You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Sun, Feb 13, 2011 : 5:44 p.m.

Ben Thayer wins MVP award at Eastern Michigan football banquet

By Staff

Ben Thayer walked away with multiple honors from the 48th annual Eastern Michigan football banquet held Sunday at the EMU Student Center.

The senior tight end, who caught 30 passes for 386 yards and three touchdowns in 2010, was named the team's most valuable player and also earned its leadership award.

A complete list of EMU award winners:

Team MVP: Ben Thayer

Offensive MVP: Alex Gillett

Scholar-Athlete award: Jay Karutz

Down lineman scholar-athlete award: Eric Davis

Eagle Talons award: Herb Waits

Offensive newcomer of the year: Javonti Green

Defensive newcomer of the year: Willie Williams

Leadership award: Ben Thayer

Special teams: Matt Boyd