You are viewing this article in the AnnArbor.com archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see MLive.com/ann-arbor
Posted on Fri, Feb 4, 2011 : 6:24 p.m.

Michigan State Police: Designate a driver for Super Bowl Sunday

By AnnArbor.com Staff

Michigan State Police have a message for those heading out on Super Bowl Sunday who plan to drink: designate a sober driver.

Last year on Super Bowl Sunday, 199 people were arrested in Michigan for drunken driving, according to the Michigan State Police Criminal Justice Information Center.

Thumbnail image for michigan-state-police-traffic-stop.jpg

Michigan State Police are encouraging people to designate a driver on Sunday.

Of those, 62 had a blood alcohol content of .17 or higher. One pedestrian died in an alcohol-involved crash, police said.

“If you are caught driving drunk, you will be arrested,” Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning Director Michael L. Prince said in a release. “Michigan law enforcement officers don’t play games when it comes to drunk drivers, so make the right call and pass the keys to a sober driver.”

Police recommended that people choose a designated driver or have the number for a taxi cab company on hand.

In Michigan, it's illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher. As of Oct. 31, motorists face enhanced penalties for a first time conviction with a .17 level or higher.

A motorist convicted of drunken driving is subject to:

  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Up to a $500 fine
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • 180 days driving suspension
  • Six points on a driver’s licenses

If convicted under Michigan’s new high blood alcohol content law, in addition to points on their driver’s license and community service, enhanced penalties for first-time drivers include: 

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Up to a $700 fine
  • One year license suspension with restrictions permitted after 45 days
  • One year mandatory alcohol treatment program or self-help program

In addition, all convicted drunk drivers are subject to a $1,000 fee for two consecutive years, for a total of $2,000 in additional costs. Anyone who refuses a breath test the first time is given an automatic one-year driver’s license suspension.

Comments

RJA

Sat, Feb 5, 2011 : 3:10 a.m.

Sounds like a plan to me, (an excellent plan) keeping all the drunk drivers off the roads. I plan to stay home, cheer for my team, and enjoy Pizza and Pepsi. Thank You Michigan State Police!