Posted on Mon, Sep 28, 2009 : 1:50 p.m. Donovan Warren: 'I caught the ball first' on game-winning interception vs. Indiana By Dave Birkett Comments Kubrick66 Tue, Sep 29, 2009 : midnight He did catch it first. See for yourself... http://www.maizenbrew.com/2009/9/26/1056196/a-picture-story-donovan-warrens bellheezy Mon, Sep 28, 2009 : 11:45 p.m. Actually, the review could only confirm if the play was a catch or not...they couldn't review possession...they could only confirm the call on the field (because it was a catch) or rule it an incomplete catch. Anyways, if you look at the replay, it appears that the only time you can see the ball is when the players go upside down...then you can clearly see the ball is in Warren's arms and the IU receiver only has his arms interlocked in Warren's. Then, Warren rips the ball and his arms away from the receiver's. If it was a "mutual" possession, then why didn't the IU receiver fight and end up with the ball? It's because he had no leverage or possession of the ball to begin with! tater Mon, Sep 28, 2009 : 9:35 p.m. Regardless of the controversy, the ref called it an interception and there was no iffefutable evidence that it wasn't. End of story. azwolverine Mon, Sep 28, 2009 : 9:06 p.m. Regardless, Warren made an outstanding play on the ball. He's playing solid...now we just need to get some more consistent play on the other side. DwightSchrute Mon, Sep 28, 2009 : 8:05 p.m. His story has changed. After the game Saturday he said they both got to the ball at the same time and they got their hands on the ball at the same time. I'd put money down on a little PR prepwork before his appearance to the media. juan Ito Mon, Sep 28, 2009 : 4:12 p.m. You would have had to be on top of that interception play to know what happened. Even Ben Chappell, IU quarterback said he didn't see it and he was fairly close. I was sitting in row 32 on that side of the field and can't swear what happened. IU coach Lynn said all he knows for sure is that the gtwo playeres had joint possession. That is not enough proof if it is true. I can believe the referee and I can believe Donovan Warren. 81wolverine Mon, Sep 28, 2009 : 2 p.m. It was certainly a very hard play to call from the referees's point of view. I saw the play live and one replay, and I still wasn't sure who had control of it. Obviously, at the end, Donovan had the ball in his hands. Ultimately, it's the referee's judgement call though. When they reviewed the play, I think there was not enough evidence to overturn the call on the field. It was a huge play, as Indiana had plenty of time still and all they needed was a field goal to tie. Great job Donovan!