You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Sun, Feb 10, 2013 : 5:32 a.m.

Six district champions among 33 Washtenaw County wrestlers to qualify for regional competition

By Pete Cunningham

The team portion of the MHSAA wrestling postseason began Wednesday with team district competition.

The individual portion of districts took place on Saturday and 33 wrestlers from across Washtenaw County placed in the top four of their respective weight classes, qualifying them for next weekend's regional competition. The top four finishers at individual regionals move on the the individual state championships at the Palace of Auburn Hills, Feb. 28-March 2.

Manchester led the way with 12 out of its 14 wrestlers placing at the Division 3 district at Napoleon High School.

Among the 33 regional qualifiers were six champions: Jordan Markey (Lincoln, 130), Nate O'Sullivan (Saline, 135), Michael Hovater (Chelsea, 189), Zeke Breauninger (Dexter, 112) and Steve Bleise (Chelsea, 135).

Here's how everyone else fared:

Division 1 at Saline


Saline's Nate O'Sullivan, left, and Pioneer's Robert Freter, right, square off at 135 pounds during team district competition on Wednesday, Feb. 6. Both qualified for individual regional competition on Saturday.

Daniel Brenner | file photo

Jordan Markey, Lincoln (130)
Nate O'Sullivan, Saline (135)

Alex Cornelius, Saline (152)
Jahi Hilliard, Pioneer (215)

Taylor Ticknow, Saline (112)
Quandre Thomas, Pioneer (140)

Billy Cobb Gulley, Pioneer (103)
Keegan Pape, Pioneer (125)
Robert Freter, Pioneer (135)

Division 2 at Mason

Michael Hovater, Chelsea (189)
Zeke Breauninger, Dexter (112)
Steve Bleise, Chelsea (135)

Zaid Abdellatif, Ypsilanti (285)
Kyle Abdellatif, Ypsilanti (125)
Avery Osentoski, Chelsea (145)

Alex Reich, Dexter (140)

Larry Gotcher, Dexter (103)
Tyler Even, Dexter (125)
Nate Miller, Chelsea (125)

Division 2 at Carleton Airport

Ben Fick, Milan (171)

Alex Scully, Milan (160)

Division 3 at Napoleon

Eric Coval, Manchester (145)

Brendan Abrigo, Manchester (103)
Michael Golding, Manchester (160)
Brian Robert, Manchester (285)

Charlie Steffens, Manchester (112)
Brock Vlcek, Manchester (119)
Nick Dettling, Manchester (125)
Corey Johnson, Manchester (130)
Ben Heuser, Manchester (135)
Trevor Humphrey, Manchester (145)
James Schriber, Manchester (160)
Tye Thompson, Manchester (171)

Pete Cunningham covers sports for She can be reached at Follow him on Twitter @petcunningham.