You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Wed, Nov 10, 2010 : 9:08 p.m.

Washtenaw County players well recognized on All-State soccer teams

By Staff

Six different Washtenaw County schools were represented on the Michigan High School Soccer Coaches Association All-State teams, including Huron and Lincoln in Division 1, Chelsea and Dexter (Division 2), Father Gabriel Richard (Division 3) and Greenhills (Division 4).

Additionally, MHSSCA District Coach of the Year nods were given to Huron's Reese Richardson, Lincoln's Bob Stowe, Dexter's Scott Forrester and Greenhills' Lucian Popescu.

Matt Ybarra (sr., M) and Drew Sheppard (so., GK) of Huron, and Lincoln's Mohamoudou Kaba (sr., M) were named to the Division 1 second team, while Huron's Steve Weidenbach (sr., M) was selected to the third team. Meanwhile, Huron's Grant Steinhauser (sr., D) and Lincoln brothers Justin Ritchey (sr., M) and Jeremy Ritchey (jr., GK) were named honorable mention.

Both the River Rats and Railsplitters won their respective district tournaments and advanced to the regional semifinals.

In Division 2, Dexter's Sam Justice (sr., F) was placed on the first team. Justice's teammate Ian St. Pierre (jr., F) and Chelsea's Patrick Roberts (sr., M/F) were named honorable mention.

Dexter won its district tournament before falling in the regional semifinals. The Dreadnaughts knocked Chelsea out of districts in the first round.

Father Gabriel Richard's Sean Purcell (sr., M) and Matt Barera (sr., F) were voted to the Division 3 third team, while their Fighting Irish teammate Will Schork (sr., M) was honorable mention.

Gabriel Richard's season ended in the district finals.

Lastly, Division 4 state runner ups Greenhills had three players named all-state. Al Braun (sr., M) received first team honors, while Pat Duggan (sr., F) was second team and Curtis Heisel (sr., M) was third team.


FIRST TEAM Adam Gorski (12), Brother Rice Blake Skameira (12), Lake Orion Dzenan Catic (12), East Kentwood Eric Weberman (12), North Farmington Grant Chong (12), Brighton Jarrett Kersten (12), Clarkston Jason Stacy (11), Forest Hills Central Jerome Cristobal (11), Utica Stevenson Joey Tinnion (12), Utica IKE Nermin Crnkic (12), East Kentwood Sean Cunningham (12), Troy Tarwo Konbloa (12), East Kentwood Taylor Mazurek (12), Brighton Zach Carroll (11), Grand Blanc Tyler Yachick (12), Grand Blanc Mike Mendola (12), Utica Stevenson

SECOND TEAM Matt Ybarra (12), Huron Mohamoudou Kaba (12), Lincoln Drew Sheppard (10), Huron

THIRD TEAM Steve Weidenbach (12), Huron

HONORABLE MENTION Grant Steinhauser (12), Huron Justin Ritchey (12), Lincoln Jeremy Ritchey (11), Lincoln


FIRST TEAM Aldony Mendez (12), Grand Rapids Northview Alex Landschultz (12), Bloomfield Hills Lahser Clayton Tomczyk (12), Lapeer East Esteban Russell (12), DeWitt Gianni Dipoce (12), Trenton Jake Carter (12), Holland Jake Landis (12), Bloomfield Hills Lahser Kotaro Mitsuhashi (12), Detroit Country Day Kyle Farris (12), Plainwell Nick Posh (12), Dearborn Divine Child Sam Justice (12), Dexter TJ VanSlooten (12), Grand Rapids Northview Travis Vegter (12), Unity Christian Zach Rogers (12), Mason Jacob Derby (12), Mason Andrew Rouff (12), Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook

HONORABLE MENTION Ian St. Pierre (11), Dexter Patrick Roberts (12), Chelsea


FIRST TEAM Andrew Pratt (12), Flint Powers Austin Dunn (11), Perry Ben Meyers (12), Charlevoix Dillion McCarthy (11), Whitehall Drew Lockwood (12), South Christian Jon Puente (12), Galesburg Augusta Louis Savona (12), Lansing Catholic Majd Khytaz (12), Grosse Ille Matthew Ferguson (11), Whitehall Randy Bautista (12), South Haven Sean Brockhuizen (12), South Christian Tyler Jugon (10), Clawson Tyler Stephens (12), Bishop Foley Zach Vasold (12), Freeland Aaron Bosch (12), South Christian Andrew Claucherty (12), Bishop Foley

THIRD TEAM Matt Barera (12), Father Gabriel Richard Sean Purcell (12), Father Gabriel Richard

HONORABLE MENTION William Schork (12), Father Gabriel Richard


FIRST TEAM Al Braun (12), Greenhills Caleb Stanko (12), Oakland Christian Colin Breit (12), West Michigan Christian Dillion Li (12), Lansing Christian Drew Perrin (11), Oakland Christian Gabe Mateo (12), The Potters House Greg Sischo (12), North Muskegon Jordan Van Oostenbrugge (10), Covenant Christian Josh Bachleda (12), Bridgman Matt DeKryger (12), West Michigan Christian Sam Krane (12), Jackson Christian Sawyer Moss (12), Hillsdale Academy Scott Grebowicz (12), Harbor Beach Trae Pitts (12), North Muskegon Jared Orban (12), Suttons Bay Kyler Jacobs (11), Lenawee Christian

SECOND TEAM Pat Duggan (12), Greenhills

THIRD TEAM Curtis Heisel (12), Greenhills

Follow these links for the full MHSSCA All-State teams, along with the final team rankings.