You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Tue, Jan 3, 2012 : 2:20 p.m.

U-M's Ora Pescovitz: U.S. can't wait for politicians to fix health care system

By Nathan Bomey

Hospitals and health systems are bracing to see whether U.S. Supreme Court upholds federal health care reform later this year.

But Ora Pescovitz, CEO of the University of Michigan Health System, which has more than 20,000 employees, said today that the U.S. can't wait for politicians to fix the health care system.


University of Michigan Health System CEO Ora Pescovitz

Angela J. Cesere |

"Only we can improve health care processes — because we create, manage and use them; we know what works and what doesn’t," Pescovitz wrote in a blog entry, referencing the medical community.

"Only we can improve the quality and safety of care — because we are the people defining and delivering that care. More than anyone else, we see where there is unnecessary duplication, vulnerability for medical errors and barriers that reduce efficiency and effectiveness of care."

She added: "Only we can move the nation toward a patient-centric health care system — because unlike politicians, policy makers and others, we interact with patients and their families each and every day; nobody is better positioned to witness, understand and act on their experiences and suggestions. All of this, done in parallel, will reduce costs, improve care and promote health equity."

Pescovitz's comments come as the health care industry is anxiously awaiting a Supreme Court hearing on March 26 and a ruling a few months later on the constitutionality of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.

Among the provisions to be debated are the legislation's requirement that individuals obtain health care insurance by 2014, when the law will be fully implemented.

Pescovitz, describing her new website, Medicine That Speaks, as a venue to explore ways to improve health care delivery and lower costs, said reform "isn’t about politics." She credited former Medicare director Donald Berwick as a leading voice on the issue.

"It’s about patients. It’s about medicine and science. It’s about you, me, your colleagues, your neighbors and your families. And, ultimately, it’s the reason we are here," she said. "Let’s commit this year more than ever to show the nation why Michigan is leaders and best in health care, to create the future of health care through discovery and to leave a maize and blue mark on the history of health care innovation and improvement. And let’s do it because we know that it is the right thing to do."

In Washtenaw County, the effect of federal health care reform — which President Barack Obama signed into law in March 2010 — is already being felt.

St. Joseph Mercy Health System, for example, acquired physician network Integrated Healthcare Associates (IHA) and cardiology network Michigan Heart in a bid to better coordinate care in preparation for new funding standards.

U-M, SJMHS, Washtenaw County and other entities are also collaborating to study ways to lower health care costs and prepare for a huge influx of newly insured patients expected in 2014.

Statewide, legislation to authorize the creation of a new health care exchange to help Michigan prepare for federal health care reform's implementation is stalled. Gov. Rick Snyder, a Republican, wants the state Legislature to approve a bill to set up the exchange — but House Republicans want to wait to see the outcome of the Supreme Court case.

Contact's Nathan Bomey at (734) 623-2587 or You can also follow him on Twitter or subscribe to's newsletters.



Thu, Jan 5, 2012 : 3:39 p.m.

What is Man? : The motivation for asking this question comes from a statement expressed in Sanskrit language: &quot;SARVESHAM SWASTIR BHAVATU&quot;, which seeks the well-being of all human beings of all races, of all nations, of all cultures, and of all religions. Science must provide correct understanding of the 'real', or 'true' nature of man and such understanding would affect our efforts to promote the well-being of man. I understand man as a multicellular organism who exists as a physical, mental, social, moral, and spiritual being. Most recently, our community has lost the precious life of a person who had served all of us in various capacities while working for the local Police departments. This loss is a reflection of our ineffectual health care policies, and the lack of vision of people providing health care services to the community. We need to address all the five aspects of human being to support his existence. Our hospitals and health care systems are just involved in the aspects that concern the physical well-being and are not knowing that a physically healthy person could end his existence unless we support his spiritual well-being. The word spiritual does not mean that all of us must attend church or temple and start praying to God. I use the word 'spiritual' to describe relationships based upon feelings, and thoughts of Compassion and Understanding. The 'Understanding' I have about human nature is that we all need to experience the power of Compassion in our individual, personal lives. Compassion is a universal need to support human existence. Hospitals, and health care systems are driven by personal greed, and are only motivated by a desire to earn profits for their providers. We speak and discuss about the problems of health care without addressing the problem of the lack of Compassion which alone could uplift the mood of man and preserve his well-being. <a href="" rel='nofollow'></a>


Thu, Jan 5, 2012 : 3:16 p.m.

Healthcare ..they very Words are is Sickcare that you/me get from our doctors and hospitals! And taken politic out of healthcare cost. HMMMM Wher Did or does the Money come from ..US TAXPAYERS .........with the hand from congress. If it was Healthcare we all would look great and our bodies would be in great shape ...not full of medicine. pills. walkers, wheelchairs, alzheimers., mental illnesses .... replace by other people bodyparts.....and most of all the Cost would bee afforably..have a healths day


Thu, Jan 5, 2012 : 9:16 a.m.

Sounds like we all agree. Dr. Ora Pescovitz comments are pure rubbish. She and her $700,000 a year salary epitomize the problem. But the Docs at U of M medical will love her for saying &quot;they and only they&quot; can improve the &quot;process&quot;. The days of &quot;Doc Adams&quot; are long gone. There is no class of people more arrogant and with a greater sense of entitlement than doctors. Sadly most are narrowly educated philistines, more concerned with profit than science, or their patients. For the few good Docs left, bless you!


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 11:56 p.m.

The human face of the health care crisis: The photo that appears in this story provides a human face to understand the problem of health care crisis facing this country and the people. I am sure that there are other faces, but, they are not included in this news report. I do not blame the politicians and I can understand their efforts to provide health care and control the rising costs. In the past, the politicians have indeed provided excellent plans like Medicare and Medicaid to better serve the needs of people. The health care providers, the insurance industry, and the pharmaceutical companies have unilaterally, and jointly abuse the system for selfish gains at the expense of the patients and tax payers. The only problem that we have is that our utter inability to control their greed. The University of Michigan Health system and other players in this game are the real problem and they are not expected to provide solutions unless they have the courage and integrity to stand before a mirror and look up their own faces. My company spent over $10,000 during 2011 just to pay the cost of my medical insurance and it does not include the costs of benefits like dental and vision care and flexible spending account to pay for authorized medical and health care expenses. Most of this money has simply gone down the drain to pay the increasing wages of administrarors who run insurance and hospitals. It is silly to talk about patient-centered health care where the patient is used like a bait to catch the big fish.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 3:45 p.m.

I would just like to see; what one year of a "health care savings plan" run by the private sector could do. No government bailouts for insurance companies or hospitals, and no Medicare for seniors to fall back on. I am curious to see, what would happen if all healthcare providers and EMTs had the right to reject patients that had no insurance card or money on their person. This would save the tax payer trillions of dollars and greatly reduce the numbers of pesky individuals squawking about not wanting to pay for a single payer system. The only unsightly element would be the roadways strewn with the carcasses of people, added with Michigan's current road kill problem. Just imagine how much personal income we could save, Instead of lives!

Craig Lounsbury

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 2:01 p.m.

&quot;we see where there is unnecessary duplication, vulnerability for medical errors and barriers that reduce efficiency and effectiveness of care.&quot; huh? So if we eliminate &quot; vulnerability for medical errors &quot; then we won't have &quot; unnecessary duplication&quot; (CMA syndrome?) and then if we knock down those undefined &quot;barriers&quot; &quot;efficiency and effectiveness of care.&quot; will be just fine? you get paid how much?

Francis Clare

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 11:34 a.m.

If it was about patients 's care the UM would have stood for the Single Payers or medicare for all.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 6:17 p.m.

Right on. but The fearless leader pictured above wouldn't be making $700,000 a year if she had such humanitarian thoughts. she's just another pig at the trough; thinking shes worth and needs every cent of her $14,000 a week salary.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 7:53 a.m.

I just read online about Man robs bank to get medical care in jail and presented the view that if the United States had a health-care system which offered people more government support, he wouldn't have had to make the choice he did but wish somebody told him about &quot;Penny Medical&quot; hey i am just trying to find a solution


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 5:54 a.m.

I agree with her on one aspect that the government has no business trying to &quot;fix&quot; the problem. The President's exhortations that there was a need to &quot;reform&quot; health care was preposterous. I never will concede that congress has more knowledge of the issues than the profession does. The problem is the expense and the fact is health care is expensive. You can't make it inexpensive any more than you can make a Bentley or Lamborghini inexpensive. To cover everyone is going to require a huge tax increase. But that is only part of a very large complex problem.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 7:55 a.m.

The profession have the knowledge? To police itself? Please. 90 &amp;%of people who enter medical school do it for the prospect of big bucks social prestige and the hope of a hot wife ? You think a cardiologist will every risk the $40 grand he makes per bypass- sometimes two a day -so america could turn a heart bypass into science and have technicians do the work (like they do in India ) ? One can fly to India and get a bypass and room and board for $10 grand. in the US $100k +. But they are stupid savages and we are superior. Right Dr. Sherlock? Half of all prescriptions written, treatments and procedures performed are not necessary. Why? because of fear of lawsuit? Somewhat but mostly that's a convenient excuse. The overriding cause is doctors make more money off everything including the lunches, kick backs and attention from sexy pharma reps. Of course they have more clients because they'll give them the latest drug they saw advertised on TV . No one forces doctors to write scripts for the latest fad drugs, perform operations and treatments that aren't necessary. They do it so they can have more money than dirt. There are a few ethical doctors, but there wife's are likely pissed because they want to upgrade from the current 10,000 square foot McMansion to the real thing. Oh and &quot;I want an open account at Tiffany;s just like Mrs. Gingrich&quot;. The heart of the problem is greed. the CEO's, ambulance chasers, politicians on the take, big Pharma and all their friends in the FDA who do their bidding and then get lucrative jobs as 'compensation&quot; But none of it could happen if most Physicians didn't violate their medical oath on a daily basis. Keep lying to yourself doc.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 5:35 a.m.

You bet these providers and administrators are going to do all they can to guarantee they continue to get paid a ridiculous amount of money. Like Mr. Tsyas, I pity the fool!

Hot Sam

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 4:23 a.m.

Once again, the government is not the solution, it's the problem...


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 6:10 p.m.

It's not the fault of social security that the politicians looted the money for decades to use on other government spending. that's like saying if I saved all my money and someone steals all the money out of my savings- my plan to save money for retirement was wrong. great idea republicans- put it in the stock market so all your friends can loot that too. Whats the next scam after the subprime lending crime of the century?

Hot Sam

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 2:53 p.m.

Why stop at 1%? Just give them all your money and they will take care of your every need...


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 2:18 p.m.

If they raise that 1% tax, it's not going to go bust. Who's trying to zoom who here?

Hot Sam

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 1:58 p.m.

BTW...take a look at social security...a good idea where the government has squandered the money and put the program in serious peril...

Hot Sam

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 1:55 p.m.

A predictable response regarding some of the hundreds of things the federal government may do right...unfortunately they are trying to do thousands of things...


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 7:19 a.m.

Yes I know. If we just get rid of social security, and medicare it will free up money and innovation and everything will be fine. It's not bad government we need to get rid of- it's all government. Except don't ever touch all the government largess i'm getting. That doesn't count.

Jeremy Engdahl-Johnson

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 3:44 a.m.

Medical errors research in latest Health Affairs. Society of Actuaries study indicates more than 2 million patient injuries each year. <a href="" rel='nofollow'></a>


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 7:14 a.m.

Our current system is insane and fatal to maybe 100,000 persons a year. All that and we only pay twice as much as any country on the planet. There should be a special place in hell for all the corporations, physicians, and lawyers who have turned medicine into a get obscenely rich racket.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 3:06 a.m.

Every person working for the U of M health care system I know is a right wing, social Darwinian, survival of the fittest, fascist light, philistine, sort of guy and gal. I hope I'm not misunderstood; hope I'm making my feelings clear. Sic semper tyrannis Rufus


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 7:10 a.m.

Every Michigan health care worker I know is a far right wing republican who makes a very good livings and bitches incessantly about the taxes they have to pay. I thought it was just me but then I heard a NP not working for the University tell me that U of m health care system is full of physicians, NPs, PA's (who live extremely well off the current system) but are anti government zealots.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 5:38 a.m.

Hippocratic oath and altruism were redefined once providers could send the bill to the taxpayers and not the patient in the community they live and work in.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 5:19 a.m.

That's definitely NOT true. In fact, it's closer to being the opposite. Providers provide heatlh care. Top executives at health insurance companies, HMO's, etc. get large salaries and bonuses and don't provide health care.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 2:25 a.m.

Well. We're all waiting...and waiting. I'm not holding my breath. Patient care in this county has been abyssmal for the 30 years that we've lived here. Disrespectful and surly residents, arrogant attendings who do not listen, and possess NO inter-personal skills. Hours and HOURS of waiting in the emergency rooms. I must say that the ONLY thing the health care system in this county has going for it is the nurses. Put them on a panel and let let them sort out this mess created by so-called medically professionals.


Thu, Jan 5, 2012 : 1:03 a.m.

Thanks for listening Julie. As long as there are people still out there who have compassion, life is OK.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 6:32 p.m.

Oh my God. That is a horrific example of the callous disregard for human suffering that our current medical system allows to continue.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 8:08 a.m.

You are so right, and leave the doctors off the panel. Last July I was down in Las Cruces NM trying to start up a business. There is this guy two rooms down from me who is out of work for 6 months and an untreated diabetic. he's got lots of health issues but his worst is a hernia that is causing him horrific pain. Unable to get anyone to treat him, one day he takes a cleaver and chops off his hand. His daughter arrives just in time to see him bleed to death.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 1:56 a.m.

Last year there was a presentation at the Regents meeting that told the Regents how much more money they will make under the new healthcare legislation. I am a physician and every time the federal healthcare system has been reformed to save money, I have made more money. It doesn't work because the healthcare lobby, including Ms. Pescovitz, will not let it work. She is not about to let the legislature pass something that will actually make &quot;providers&quot; make less money.

Left is Right

Fri, Jan 6, 2012 : 1:14 a.m.

Of course it's difficult to make a living as a GP or in family practice. One must specialize to take better advantage of what the healthcare/industrial complex has to offer.

Ron Granger

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 3:25 p.m.

Can you be much more specific? My doctor friends say exactly the opposite. And, specifically, that it is very difficult to make a living as a general practicioner. Especially as a solo practicioner, or small group.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 8:14 a.m.

An honest man. A doctor who doesn't think he is entitled to more, more, more. You are my hero. The government isn't the solution because it's bought and paid for. The best solution is to take care of yourself and try and have enough cash on hand to leave the country if you or an uninsured love one gets sick.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 4:54 a.m.

Well, bully for you. Now you can buy that vacation home in Costa Rica you'be been eying

Ron Granger

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 1:14 a.m.

Health insurance should not be part of our &quot;job&quot; in any way. The extreme cost of health insurance in this country is a barrier to self-employment, small business and entrepreneurship. The insurance companies have an interest in increasing prices as much as possible. Their business is &quot;cost-plus&quot; - higher costs mean higher profits.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 6:03 p.m.

When Obama scrapped the public option under pressure from big business republicans he killed the heart of the bill. Maybe there are some good provisions but without the public option, the bill is adding water to an already sinking ship.

Ron Granger

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 3:23 p.m.

Obama's healthcare plan is a great improvement that does not go far enough. One key provision is the requirement that insurance companies spend 80-85% of premiums on actual benefits. That is an effort to cap profits, and thwart the denial of treatment just to boost profits. We need a single payer system in this country. It is absurd that we work all our lives and yet are one serious illness away from ruin.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 8:17 a.m.

Yup and they run the country. Obama's health care reform was piling more garbage on top of the heap. Like Bush's $8 billion year drug plan it was written by big business.

Chase Ingersoll

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 1:07 a.m.

She's right. The local providers and your neighbors who are employed by them are much better informed and motivated to provide health care to their communities, than are bureaucrats a thousand miles away.

Chase Ingersoll

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 3:57 p.m.

Proof - Kathleen Sebelius, from Kansas to Washington DC. What's her connection to Michigan or Ann Arbor - a dictating bureaucrat, that's all. She has no skin in the game with anyone here in Michigan or Ann Arbor.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 2:17 p.m.

What you say is an opinion. Proving that would be interesting and eyeopening.


Tue, Jan 3, 2012 : 9:34 p.m.

Easiest thing to do would be to promote high deductible insurance policies paired with Health Savings Accounts. With patients directing the spending of their own money from HSAs it wipes out a tremendous amount of insurance company paperwork and puts the responsibility and authority to manage costs back on the individual. If something expensive happens then insurance steps in. You can do this today but Obamacare lowered the maximum deductible allowed, greatly raising the minimum cost. I'm reasonably certain that the Democrats would kill HSAs if given the chance. I can think of a few other things to do with federal agricultural, nutrition and FDA policy but that's a whole 'nother story. It's as if the plan is to make people sick and dependent on our corporatist health care system. If people were generally healthy so many wouldn't demand for government to rob their neighbors to pay for their health care &quot;right&quot; that doesn't exist in the Constitution, not that anyone pays attention to that anymore except for crazy people like Ron Paul.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 6:01 a.m.

That will not work for most people Techno. Only for the very wealthy. High deductible insurance already exists and is a big burden to policy holders. If you pare that with HSAs, a person making a low salary is not going to be able to save enough to cover the large cost of a major surgery or illness anyway. One major illness by any member of a family can exhaust an HSA.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 4:49 a.m.

Health care is a basic human need. Doing everything one can do to stay healthy is a personal responsibility. Right now, what kind of health care you receive, or do not receive is determined by big corporate insurance companies, who profit by denying you care. Big insurance decides what medicines they will cover, and where and when you can be treated. Big Pharmacy determines the price of your medications. I am not comfortable with this. My niece was denied a lung transplant because her insurance company said she was &quot;too young&quot; to have such advanced cancer. She died last year at the age of 28.


Tue, Jan 3, 2012 : 10:18 p.m.

Just like Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, unemployment, transportation systems, airports, railroads, electricity systems, food inspection systems, clean water, sewer inspection systems, bridges, life saving vaccines and communicable disease prevention, and a million other things aren't in the Constitution either .... but that's why we have a duly-elected Congress to pass laws that benefit the US populace that are ruled Constitutional.


Tue, Jan 3, 2012 : 9:40 p.m.

...nojunk...... You nailed it. One little problem....... Liberals don't believe in personal responsibility......a key ingredient to successfully implementing HSA's more broadly. When more than 50% of the population is serviced by the &quot;Nanny State&quot;......they will own the electorate.

David Briegel

Tue, Jan 3, 2012 : 8:20 p.m.

OK, what's stopping you? And what is the answer to the uninsured? Wouldn't health care for all be the way to go? How can you look in the eye of a child and tell them that they aren't worthy of the same high quality care as the rest of insured society? Or any human being for that matter? And how can anyone expect anything civilized to come from our not so Supreme right wing band of corporate owned inJustices on this court?


Thu, Jan 5, 2012 : 1:10 a.m.

The children are treated at an enormous inflated cost to the taxpayers so all overpaid doctors, administrators, drug and insurance ceo's can live like caligula. Of course there are maybe 1,000,000 uninsured adults in the State of Michigan who if they get sick are in deep doo doo.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 1:52 p.m.

Short answer: No. The entire concept of insurance is based on the premise that people pay in more than they withdraw. With 'medical insurance' this is simply not the case. For anyone who suffers a major medical crisis, which is most people at some point during their life, the costs far exceed their contributions. So, the notion of 100% coverage can never work, as noble as it may sound.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 6:04 a.m.

Yeah health care for all is the way to go. All you have to do is come up with the money. A double digit increase in taxes is the answer. Piece of cake. In Britain there is a tax for National Health Service. About 11% for an individual and for the employer too. Quality suffers quite a bit but what the heck, everyone is covered.

David Briegel

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 5:37 a.m.

Mich Man, you are correct, the Canadians stay home. It is the Americans who go to Canada for less costly drugs. Republicans and Billy Tauzin assured those fat no-bid contracts for the Drug Pushers! Must be a conservative &quot;value&quot;!


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 4:34 a.m.

Well, guess what, Mich Man. The last time I was in the U of M ER, They ordered a complete blood panel, which included a pregnancy test, for which I was charged 64 bucks, and, I gotta tell ya', I'm no spring chicken. When I called to complain, the lady in the billing office just laughed and said:&quot;Oh yeah, they always do that.&quot; Guess who's paying for that? YOU ARE! Suggestion: Read your bill. Report inaccuracies to your insurance company first, and to the U of M. I copied and faxed mine. Gives you that kind of &quot;gotcha moment&quot;.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 4:21 a.m.

Nice rebuttal, ,David.

Michigan Man

Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 1:12 a.m.

Briegel - Michigan hospitals have provided approximately $1.1 billions in uncompensated care to illegal aliens in Michigan - guess what - you are paying for this care - how many case of denied necessary medical care to children in Michigan hospitals did you find? Zero, zilch, nada? Come on - you can do better than that! Michigan Man, in less than 10 minutes just save the State of Michigan taxpayors $1.1 billion! Send em home! At least the Canadians, who do not like our system, stay home in Canada and get their care at home!

Michigan Man

Tue, Jan 3, 2012 : 11:23 p.m.

Briegel - Please cite one case where a child was denied necessary hospital care due to no money in 2011 in the State of Michigan - Once you respond with one legitimate case of a child being turned away deliberately for necessary medical care I will then give you the figure, which is into hundreds of millions of dollars, Michigan hospitals annually provided for medical care for illegal aliens in the State of Michigan.

Basic Bob

Tue, Jan 3, 2012 : 10:33 p.m.

What's stopping them is the wheelbarrows full of money blocking the exit. Her proposed solution is for patients, insurance companies and government to bring more wheelbarrows full of money. Duh.


Tue, Jan 3, 2012 : 7:56 p.m.

She better watch her pronouns.... When you make over $700K as a &quot;provider&quot;....some people begin to question your moral authority. Not to mention...unless the &quot;we&quot; includes patients that assume personal responsibility the healthcare system cannot evolve to a system that is cost efficient with reduced administrative burdens.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 1:46 p.m.

really, there's someone who wants to do just what she wants to do, and she knows best and no one can tell her different,because she's good enough at her job that she makes $700,000. and pretty much everyone else doesn't. No self interest there, none whatsoever... Of course someone has to step in and stop this insanity...


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 8:19 a.m.

$700k a year. What things one must do to make that kind of money.


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 6:14 a.m.

High salaries are part of the problem. Docs in the US get paid much more than Docs in other countries. And administrators salaries are leading the charge a la Ms Pescovitz's. At BCBS, a &quot;non profit&quot; health insurance provider, it is much worse. CEO Daniel Loepp's salary for 2010 was $2.75 million, up over 50% from 2009. That would cover quite a few folks. Here is a link with the info: <a href="" rel='nofollow'></a>


Tue, Jan 3, 2012 : 8:18 p.m.

@hank Ora Pescovitz has a base salary of $700,000


Tue, Jan 3, 2012 : 8:15 p.m.

Where in the article did it mention compensation as a provider?


Tue, Jan 3, 2012 : 7:49 p.m.

This is the same supreme court that said corporations have the same rights as an American citizen. With rulings like that and a right wing leaning body just what do you think the outcome will be?


Wed, Jan 4, 2012 : 2:46 a.m.

Corporations have the right to address government, just like unions, public interest groups, and speciality lobbies. Are you advocating that unions be denied this right also? Didn't think so. And corporations can't vote.