You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Sat, Nov 26, 2011 : 6:30 a.m.

Drake Johnson runner up in Division 1-2 Player of the Year vote; six more local players All-State

By Staff


Pioneer running back Drake Johnson was a unanimous selection for first the Associated Press Division 1-2 All-State team and runner up in Player of the Year voting.

Angela J. Cesere |

Pioneer High School running back Drake Johnson was runner up in the Player of the Year voting for The Associated Press Division 1-2 All-State high school football team, which was released today.

Johnson (6-1, 215) was one of nine players unanimously selected to the Division 1-2 first team by the 10-person panel. He rushed for 2,800 yards and 37 touchdowns on 343 attempts and also caught a touchdown pass. Johnson led Pioneer to the regional round of the playoffs and will play for the University of Michigan next year.

He lost out on player of the year honors to Oxford running back/linebacker Prescott Line (6-1, 205), who rushed for 2,454 yards and 38 touchdowns on 364 carries and had 159 tackles on defense. He'll play at SMU.

Skyline receiver Jordan Woods (6-3, 175) was a special mention at wide receiver, getting two or more votes from the panel. Woods had 45 receptions for 1,163 yards and 16 touchdowns. He also returned two interceptions for touchdowns, had a kick return for a score, scored a rushing touchdown and threw two touchdowns.

Skyline quarterback Andrew Copp (6-1, 190) and receiver Theron Wilson (6-4, 180) were honorable mention. Copp completed 96 of 156 pass attempts for 1,732 yards and 27 touchdowns and rushed 74 times for 329 in 6 1/2 games played. He broke his collarbone in Week 7. Wilson had 25 receptions for 607 yards and 11 touchdowns.

Also making honorable mention were Saline kicker Dylan Mulder (6-0, 190), Lincoln offensive lineman Tanner Brewer (6-1, 270) and Pioneer offensive lineman Mohammed Awwad (6-3, 300).

Brewer played both sides of the ball for a resurgent Lincoln team that went from 0-9 to 6-3 and gave up an average of 14.9 points per game. He had 20.5 tackles and 2.5 sacks.

Mulder was a perfect 34 of 34 on PATs and finished career 58 of 58. Made 6 of 9 field goal attempts with a long of 47 yards. Had 39 touchbacks on 42 kickoffs.

Awwad opened up the holes for Johnson to run through at left tackle for the Pioneers.


Prescott Line, Oxford.


Gabe Dean, Lowell, 5-10, 195, Sr.; Bart Williams, Grand Blanc, 6-5, 180, Jr.


Drake Johnson, Ann Arbor Pioneer, 6-1, 215, Sr.; Juwan Lewis, Muskegon, 5-11, 210, Sr.; Prescott Line, Oxford, 6-1, 205, Sr.; Dennis Norfleet, Detroit King, 5-8, 178, Sr.


Aaron Burbridge, Farmington Hills Harrison, 6-2, 185, Sr.; Danny Cotter, Grand Haven, 6-2, 170, Sr.; Jordan Fields, Grand Blanc, 6-1, 180, Sr.


Ben Braden, Rockford, 6-7, 320, Sr.; Matt Godin, Detroit Catholic Central, 6-6, 267, Sr.; Mario Ojemudia, Farmington Hills Harrison, 6-3, 225, Sr.; Ron Thompson, Southfield, 6-4, 230, Sr.; Cameron Dillard, Canton, 6-3, 285, Jr.; Steven Elmer, Midland, 6-6, 305, Jr.


Joe Bacci, Romeo, 6-2, 225, Sr.; Royce Jenkins-Stone, Detroit Cass Tech, 6-2, 225, Sr.; Roman Mares, Holland West Ottawa, 5-11, 195, Sr.; Angelo Corona, Muskegon, 6-2, 220, Jr.; Collin Schlosser, Grand Rapids Forest Hills Central, 6-0, 205, Jr.


Mike Abiragi, Warren De La Salle, 5-9, 182, Sr.; Tony Annese, Rochester Adams, 6-2, 205, Sr.; Terry Richardson, Detroit Cass Tech, 5-9, 165, Sr.; KC Zenner, Rockford, 6-0, 187, Jr.


Shane Barron, Flint Carman-Ainsworth, 5-10, 170, Sr.


Kenny Allen, Fenton, 6-3, 175, Sr.


Evan Fischer, Holt, 5-10, 175, Sr.


Ryan Mullins, Port Huron.

SPECIAL MENTION (nominees receiving two or more votes from the 10-member panel)


Austin Pichiotino, Bay City Western; Shane Morris, Warren De La Salle.


Jordan Woods, Ann Arbor Skyline.


Kyle Knapp, Portage Central; Taylor Moton, Okemos; Ahmed Leila, Dearborn Fordson; Dylan Anderson, Birmingham Brother Rice.


Bryan Smith, Temperance Bedford; Tyler Goble, Plymouth; Kyle Ready, Gibraltar Carlson.


Winslow Chapman, Port Huron.


Shane Dokey, Brighton.


Austin Hopkin, Holly; R.J. Bain, Birmingham Brother Rice.


Steven Mette, Rockford; Dan Gojcaj, Utica Eisenhower.

HONORABLE MENTION (nominees receiving one or no votes from the 10-member panel):


Mark LaPrairie, Rockford; Scott Staal, Grand Haven; Sebastian Johnson, Adrian; Andrew Copp, Ann Arbor Skyline.


Dakota Smith, Grand Haven; Brandon Allen, Holland West Ottawa; Avery Chatman, Midland; Yenta Sanders, Saginaw Arthur Hill; Shane Dokey, Brighton; Devin Church, Birmingham Brother Rice.


Hunter Prince, Hudsonville; Kevin Rich, Grand Rapids Northview; Tyler Frank, Adrian; Jaleel Canty, Lansing Everett; Devon Funchess, Farmington Hills Harrison; Quinn Kotsko, Port Huron Northern; Theron Wilson, Ann Arbor Skyline; Aaron Doriot, Muskegon Mona Shores.


Pierce Watson, Lowell; Colt Harrrington, Greenville; Andrew Wylie, Midland; Kodi Kieler, Gibraltar Carlson; Jacob Notario, Monroe; Alec Hastings, Mattawan; Ben Steward, Holt; Cory Arnouts, Grand Ledge; David Crule, Utica Eisenhower; Kyle Moran, Port Huron; Jordan Strope, Traverse City West; Robert Ritche, Plymouth; Mohammed Awwad, Ann Arbor Pioneer; Tanner Brewer, Ypsilanti Lincoln.


Jake Stehely, Lowell; Anthony DeDamos, Rockford; Kasaim Koonnala, Marquette; Troy Cross, Warren Cousino; James Mills, Lansing Everett; Chris Hagan, East Lansing; Jamal Lyles, Southfield-Lathrup; Anthony Darkangelo, Detroit Catholic Central; Hunter Matt, Wyandotte Roosevelt; Joe Delavergne, Fenton; Zach Collins, Clarkston.


Ryan Verhelst, Holland West Ottawa; Valorian Cunningham, Kalamazoo Loy Norrix; Alfonso Vultaggio, Utica Eisenhower; Josh Cox, Warren De La Salle; Dave Racey, Detroit Catholic Central; Austin Hopkin, Holly; Kevin Buford, Canton.


Nils Eastburg, Grand Rapids Forest Hills Central; Charles Proctor, Bay City Western; Nick Amador, Adrian; Leviticus Payne, Southfield; Jake Vento, Farmington Hills Harrison.


Austin Hopkin, Holly; R.J. Bain, Birmingham Brother Rice.


Kevin Cronin, Traverse City West; Dylan Mulder, Saline.


Rob Lantzy, Utica Eisenhower.


Derrick Holloway

Sun, Nov 27, 2011 : 4:58 p.m.

i think Dejuan hampton should have got a honorable mention for Lincoln.44 tackles,tac for loss10,sacks 5, defl 3,ff 2,fumrec 2 and 1 int.Thats good numbers for a DE.who makes the votes


Sat, Nov 26, 2011 : 1:52 p.m.

Drake Johnson gets 346 more yards on 21 less carries with the same number of touchdowns than the player of the year and he is runner-up to the "player of the year"?!! Who makes these decisions? He still gets my vote. Great year Drake!

Pete Cunningham

Sat, Nov 26, 2011 : 4:32 p.m.

It's no mystery that Prescott Line won the award due to his effectiveness on both sides of the ball. As noted in the article, Line also recorded 159 tackles on defense, which is no small feat in its own right, let alone when you're rushing for nearly 2,500 yards. Both players would be worthy recipients, but there's no shame in losing out to - or voting for - a player who made that big of a difference on both sides of the ball.