You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Sat, Oct 22, 2011 : 6:25 p.m.

Man charged with operating while intoxicated third-offense

By Lee Higgins

A Pittsfield Township man who has a history of drunken driving is facing charges again.

Derek Edward Schummer, 20, is charged with operating while intoxicated third-offense, Washtenaw County court records show.

He is accused of driving drunk about 12:45 a.m. July 24 near the intersection of Mary and Packard streets in Ann Arbor. A blood sample sent to a state police lab revealed that he had a blood-alcohol level of 0.12, records show. In Michigan, it's illegal to drive with a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher.

Ann Arbor police could not be reached for comment Friday for further details. Schummer was scheduled to be arraigned Friday afternoon.

If convicted, he faces a minimum of 30 days in jail.



Wed, Mar 7, 2012 : 5:24 p.m.

Let's keep giving him back his license

Elaine F. Owsley

Mon, Oct 24, 2011 : 12:53 p.m.

So does he get to go back on the streets until he kills someone? Surely he needs more than 30 days. Why does he still have a license? He's been drinking legally for 2 years and picked up 3 times for drunken driving.


Sun, Oct 23, 2011 : 1:36 p.m.

A three month old drunk driving ticket? Is this what they call a slow news day?


Sun, Oct 23, 2011 : 12:05 p.m.

Drunk driver (if they are still allowed to drive) should have BRIGHT ORANGE license plates so everyone knows who they are.


Sun, Oct 23, 2011 : 9:21 p.m.

Better would be any vehicle they own would be seized and they would not be allowed to own, operate or get a license for anything but a 10 speed.


Sun, Oct 23, 2011 : 4:53 a.m.

It's illegal to drive with a blood alcohol of .08 or higher? Seriously, the arrestee isn't OLD ENOUGH to drink....this kid is 20 years old and has a "history" of drunken driving? Do I see some great parenting skills that worked?!?!? Please tell me that he may also be charged with driving without a license because there is no way this person should have a valid license. Do the courts not see a problem with this? What esteemed bench sitters have graciously condoned this behavior with light sentences and/or fines? I say third offense, if convicted, deems the driver a lifetime ineligibility to get a drivers license. I personally don't want someone with such little regard for the law or the lives of others on the road to ever get behind the wheel of a lawn mower, let alone a car. I would appreciate a follow up on this case by the Crime and Courts Reporter so we may be informed of the outcome and to be aware this driver may be back out on the road. How utterly sad to destroy one's life in such a short period of time...


Sun, Oct 23, 2011 : 4:15 a.m.

Tell me this is a joke, or that you are kidding. 30 days for the the 3rd. offense???


Sun, Oct 23, 2011 : 2:33 a.m.


Charlie Brown's Ghost

Sat, Oct 22, 2011 : 11:33 p.m.

30 days for the third offense? Way not enough.


Sun, Oct 23, 2011 : 10:52 p.m.

That is the mandatory minimum. The maximum is 5 years.


Sat, Oct 22, 2011 : 11:19 p.m.

Is there a reason there is no photo of Mr. Schummer?


Sat, Oct 22, 2011 : 10:43 p.m.

"In Michigan, it's illegal to drive with a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or higher." It's actually illegal to drive with a blood-alcohol level of 0.02 or higher if you're only 20 years old, as Mr. Schumemer is.