You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Mon, May 21, 2012 : 1:04 p.m.

Five Washtenaw County teams qualify for girls state tennis finals

By Matt Durr

Prior to last week’s Division 1 regional tennis tournament, Pioneer High School coach Tom Pullen was concerned about his team qualifying for the MHSAA finals that begin June 1 at the Midland Community Tennis Center.

Pullen was able to breathe a sigh of relief as his team was one of three Washtenaw County teams to emerge from the Division 1 regional.

Huron won the event by scoring 25 points and Pioneer earned the other automatic state finals berth with a second-place finish (24 points). A third Southeastern Conference Red Division team, Saline, finished third with a state-qualifying score of 22 points.

Father Gabriel Richard and Greenhills also qualified for the Division 4 state finals, which will be held in Holland.

Pioneer doubles player Anna Borowicz will be seeking a second straight state championship. After winning the No. 4 doubles title last year with Shreya Bahl, Borowicz and current partner Sarah Court will be looking to win the No. 3 title this year. The Pioneers won all four doubles brackets at the regional.

Saline’s No. 1 and No. 2 singles players -- Mary Hanna and Jennifer Ho -- look to continue their success from the regional. Both won their respective flights, with Hanna losing just one point in the last two matches she played.

Huron had similar success in No.3 and 4 singles, as Rosa Wu and Catherine Chou were the respective flight champions.

Brackets and first-round pairings will be released Thursday on

Here is the complete list of local qualifiers for the MHSAA finals:

No. 1 Singles
Isabel Zheng - Huron
Claire Welsh - Pioneer
Mary Hanna - Saline
Anjali Sood - Gabriel Richard
Kasey Gardiner - Greenhills

No. 2 Singles
Lucy Jiang - Huron
Azba Gurm - Pioneer
Jennifer Ho -Saline
Maddy Szuba - Gabriel Richard
Colleen O’Brien - Greenhills

No.3 Singles
Rosa Wu - Huron
Diya Malholtra - Pioneer
Heather Vogt -Saline
Surina Sood - Gabriel Richard
Braeleigh Apley - Greenhills

No.4 Singles
Catherine Chou - Huron
Sajani Desai - Pioneer
Darby Molloy - Saline
Claire Nulty - Gabriel Richard
Corinne Gardner - Greenhills

No. 1 Doubles
Christine Mei / Valerie Peng - Huron
Alexa Arvidson / Julia Rampton - Pioneer
Lauren Rasmussen / Margaret Sheets - Saline
Nikki Jonif / Monica Ring - Gabriel Richard
Sarah Mcintosh / Rae Schueller - Greenhills

No. 2 Doubles
Melanie Langa / Hanna Ljungman - Huron
Gina Choe / Allison Fitzpatrick - Pioneer
Kelsey Pelletier / Julia Prisby - Saline
Lauren Moore / Kelsie Goethais - Gabriel Richard
Miriam Akervall / Pallavi Prabhu - Greenhills

No. 3 Doubles
Emily Chang / Tiffany change - Huron
Anna Borowicz / Sarah Court - Pioneer
Syd Bunch / Ali Horwood - Saline
Virgilia Gaska / Anne Covington - Gabriel Richard
Emily Chung / Jill Hakim - Greenhills

No. 4 Doubles
Hannah Gadway / Saule Tamkus - Huron
Alyssa Roopas / Evie Van DeWege - Pioneer
Stacy Cruze / Alisha Patel - Saline
Lauren Walker / Sarah Rowinski - Gabriel Richard
Caroline Apley / Christina Panagoulia-Triantafillopoulis - Greenhills



Tue, May 22, 2012 : 12:13 p.m.

If Mary Hanna really lost just ONE POINT in two whole matches, THAT is the big news of the weekend....


Tue, May 22, 2012 : 2:02 a.m.

Huron wins and the focus of the article is still on Pioneer? ...I suppose we should be used to this by now..