You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Mon, Jun 20, 2011 : 4:35 p.m.

Michigan has plenty of nominees in tonight's Big Ten Awards

By Staff

The Michigan athletic department is well represented among the nominees vying for top honors in tonight's fourth-annual Big Ten Awards presented by BTN.

In fact, two Wolverines go head-to-head against Ohio State freshman Jared Sullinger in the "Breakout Performer of the Year" award. Michigan quarterback Denard Robinson and former point guard Darius Morris are the other two nominees in that category.

Robinson is also nominated in the "Most Dominating Performance" category for his 502 total yard performance in a 28-24 win over Notre Dame.

The one-hour show airs live on BTN at 7:30 p.m. tonight.

Michigan also is part of two of the three nominees in the "Best Finish" category. One went the Wolverines' way (the football team's 67-65, triple overtime win over Illinois) and one didn't (Wisconsin's Josh Gasser hitting a buzzer-beater for a 53-52 basketball win).

The Michigan-Illinois football game is also nominated as "Game of the Year."

Other Michigan-related nominees include softball coach Carol Hutchins in the "Women's Coach of the Year" category and Brock Mealer, brother of Michigan offensive lineman Elliot Mealer, in the "Most Courageous Performance" category for leading the Wolverines out of the tunnel before the UConn football game.

The Big Ten's male and female student-athletes of the year will also be honored during the show.

Here's the complete list of awards and nominees:

Men's Coach of the Year
Thad Matta, Ohio State basketball
Matt Painter, Purdue basketball
Cael Sanderson, Penn State wrestling

Women's Coach of the Year
Carol Hutchins, Michigan softball
Mark Johnson, Wisconsin hockey
Coquese Washington, Penn State basketball

Breakout Performer of the Year
Darius Morris, Michigan basketball
Denard Robinson, Michigan football
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State basketball

Most Dominating Performance
Denard Robinson, Michigan football (vs. Notre Dame, 9/11/2010)
Mikel Leshoure, Illinois football (vs. Northwestern, 11/20/2010)
Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin basketball (vs. Ohio State, 2/12/2011)

Most Courageous Performance
Mark Dantonio, Michigan State football
Jon Hoese, Minnesota football
Brock Mealer, brother of Michigan offensive lineman Elliott Mealer

Best Finish
Notre Dame at Michigan State, football (9/18/2010)
Illinois at Michigan, football (11/6/2010)
Wisconsin at Michigan, basketball (2/23/2011)

Men’s Team of the Year
Ohio State basketball
Penn State wrestling
Wisconsin football

Women’s Team of the Year
Northwestern lacrosse
Penn State volleyball
Wisconsin hockey

Game of the Year
Illinois at Michigan football (11/6/2010)
Ohio State at Wisconsin football (10/16/2010)
Ohio State at Wisconsin basketball (2/12/2011)



Wed, Jun 22, 2011 : 3:06 p.m.

Best Finish catagory stands out. All three were exciting nail biters. It is a difficult task to judge this one as they were all great games.


Mon, Jun 20, 2011 : 9:49 p.m.

Looking at that list, they might as well rename it the Big Ten Football & Basketball Awards. My vote for Best Finish would have went to the Western Michigan vs. Michigan hockey game from Senior Night that saw Carl Hagelin score late in regulation to tie the game then again with 2.9 sec left in OT to win it. Yost was rockin'!