You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Wed, Mar 9, 2011 : 3:57 p.m.

Michigan hockey senior Carl Hagelin, freshman Jon Merrill lone Wolverines named to All-CCHA teams

By Jeff Arnold

The Michigan hockey team captured a CCHA regular-season championship this season despite a lack of star power.

The Wolverines have thrived on a balanced scoring attack while depending on a full cast of contributors - rather than on only a few stars - to play their way to a No. 1 seed in the CCHA tournament.


Carl Hagelin

So perhaps, the fact only senior standout forward Carl Hagelin was named to the All-CCHA first team Wednesday afternoon came as no surprise. Hagelin, who sparked Michigan's offensive attack with 17 goals and 28 assists, was one of two Michigan players to be named to the league's first or second teams. The team is selected by CCHA coaches.

Hagelin, who has remained a candidate for the Hobey Baker Award throughout this final season, was the lone Michigan selection on the first team. He is surrounded at forwards by Miami's three-headed scoring monster, Andy Miele, Carter Camper and Reilly Smith.


Jon Merrill

Michigan's only other selection on the CCHA team was freshman Jon Merrill, who earned second-team honors. Merrill, named to the league's all-rookie team Monday, ranked first among freshmen defenseman in scoring after registering seven goals and 14 assists.

Defenseman Brandon Burlon received an honorable mention while senior forward Louie Caporusso and goalie Shawn Hunwick was listed among those receiving votes.

Hunwick may have been the biggest surprise.

The senior who took over Michigan's starting job when Bryan Hogan was injured during warm-ups for The Big Chill At The Big House, ranked second in the league in both goals against average (1.95) and save percentage (.931).

Ferris State's Pat Nagle was named the CCHA first-team goalie while Alaska's Scott Greenham was the second-team selection. Miami's Cody Reichard was named as an honorable mention selection.

Jeff Arnold covers Michigan hockey for and can be reached at (734) 623-2554 or by e-mail at Follow him on Twitter @jeffreyparnold.



Thu, Mar 10, 2011 : 3:59 p.m.

Hunwick doesn't get nominated? What a travesty that is. If not for him, we certainly wouldn't be celebrating a CCHA title.