You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Mon, Mar 29, 2010 : 10:10 a.m.

Ann Arbor Film Festival names award winners

By Staff

The 48th Ann Arbor Film Festival announced its 2010 award recipients on Sunday evening. The festival's awards were selected by jurors Irina Leimbacher, Ben Russell and Tomonari Nishikawa.


Ken Burns Award for Best of the Festival - $3,000 (co-winners) "Beauty Plus Pity" - Emily Vey Duke & Cooper Battersby "Trees of Syntax, Leaves of Axis" - Daichi Saito

Lawrence Kasdan Award for Best Narrative Film - $1,000 "Seven Songs About Thunder" - Jennifer Reeder "Some Days Are Better Than Others" - Matthew McCormick

Chris Frayne Award for Best Animated Film - $1,000 "Please Say Something" - David Bailey

The Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for Emerging Experimental Video Artist - $1,000 Jesse McLean ("Somewhere Only We Know")

Prix DeVarti for Funniest Film - $1,000 "El ataque de los robotos de Nebulosa-5" - Chema Garcia Ibarra "Passage Briare" - Friedl vom Groller (Kubelka)

Peter Wilde Award for Most Technically Innovative Film - $500 "Travelling Fields" - Inger Lise Hansen

\aut\FILM Award for Best LGBT Film - $500 "City of Borders" - Yun Suh

Award for Best Sound Design - $500 "Wayfare" - Sylvia Schedelbauer

Award for Best Experimental Film WIT’S END - $1,000 "The Presentation Theme" - Jim Trainor

Michael Moore Award for Best Documentary Film - $1,000 "Bernadette" - Duncan Campbell

Kodak/Filmcraft Imaging Award for Best Cinematography - $3,000 ($1,500 film plus $1,500 processing) "Songs from the Shed" - Melika Bass "I Know Where I’m Going" - Ben Rivers

Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker - $1,000 Laida Lertxundi ("My Tears Are Dry")

Best International Film - $750 "Lost World" - Gyula Nemes

Best Michigan Filmmaker - $500 "Sleeping Bear" - Jack Cronin

Food Gatherers Feeding the Soul Award - $500 "Portrait #3: House of Sound" - Vanessa Renwick

The Eileen Maitland Award - $500 "Twist of Fate" - Karen Aqua

The No Violence Award - $500 "Golden Hour" - Robert Todd

Jury Awards - $1,200 The City is Cinema Award: "Vineland" - Laura Kraning The Doubling of Space Award: "Simultaneous Contrast" - Chris Kennedy The False Fiction Award: "Atlantropa" - Samuel Stevens The Lost and Found Award: "From the Archives of an Inventor" - Stephen Wetzel The Map of Time Award: "Piensa en Mi" - Alexandra Cuesta The Memory and Magic Award: "A Letter to Uncle Boonmee" - Apichatpong Weerasethakul