You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Sun, Dec 11, 2011 : 8:35 p.m.

Linemen Andrew Sorgatz, Brad Ohrman named Eastern Michigan football MVPs

By Staff

A pair of linemen were named the Eastern Michigan football team's Most Valuable Players at its 49th annual banquet held Sunday.


Eastern Michigan offensive MVP Andrew Sorgatz, center, celebrates with Dominque White after his touchdown against Toledo.

Joseph Tobianski I

Junior Andrew Sorgatz was named offensive MVP and senior Brad Ohrman the defensive MVP of an Eagles team that finished 6-6, snapping a 15-year streak of losing seasons.

Coach Ron English, previously named the MAC Coach of the Year, reserved the overall MVP award for the entire team.

Sorgatz (6-5, 280) stared all 12 games at center this season after starting 22 games at left guard over his first two years in Ypsilanti.

He and the Eagles' line opened holes for the nation's 16th-best rushing offense (218.3 yards per game) and allowed just 19 quarterback sacks, which was the fifth fewest in the Mid-American Conference and 45th nationally.

Ohrman (6-4, 275), who made 12 starts in 2011 and played in 48 consecutive games, was a second-team All-MAC selection with 52 tackles, 5.5 sacks, one interception and one fumble recovery from his defensive end position.

The Eagles' ranked 35th nationally and third in the MAC in total defense, giving up 350.3 yards per game. That was an improvement of 103.8 yards per game over last year.

Other Eastern Michigan award winners include:

Scholar-Athlete Award: Austin Karcher
Lineman Scholar-Athlete Awards: Sorgatz, Brandon Slater
Eagle Talons Award: Alex Bellfy
Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Tyreese Russell
Defensive Newcomers of the Year: Justin Cudworth, Marlon Pollard
Leadership Award: Bridger Buche
Special Teams MVPs: Bryan Pali, Mike Zupancic

For details on each award winner, visit