You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Wed, Nov 7, 2012 : 1:29 p.m.

Voters decide on Washtenaw County school boards

By Julie Baker

A mix of newcomers and incumbents were selected for Washtenaw County's school boards in Tuesday's election.

Follow the results

Keep an eye on the voter tallies as they come in

In Chelsea, top vote-getters were newcomer Laura Bush, who received 3,975 votes, or 31.22 percent, and incumbent Steve Olsen, who got 3,449 votes, 27.09 percent. Dana Emmert received 2,828 votes and Kathy Keinath got 2,424, according to unofficial election results.

In Dexter, the Dexter Leader reported that newcomer Barbara Read defeated incumbent Chris Gordon for a partial-term seat. Read received 3,896 votes, or 52.63 percent, and Gordon received 3,463 votes, or 46.78 percent. That term ends Dec. 31, 2014.

Dexter school board incumbents Larry Cobler and Bonnie Everdeen were uncontested for their six-year full-term seats.

Saline voters rejected candidate slates by electing Diane Friese and Karen Delhey, according to the Saline Reporter. Friese ran with Smita Nagpal, while Delhey paired with Paul Hynek. Friese received 5,689 votes, or 28.41 percent, while Delhey tallied 5,706, or 28.50 percent, according to unofficial election results.

Washtenaw County winners in other school board elections include:

  • Lincoln: Connie Marie Newlon and Thomas Rollins. *pending results from Wayne County precincts
  • Manchester: Marlene Wagner and Sheryl Purol.
  • Northville: Cyndy Jankowski, Roland Hwang and Matthew Wilk.
  • Van Buren: Kelly Owen and Kathleen Kovach.



Wed, Nov 7, 2012 : 7:12 p.m.

Did you count the Wayne County votes in to the Lincoln results. I believe you're mistaken with you you're declaring as the winners.

Julie Baker

Wed, Nov 7, 2012 : 7:21 p.m.

We've clarified that the Lincoln results are pending Wayne County returns.