You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Mon, Mar 28, 2011 : 2:48 p.m.

John Beilein advised Darius Morris to seek opinion of NBA's Undergraduate Advisory Committee

By Rich Rezler

Is Darius Morris going to leave the Michigan basketball program early for the NBA? It's too soon for that speculation, Michigan coach John Beilein said Monday as he clarified Morris' position.

Beilein confirmed that Morris has submitted his name to the NBA’s Undergraduate Advisory Committee, a step that he advised his sophomore point guard to take.

“Within two days after the season was over, I called Darius into the office and suggested that we go through the Undergraduate Advisory Committee and gather information,” Beilein said. “That’s all that’s happening right now. I talked with (Darius) and his dad, and we all agreed this was the best way to go about it and that’s what we’re doing.”

The committee of NBA player personnel experts will inform draft prospects by April 18 if they are likely to be a lottery pick, a first-round pick, a second-round pick or go undrafted.


Michigan guard Darius Morris (4) will receive an opinion of his likely draft status from the NBA's Undergraduate Advisory Committee by April 18. file photo

At that point, players can officially declare for the draft by April 24 and have until May 8 to withdraw their names if they have not hired an agent.

Beilein seemed to be tempering a statement by Morris’ brother, DeWayne Morris Jr., who told the Detroit Free Press that Darius would enter the draft but not hire an agent.

“Information that gets out there from all different avenues is not always accurate, as we know, and this is where we are at this stage,” Beilein said.

Asked who was guiding Darius Morris from his “inner circle,” Beilein said his father, DeWayne Morris Sr.

As for his own recommendations to Morris, who led the Wolverines in scoring and set a school record with 235 assists this season, Beilein said he would keep them private.

“I will give him thoughts. But I stay pretty open minded,” he said. “There’s nothing we want more than to have Darius Morris have a career in the NBA. There’s nothing we want more. So you work toward that. But that’s the big thing: Have a career in the NBA.

Beilein stressed the word career.

“There’s a lot involved in this, and you have to think about it. It’s a very important decision,” he said. “You only need to have one team out there that really, really likes you.

“But, again, having the career we all know is really important. It’s not about getting drafted. It’s about having success in the NBA if you’re going to leave college.”

Beilein said the steps being taken with Morris are identical to what he advised Manny Harris and Deshawn Sims to do after their sophomore and junior seasons.

"This is really a good issue to have," he said. "If we have these situations every year, where we have young men that have the possibility of being drafted and having a career in the NBA, these are good things to have."

Rich Rezler covers sports for Contact him at 734-623-2553 or


Macabre Sunset

Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 6:24 p.m.

I don't think anyone believes Morris could step in right now and play in the NBA. But the question is whether Morris will have a longer career if he joins an NBA roster now and develops in NBA training programs. Beilein knows that other recruits are watching. He knows that every time a Michigan player seeks an NBA evaluation, potential recruits see Michigan as a place where they can develop into NBA stars. He also knows that if he acts honestly in Morris' interest, his advice will be valued. There is no downside for Beilein in this course of action. If he loses Morris, he gets credit for not standing in his way. The sad part of this is that because the NBA is so willing to take 19-year-olds, there isn't any pretense about the value of the education in this formula. We can assume Morris isn't taking real college courses (or any player with NBA potential). The illusion that college basketball is an amateur sport is quite a tenuous one.


Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 2:19 p.m.

Darius is not even close to being ready for the NBA. He does not have a complete game. Far too many flaws and shortcomings that will not be effectively addressed while riding a bench in the NBA or some other developmental league. Most important thing for Darius is for him to get some viable advice, hopefully from someone with more than half a brain.


Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 1 p.m.

Keepingitreal you must be joking in thinking Darius is ready for the NBA. 1st has no consistant outside shot, 2nd does not finish strong going into the paint or basket. 3rd Still needs help in making the right decission. 4th His defense needs a little more work. I think Darius has a chance to play in the NBA but not next year, he is a good player but does not bring anything exciting to the table for the NBA. And as far as the Fab Five C Web was the only player to leave after 2nd year, Darius is no C Web


Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 3:14 p.m.

I'm with Larry on this one. I see nothing in Darius's play other than great potential. If he goes pro, he will not be developing in the NBA, he will be in Europe or the CBL. When this happens, players looking to go early while they are not dominant, I figure there may be something else going on, like academic ineligibility, in which case you can't blame a player for looking at options. I was shocked to see this headline. He needs to stay in school and develop.


Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 1:25 p.m.

Larry, I'm not joking. Apparently the "experts" are saying that he does have a chance in the NBA NOW! As I said before, the weaknesses he has now can be developed on one year with an NBA team. Plus, Manny is in a development mode right now. I'm concerned that Darius will get hurt and then his draft stock will really plummet and once he is no longer of service to Michigan, like other Black players he will be kicked to the curve.


Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 5:47 a.m.

if Darrius doesn't make it in the NBA or if he should get injured--career ending--the first year what does he do then?sell insurance?be a janitop?work at a quick change oil place?be a Wal-mart man?


Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 7:15 a.m.

Well at that point he could come back to school and get his degree. Juwan Howard did. Many players who leave school early finish their degrees. I think people are failing to see what Darius is doing. He is asking the league that could draft him, how do I stack up, and then they put together an evaluation for him. They may say Darius,. you have passing skills and are great going to the basket, but you need to work on your shooting ability to make a big impact in the NBA. This would be the same as any student in any possible profession. A business student might be told after an evaluation from an internship that they seem to understand marketing, but they need a better grasp of financial statements and accounting.

Laura J

Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 12:15 a.m.

If Darius Morris opts for the draft, he is not as smart as I thought he was.

Macabre Sunset

Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 9:08 p.m.

It's entirely possible we're talking to Dr. J's daughter here, so she might well be fully versed in how the NBA works.


Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 12:07 p.m.

Gosh, Laura, you know all his personal circumstances? How about we hope he does what is best for him and his family.


Mon, Mar 28, 2011 : 10:39 p.m.

I appreciate everything Darius has done for Michigan, especially when you consider he probably could of played at any school in southern Cali, but chose to come to Ann Arbor instead. But I hope he doesn't enter the draft, b/c chances are he won't get any kind of deal he thinks he deserves. He has a great ability to read the court, and make incredibly precise passes, but let's be honest, Manny Harris could play college basketball at the highest level, and even he is struggling in the league right now. He is with the Cavs, so you can't imagine he's getting any help, or respect, but if a guy who can shoot as well, and drive to the hoop as well as Manny isn't getting any kind of attention, I can't even imagine Darius making the starting line-up for a D-league team. Hopefully, unless Beilein has plans to lessen Darius' minutes, Darius stays and adds to his resume with a better BTT and NCAA tourney performances. Either way, Go Blue!


Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 3:09 p.m.

Right. I see Manny Harris is averaging 17 mins/game and PPG is 6.4. Not all that impressive. I felt he should have stayed another year. He could have owned the Big Ten.


Mon, Mar 28, 2011 : 7:30 p.m.

He's not ready and will get spit out. Another year of seasoning at the college will serve him well. He does not have an NBA shot and should his whole summer working on that. He'll go higher in the draft next year.


Mon, Mar 28, 2011 : 7:29 p.m.

While already a great player, Morris needs at least another year at the college level. He's too undisciplined on the court, especially in pressure situations. He has all the tools, but he needs to improve his decision-making, particularly when he's driving the lane. Too many wild, forced shots off of uncontrolled drives this season. If he can address that issue over one, maybe two additional years at Michigan, I think he stands a good chance for a prosperous NBA career. As he is now, I don't see him getting picked in the first two rounds. Michigan should make some noise in the Big Ten next year, and that will help to raise his profile nationally. Combine that with another year of seasoning, and he may be ready to make a splash on Draft Day in 2012.


Mon, Mar 28, 2011 : 7:25 p.m.

I hope Darius, his father and brother seriously consider his NBA option. John Beilein and his family is set for life. Darius need to lookout for himself and his family's best interest. The skills everyone feels he needs to develop can be developed the first season in the NBA. I'm more concerned about possible injuries that may occur and shyster, greedy agents than his ability to acclimate to the NBA. To Darius I say, you have more than fulfilled your obligation Michigan. Just look at how the Fav Five has been treated by these same fans. If you decide to return, more power to you.

Macabre Sunset

Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 6:33 p.m.

I agree that Morris has no obligation to Michigan - he has worn the uniform with pride, and we get a fairly good deal for elite basketball athletes, given that there is only the illusion that elite athletes are here for an education. I object to the characterization of our reaction to the Fab Five. I was here when they played. The response from most people was amazing. Of course there were the handful who sent nasty letters. They are shameful people, but they are a tiny minority. At the time, they were thoroughly drowned out by supporters. I know the players are unhappy that the banners were removed and record books adjusted. Players who didn't take money were penalized quite severely. But that's what Michigan had to do as a member of the NCAA. There was no way around that. Fisher was simply naive, and too willing not to look that Detroit connection gift horse in the mouth.


Tue, Mar 29, 2011 : 4:05 p.m.

Spoken like a true Sparty, scared of another sweep next year!!