You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Mon, Mar 8, 2010 : 7:54 p.m.

Ohio State's Evan Turner is Big Ten Player of Year; DeShawn Sims is second team All-Big Ten

By Michael Rothstein


Ohio State junior Evan Turner was named the Big Ten Player of the Year on Monday.

DeShawn Sims is part of the all-Big Ten second team for the second consecutive season.

Sims, a senior forward at Michigan, emerged as the Wolverines’ best player this season, averaging 17.8 points and 7.9 rebounds in Big Ten games this year.

While Sims picked up all-league honors, Ohio State junior Evan Turner was named the Big Ten’s Player of the Year by both the coaches and media. The media picked Turner as a unanimous selection.

“Sometimes people say ‘Well, he’s not a great outside shooter,’” Wisconsin coach Bo Ryan said earlier this year. “Well, you know, stop him from getting to the basket then and stop him from making all these great passes and keeping him off the glass so he doesn’t get putbacks and then maybe he’ll have to shoot more from three-point range. “He’s expanded his game defensively, too, because he’s tough to make passes around. He anticipates well. He’s a winner.”

Turner was joined on the first team by Illinois junior guard Demetri McCamey, Michigan State junior guard Kalin Lucas, Purdue junior guard E’Twaun Moore and Purdue junior forward Robbie Hummel.

Sims was on the second team with Northwestern sophomore forward John Shurna, Penn State junior guard Talor Battle, Purdue junior center JaJuan Johnson and Wisconsin senior guard Trevon Hughes.

Michigan junior guard Manny Harris was on the third team.

Defensive player of the year Chris Kramer led the Big Ten’s all-defensive team of Northwestern’s Jeremy Nash, Ohio State’s Dallas Lauderdale, Johnson, Hughes and Kramer.

Michigan State’s Draymond Green, also named to the all-Big Ten third team, is the Sixth Man of the Year.

The Big Ten split two awards.

Purdue’s Matt Painter was named Coach of the Year by the league’s coaches and Ohio State’s Thad Matta was the media’s pick for Coach of the Year.

The media picked Northwestern guard Drew Crawford as its Rookie of the Year and the coaches tabbed Illinois’ D.J. Richardson.

Richardson, Crawford, Purdue guard Kelsey Barlow, Iowa guard Eric May and Indiana forward Christian Watford were the All-Freshman team.

Download the complete list of awards: 2010_All-Big_Ten.pdf

Michael Rothstein covers University of Michigan basketball for He can be reached at (734) 623-2558, by e-mail at or follow along on Twitter @mikerothstein



Tue, Mar 9, 2010 : 11:35 a.m.

DeShawn Sims would be Big Ten Player of the Year if Beilien didn't have him playing out of position. And Manny Haris would be runner-up. No way is Turner the best in the country. You must not have seen Kentucky's John Wall play yet. We'll see who goes higher in the NBA Draft - Turner or Wall.


Tue, Mar 9, 2010 : 7:27 a.m.

Turner hands down the best in Big Ten as well as country. What coach didn't vote for him? Congrats to Sims