You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Wed, Nov 7, 2012 : 5:57 a.m.

Northfield Township votes in 4 newcomers to Board of Trustees

By Tom Perkins

Tight races marked a general election full of newcomers in Northfield Township.

Ultimately, more Republican candidates defeated their Democratic counterparts and retained a majority on the board.

Follow the results

Keep an eye on the voter tallies as they come in

In the August primaries, the incumbent supervisor and three incumbent trustees were voted out of office.

Republican Marilyn Handloser Engstrom defeated Democrat Richard Rohrer in Tuesday's supervisor's race by a margin of 2,074 to 1,832, or 52.8 percent to 46.64 percent.

Handloser Engstrom defeated incumbent Deb Mozurkewich 529 to 305 votes in the primary. There was some speculation that Democrats voted in the Republican primary just to get Mozurkewich out of office which would translate into more votes for Rohrer in the general election.

Clerk Michelle Manning ran unopposed.

Republican Kathy Braun defeated Robert Erickson to win the township's treasurer’s office by 2013 to 1821 votes, or 52.2 percent to 47.3 percent. Current treasurer Cynthia Wilson didn't seek re-election.

In the trustee’s race, Republicans Wayne Dockett, Jacqueline Otto and Janet Chick all won seats. Dockett is the only incumbent. Tracy Thomas was the lone Democrat trustee who was elected with 13.05-percent of the vote.

Otto received the highest vote total of the trustees with 2,026, or 14.05-percent of the vote.

Incumbent Republican trustees Mark Stanalajczo and Sam Iaquinto both lost in their primaries, while Democrat Mike Magda was not among the top four candidates in the Democratic field.

After the primaries, several general election candidates expressed a desire for a change in leadership and said the township will be headed in a better direction when the next board sits no matter who won.

Tom Perkins is a freelance reporter for


Tom Perkins

Wed, Nov 7, 2012 : 1:47 p.m.

Braun. We will update the list. Thanks.


Wed, Nov 7, 2012 : 1:30 p.m.

Your countywide list at says Erickson won as treasurer but this article says Braun won. Which is correct?