You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Mon, Dec 5, 2011 : 3:38 p.m.

Michigan center David Molk a finalist for 2011 Rimington Trophy

By Nick Baumgardner

Michigan football senior center David Molk could be taking home some national hardware soon.

Molk, a 6-foot-2, 286-pounder from Lemont, Ill., was named one of six finalists for the 2011 Rimington Trophy on Monday.

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the country's most outstanding offensive center. Michigan's David Baas won the award in 2004.


David Molk

Voted as a captain at Michigan for the 2011 season, Molk is a three-year starter for the Wolverines and was recently named the Big Ten's Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Entering the Jan. 3 Sugar Bowl game against Virginia Tech, Molk has made 25 consecutive starts for Michigan. He has 41 career starts.

Molk is joined on the Rimington list by Clemson's Dalton Freeman, Oklahoma State's Grant Garner, Georgia's Ben Jones, Alabama's William Vlachos and Wisconsin's Peter Konz.

According to an official release, the winner of the award is chosen by determining the consensus All-American center selection from four different All-America teams. The four teams used are those voted on by the American Football Coaches Association, the Walter Camp Foundation, the Sporting News and the Football Writers Association of America.

The winner of the trophy will be announced Thursday, just prior to the 2011 ESPNU/Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Nick Baumgardner covers Michigan sports for He can be reached at 734-623-2514, by email at and followed on Twitter @nickbaumgardner.



Mon, Dec 5, 2011 : 11:53 p.m.

Glad to see David Molk is getting some much-deserved recognition for all of his work, devotion and performance. Congrats, Number 50!


Mon, Dec 5, 2011 : 9:01 p.m.

He's got my vote the next two years!! RIMington + Heisman + outland = Tri-fecta for Molk!!!


Tue, Dec 6, 2011 : 3:19 a.m.

What? next 2 years? He's a senior.


Mon, Dec 5, 2011 : 8:55 p.m.

Don't get me wrong, i always loved the RIMington trophy! But I'm thinking.......HEISMAN!!!! This year and NEXT!! MEEEEANchigan trophies will be won by Molk! While the wolverines crush those VT Hokie folk!!