point. She may be musically talented but if you're going to make a career on stage, you have to have some personality too and she did nothing but appear lethargic for the entire show with minimal interaction with the audience, Ward, or the rest of the supporting band. In fact, had the show been just Ward and the others I'd say the show would have been considerably better as Deschanel just sucked the energy out of the room. Saying that the audience was "hanging on every riff of M. Ward's guitar and each beat of Zooey's tambourine" is far from what I saw. I'd say they were more struggling to stay interested and not be distracted by the ushers who were patrolling the aisles to prevent people from snapping pictures with their phone. Yes, there was a 'no photo' policy. While no recording is commonly enforced at most shows no photos is rare and honestly just a bad move on the part of the performers as it further separates them from connecting with the fans that paid to see them. Maybe I'm being too critical of this show, but it was a flat out dud.


Wed, Jul 3, 2013 : 11:25 a.m.

Heard from several people that this concert was a huge disappointment and they are big fans of the group!


Wed, Jul 3, 2013 : 2:15 a.m.

I agree. The over amplification totally ruined the show for us. All you could hear was bass and drums. It would have been cool to hear Zooey's voice clearly. Matt had some cool vintage guitars that I bet sounded nice too. The performers in the opening band were probably doing some cool stuff too. Feedback?? Doesn't that mean you have it turned up to high? The shows that I have seen at Hill where the sound techs figured out and appreciated the venue have been truly memorable.

Audion Man

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 : 1:21 a.m.

The soundwork for this concert was subpar. Over-driven for the venue. Hill Auditorium is not a stadium. Lots of feedback during some of Camera Obscura's stuff didn't help the over-driven muddiness.


Tue, Jul 2, 2013 : 10:33 p.m.

The sad thing is that they will be appearing at the Montreal Jazz Festival later this week. Does anyone who was there consider their music to be jazz?

Kyle Mattson

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 : 12:29 p.m.

I'd put them closer to bluegrass/country than jazz. If the festival has a broad enough selection of acts I think they won't be too out of place, but I'd say the organizers of that fest are probably just using them for a 'big name' draw to their event.

Homeland Conspiracy

Tue, Jul 2, 2013 : 9:51 p.m.

The Blind Pig...yes Hill