You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 5:58 a.m.

New Buffalo Wild Wings planned for former Damon's site to add outdoor seating

By Ben Freed

The Buffalo Wild Wings planning to open in the former Damon’s Grill location near Briarwood Mall will have new outdoor patio seating, according to plans submitted to the city.

JK&T Wings, the franchisee that will operate the location, purchased the property in June and announced plans to open for business sometime in late fall 2013.


The former Damon's Grill will re-open as a Buffalo Wild Wings once renovations and a new outdoor seating area are complete. file photo

“We’ve had our downtown Ann Arbor location for a long time, and we think that there’s the market to have a two in the city,” JK&T spokeswoman Mallory McLellan told in July.

“The one we have now is on campus so there’s not a lot of parking and it can be tough for families to go to. The new location gives us the opportunity to get more involved in the Ann Arbor community and appeal to the masses.”

According to plans submitted to the city, the new restaurant will have outdoor seating in the front and along the site of the restaurant. The plans will also increase bio-retention on the property, bring the building’s landscaping up to current code and reconfigure the parking lot as part of the renovation.

McClellan said that once the new restaurant opens it will employ approximately 100 people including servers, cooks and the restaurant management team.

The Damon’s Grill that had been operating at 3150 Boardwalk Dr. closed February 24 after the business was “not able to sustain itself” according to franchise spokesman Jason No.

The property was purchased by JK&T for $1.9 million, according to city records. California-based investor Ronald Campos bought the building in 2006 for nearly $3.5 million.

Cincinnati-based Intertech Design Services, Inc. is the architect for the project and Southfield firm Atwell, LLC, is doing the engineering work.

The designs will need to be approved by the Ann Arbor Planning Commission and City Council before the project can move forward. JK & T chief operating officer Brian Carmody said the company is waiting for permuting approval before setting a construction timeline and potential opening date.

Ben Freed covers business for You can sign up here to receive Business Review updates every week. Get in touch with Ben at 734-623-2528 or email him at Follow him on twitter @BFreedinA2


Frustrated in A2

Thu, Sep 5, 2013 : 4 a.m.

I love some good chicken wings. I like B-Dubs and will go there since there aren't many options in A2-Ypsi. But since we're talking wings some of the best I have had were from Quaker Steak & Lube and a place called Roosters (google them) they both have outstanding wings and Quaker does an all you can eat wing day. All you can eat good wings equals happiness for me. Good luck to you guys on your new B-Dubs!!!


Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 4:08 p.m.

While this food is good for those who like wings and beer and their sports, I for one prefer a good old fashion chinese restaurant that is much needed in that area.


Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 11:05 p.m.

That is not old fashioned. That is a glorified chinese restaurant that is not a part of the top 100 chinese restaurants in the US. I went to one in Canton? They say San Francisco does give out awards. So I guess a Canton we will go.

Ben Freed

Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 5:25 p.m.

Well, it may not be old old fashioned, but PF Changs will be moving into the area soon!

Rob MI

Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 2:57 p.m.

I don't see this outdoor seating area lasting very long. The new location in Ypsi (on James L. Hart) had a similar area. After three or four years, it was enclosed and turned into a group/overflow area.

Ben Freed

Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 5:26 p.m.

We'll see. I think it would have done well if Damon's had tried it. The location attracted a lot of families and I know at least one person in our newsroom specifically choses dinner spots based on availability of outdoor seating.


Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 1:07 p.m.

Love the TVs, hate the wings. The burgers are standard bar burgers and actually OK. Not good, not bad, but OK. That said, having one more place to see the out of town games is good. In all seriousness, the best tasting wings on this planet come from Hooters.


Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 1:59 p.m.

B-Dubs wings are probably the smallest things you can find commercially available, and dry and desiccated to all heck. The dry seasoning is tasty, but they usually put WAY too much on, even when you explicitly tell them not to. Anything to sell more drinks. A Hooters would be welcome, despite the cheesy forced flirtation.


Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 12:19 p.m.

I miss Damons...don't care what the haters say. However....I AM TOTALLY DOWN FOR SOME B DUBS!!!! That sounds like an excellent choice to put there.


Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 11:36 a.m.

I am not impressed. I have been to Buffalo Wild Wings twice and did not enjoy it. Bring back Wingstop, which once had a store at Glencoe Crossing back in 2005. Much better food, especially the freshly cut french fries.


Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 12:23 p.m.

While I will very much give it to you that Wingstop was better food, B dubs is ALSO quite good, especially since they added the dry rubs so you can get wings more like how wingstop had them. And yes...their fries were amazing, but that was because they soaked them in sugar water. Consequently, I knew that wingstop was closing from the first time I walked in there. The way it was run was complete and utter AMATURE hour. If they had more than 2 customers come in, it turned into a madhouse... I see the guy was trying to start up and run a business...but when you have your children working for you...and they don't have any experience...AND THEY DON'T LISTEN TO YOU...well.....there you go.

Jon Saalberg

Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 11:08 a.m.

Saltiest food I have ever eaten at a chain. Wateriest drinks I have ever drunk. And that is saying a lot, having eaten food at Appleby's, Red Robin, and other mavens of the salt crystals. Jobs, yes. But at what cost to our innards?


Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 12:07 p.m.

I recently tried for the first time the saintly Elevation Burger. They had the saltiest french fries I have ever eaten and I put salt on everything. They also totally messed up my take out order, but that's another story. Has it ever occurred to you to ask for no salt? I suspect most restaurants would try to accommodate as best they can.

Laura J

Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 11:21 a.m.

Don't like it, DON'T GO!


Wed, Sep 4, 2013 : 10:44 a.m.

Before the complaints flow, It's not "local or unique" but it will upgrade and fill an empty building with jobs and customers. Good luck!