You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Sun, Feb 26, 2012 : 1:33 p.m.

Video: Michigan swim team celebrates Big Ten title with aquatic version of The Victors

By Staff

The No. 4-ranked Michigan swimming and diving team won its 36th Big Ten title this weekend and celebrated by taking a traditional team plunge -- with the championship trophy. captured the celebration:

The Wolverines finished 1-2-3 in the 1,650-yard freestyle (Connor Jaeger, Sean Ryan, Ryan Feeley) and the 200-yard butterfly (Dan Madwed, Kyle Whitaker and John Wojciechowski).

Madwed was named Swimmer of the Championships after finishing the four-day event in Iowa City with four Big Ten titles. He also won the 100-yard butterfly and was part of Michigan’s winning 800 freestyle relay and 400 individual medley relay teams. (See full results here.)

Michigan coach Mike Bottom was named the conference Coach of the Year.