You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 4:17 p.m.

Top 5: Chain restaurants that we'd like to see open next in Ann Arbor area

By Paula Gardner

New retail construction is entering the pipeline in Ann Arbor, where developers seek to build Arbor Hills Crossing on Washtenaw Avenue, and two campus-area high-rises are under construction.

At the same time, more retail opportunities exist along the entire Washtenaw corridor, thanks to the pending Borders vacancy at Arborland and the planned closing of Ypsi-Arbor Lanes.

Real estate experts say chain restaurants are likely candidates to enter the Washtenaw County market thanks to these new availabilities — and the improving economy, which can make existing vacant sites viable again. (The success of places such as Five Guys Burgers on South State also resonates across real estate circles.)

Not everyone in Washtenaw County values a chain restaurant. We're seeing some new independent openings in the area — Satchel's BBQ for one — and Arbor Hills Crossing developers expressly say they want independents in the center.

But amid the conversation about potential chains that could open here comes some hope that certain favorites are on the list.

Here are our leading contenders for the names we’d like to see as part of the next wave of local chain restaurant openings:


1. Culver’s: The home of endless frozen custard varieties and the “Butter Burger” bookends Washtenaw County, with locations near Jackson and Belleville. And the chain has sought to open a restaurant near Ann Arbor for some time, with the most-mentioned location an outlot in front of the Lowes in Scio Township. No movement toward building that store has happened, at least according to recent responses from township officials. But we can still hope.

2. SONIC Drive-In: The last rumor to reach our ears circulated last September, when Sonic employees in another market started talking about a local location opening soon. We never nailed down whether that was Ann Arbor or Ypsilanti — a leading contender in the rumor mill was an outlot at Glencoe Crossing in Pittsfield Township. Sonic said at the time that the franchisee didn’t have “new information to share.” And the company has stopped responding to requests for information, so there’s nothing new to report.

pf chang.jpg

3. PF Chang's: Yes, they’ve wanted to open near Ann Arbor for several years. Yes, the former Bennigan’s near Briarwood would have been a good location. No, the former La-Z-Boy store near Briarwood wasn’t a contender. Beyond that, we’ve got little information on this chain’s plans (while Red Robin and Kapnick Insurance, respectively, took those buildings off the market). When the project called Shops at Arlington was active near Huron Village, Pei Wei was in line to open — and most developers believe that an Asian chain could be successful on Washtenaw. Now that Arbor Hills Crossing is taking shape, that could still be true. PF Chang’s is our pick for the most likely brand.

4. Cheesecake Factory: This chain offers more than the namesake (and delicious) dessert. From breakfasts (goat cheese omelet is an option) to made-from-scratch dinners (so the Web site touts), plus a full bar, the chain is a favorite due to the experience it creates for diners. It doesn’t operate in Michigan yet, but we keep hearing that it would be a good fit for Ann Arbor, which seems to make the most of its discretionary dining dollars.

5. Any of our favorites from trips to Florida: These chains aren’t only located in the Sunshine State, but Washtenaw County’s many snowbirds get a chance to try all of them during winter months — and they’ve all got fans here. Chick-fil-A, Waffle House, Miller’s Alehouse, Chevy’s Fresh Mex, Texas Roadhouse — bring ‘em on. We think they’d compete well with the area’s existing chain lineup.

Take a look at our poll to let us know which you'd pick, and comment below if you'd like to share your thoughts.



Tue, Mar 1, 2011 : 5:35 p.m.

I would love to see a Tim Horton's in the burned-out Chinese restaurant (originally a Hardee's) near English Garden on Maple.

Jojo B

Fri, Feb 25, 2011 : 6:32 p.m.

Boy, I have to agree with most of the comments that have already been posted. I'm not rallying for more chain restaurants in Ann Arbor. I'm sure they'll come like many have come already, but all of those restaurants on the list are so unhealthy. Let's bring on some more generic cookie-cutter restaurants that not only make us fat, but also make Ann Arbor look like every other city in the country. Michigan is the #11 state on the obesity scale. Let's eat more overpriced butter so we can improve that state and get closer to #1!!!


Fri, Feb 25, 2011 : 1:22 a.m.

I would like to add my two cents worth. I can't afford to eat downtown Ann Arbor, $45-$55 dollars for 2 dinners. I can afford to eat at Cracker Barrel, Culvers, Sonic etc.... Thats not counting paying to park. I wish all you whining people would take your money and build a restaurant of your choice, be able to pay the taxes and employees. Instead you just complain about what someone else is trying to accomplish. Let them come if you don't like it don't eat there.

Jojo B

Fri, Feb 25, 2011 : 6:38 p.m.

I can't afford to eat on Main Street either, nor do I really like most of those restaurants as their number one secret ingredient is butter, but bringing in more mid-level chains serving very unhealthy food doesn't get me excited either. Sure they'll come and people will eat there and get fat, but I'm not jumping up and down with a top-5 list of which one of those I want to see! There are plenty of smaller restaurants in Ann Arbor where you can get pretty good food that doesn't break your wallet or your heart.


Thu, Feb 24, 2011 : 12:36 p.m.

It will never happen here but In and Out Burger is the best chain restaurant ever!


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 11:42 p.m.

Sad to see how many people are so mesmerized by Madison Avenue restaurant marketing campaigns that they want Ann Arbor to resemble the strip mall big box blandations crapped out onto the periphery of every other city and town across this country. That industrial, corporate food sucks the soul out of you. Shop local before it's too late!


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 6:33 p.m.

I am disappointed there is only one White Castle I know of in the A2 area (on Packard Ave.). They make the greatest burger of all


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 6:25 p.m.

The crux of the issue is most of these chains are not going to open anything in downtown Ann Arbor because the rent is too damn high. End of story. McDonalds, Burger King, Taco Bell, all couldn't cut the mustard because rent per square foot is around $35.00. With that kind of rent, it'll be hard for Chik Fil A to turn a profit for a $6.00 sandwich without a drive thru. Most of these chains will end up near I-94 or Stadium / Washtenaw business loops where rent is cheaper and traffic greater. Making the argument that Ann Arbor is too hip or snooty to allow chains is ignorant to this economic reality. This is a free country, if they have money and think it will work they have every right to try, the only thing to stop them is us not going to them.

Phil Dokas

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 6:21 p.m.

Celebrate local businesses! Ann Arbor needs 0 new chain restaurants. Getting rid of the ones already in town would be even better.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 6:18 p.m.

The problem with most chains is that the food is NOT prepared on the premises. It is prepared at a central kitchen, frozen, and then shipped to the restraunt where it is reheated and served to the customer. Thanks but no thanks. I can get a frozen dinner from Kroger for a fraction of the price. If I dine out, I want to eat someplace where they actually use the kitchen for more than opening bags of salad, frying potatoes, and microwaving pouches of pasta.

Jacob Bodnar

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 6:08 p.m.

I know there's a Tim Horton's in Saline and Ypsilanti, but I think we need one in Ann Arbor, one on Washtenaw could be very successful.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 5:36 p.m.

Why don't we just send all of our money to some black hole out of town? Another Bar Louie anyone? Culver's? Seriously? I would next like to read about the wonderful complexities of a TGIChilliBees menu and why a Flingers would be good for the local economy. Most of the restaurants we already have are mediocre at best, yet they continue to multiply. Another giant step toward becoming anywhere USA. If you want Ann Arbor to be something interesting & different, vote with you dollars and ignore those who wish to suck out money of town with minimal contribution to the community and culture. Very few chains will use local, let alone in state, sources for their food & supplies. Why does Casey's & Old Town have the best burgers? Maybe it's because the meat comes from Knight's. This may be good news for the real estate market, but most downtown building owners don't even live here anyway and seem to only care about one thing: money.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 3:42 p.m.

Culvers make disgusting burgers and their prices are outrageous. PF Chang is at the Fairlane and we do get their frozen meals from the store. Although they are over priced as well. Cheesecake Factory? I thought Ann Arbor had one. As for Sonic? I thought they were a department store. O well. Any thing but Culvers please.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 3:23 p.m.

In-N-Out Burger

Hot Sam

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 2:30 p.m.

I'd like to see the Lettuce Entertain you guys from Chicago open something like a Big Bowl here...we have a ton of Asian places and they are mediocre at best... And can someone tell me why we can't have a real Mexican place with a great Margarita?


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 3:45 p.m.

There is one on Whittaker Road next to Krogers and the one at the end of Michigan Ave business has another good Margarita. The one on Whittaker has good Fajitas. Give em a try. We love the one on Whittaker though. Lettuce Entertainment? Sounds intriguing.

Tom Teague

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 3:30 p.m.

And fish tacos? It's one of the great enduring mysteries of Ann Arbor to me, Sam.

Ken K

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 1:52 p.m.

How about a Hofbrauhaus! that way we could have german park everyday.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 1:47 p.m.

Ann Arbor does not need another restaurant, but I would love to see Cheesecake Factory come in. Only get to go there in Chicago. Culver's is horrible! Why would that even be considered?

Lynn Liston

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 1:43 p.m.

Ann Arbor is a great place to eat out already, because of the large number of affordable and unique local restaurants. I belong to a group of friends and movie-goers who dine out nearly every Saturday. We choose to dine at local restaurants because we know the service, food and ambiance are superior to anything a chain can offer and we want to encourage local businesses that contribute to the economic base of the community and employ our neighbors. In addition to the many high-end restaurants in town, there are a lot of casual local restaurants where a family can get an affordable meal for a fun night out. I wonder why anyone would consider putting a Culver's near the Quality Theater when- across the street is the cutest Coney Island around, 50's decor, very good food, creatively cooked to order; in the same parking lot as the theater is Coffee House Creamery, a great place for soup, sandwiches, breakfast bagels, coffee, and of course, wonderful ice cream, including espresso sundaes. Carlyle's, also sharing a parking lot with the theater offers a really nice menu. Within easy driving distance of the theater are Classic Cup, Creekside, West Side, Mancino's...Dimo's on Stadium...Webers... there is no need for a chain restaurant there when we have such an array of excellent local restaurants. Let's fill up the tables at the local places and boost the local economy first.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 1:18 p.m.

It's fast food, but my wife and I would love to see a Chick-Fil-A near by. Better yet, put it in Ypsi and Ann Arbor won't have to lower it's erudite standards by letting in a chain!


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 1:09 p.m.

I always thought a Jamba Juice would be nice, but maybe that's just me.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 1:04 p.m.

How about Carrabba's Italian Grill? There's one in Canton that we go to and the food is excellent.

Will Warner

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 9:20 a.m.

Of course we all prefer to dine -- I certainly do -- but sometimes we must feed. At those times, I'm happy that our market economy offers me choices that include Culver's. I find the food to be pretty good there, for a chain, and I accept the market's decisions about what is or is not "sustainable" and/or wasteful. People's time is most precious and that is what must not be wasted. I would urge some posters here to be a tad less sanctimonious. Believe me, I could out-dine any of you with one credit card tied behind my back, but I wouldn't think of judging other people's food preferences. People get to eat what they like (provided there is enough demand for whatever it is to generate a supply). If a person's diet has the potential to adversely affect his health, that is really his lookout. Finally, I also like Hooters, for the articles.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 6:03 a.m.

Just clarifying for everyone, there is a Chick Fil A at Oakland University that is open to the public. However, it is currently the companies only Michigan store.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 5:41 a.m.

Bonefish Grill Golden Corral By the way, isn't D'Angelos sub shop on Eisenhower? Also, there is a Culver's at Belleville and 94.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 3:14 p.m.

Ahh, thanks Hmm. Started with a D!


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 1:36 p.m.

That's Dibella's and they are AWESOME


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 4:17 a.m.

Tilted Kilt, way better than Hooter's


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 3:09 a.m.

Yes, Baja Fresh! Why didn't we ever get a new Boston Market when the old one became a McD's? I thought I'd heard that they'd open another location elsewhere in town, but they never did. The restaurant always seemed busy - my kids loved it, and we did also.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 3:08 a.m.

Everytime we go past a vacant business, my 13 year old says, "Maybe they will put a Chik-Fil-A there." We are awaiting the day when we can get Chik-Fil-A without driving to Cedar Point or further south. And I certainly hope that Cheesecake Factory never opens anywhere in Ann Arbor; they are infamous for HUGE fat-laden portions of food. There isn't much one can order on that menu without contributing to the obesity epidemic in this country.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 2:53 a.m.

I'd suggest Bravo, a mid-sized Italian-restaurant chain. Quite good, esp. by chain standards, but the closest locations, according to its website, are in Dearborn, Rochester, and Toledo. I think it'd be quite competitive, as IMO there are no outstanding Italian restaurants in town save Bella Ciao (Gratzi and Palio? Gag me).


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 2:41 a.m.

A better list: Jersey Mike's (I hear one is coming to Ann Arbor!) Chick-Fil-A Culver's Some place that has good tex mex. Baja Fresh


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 2:37 a.m.

One restaurant that has great potential to be the next chain thing is Hippo's out of Troy, MI. Their specialty is the Chicago Dog. They also have a restauarant on the east side. They would blow the current Red Hot's off the planet. If you are ever out at Maple(15 Mile) and Rochester Road give them a try

Mike D.

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 2:36 a.m.

I can't think of anything I'd want less than any of these chains. Every single one of them serves fatty, salty, processed, disgusting, unhealthy food. I'd rather vote on which serial killer I'd like paroled to Ann Arbor--statistically, it would be less risk to the community.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 2:33 a.m.

Buca di Beppo Johnny Rockets Bravo Italian Cucina Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville

Jay Thomas

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 2:33 a.m.

I'd like to see a Culvers and a Boston's. Sonic is terrible.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 2:20 a.m.

If they're still around, I'd like to see Pizza Uno's return to Ann Arbor. I liked eating at the one on campus, but it closed in the late 90s. So disappointing.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 2:18 a.m.

I don't think PF Chang would make it in Ann Arbor, not with the number of Chinese restaurants we already have.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 1:59 a.m.

Chick-fil-A without question.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 1:57 a.m.

1) Sonny's BBQ in Florida. 2) Iron Works BBQ in Austin 3) Mama's Taco's in San Diego 4) TOGO's of California 5) More Zingerman's 6) Taco Connection of San Antonio You will not find #3 or #6 on the web.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 1:34 a.m.

How is Chic-fil-a not an option?


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 12:56 a.m.

Ooh, Friendly's! Or Perkins? I grew up in the northeast, too, and I would love to see an affordable family restaurant like those.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 12:49 a.m.

Two burger chains and two pricey theme restaurants? In these economic times, I'd prefer quality food at reasonable prices. I've been dying for an El Pollo Loco after spending alot of time in CA.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 12:47 a.m.

As a former Massachusetts girl, I would like to see a Friendlys or D'Angelos Sub Shop.

John B.

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 12:41 a.m.

Second in a list of silly Top 5 lists. Is it the recent full moon? Cabin fever? Inquiring minds want to know....

Bob Sly

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 12:34 a.m.

What about a Cracker Barrel?


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 12:11 a.m.

one word ANDIAMO,


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 12:07 a.m.

Lenny's Sub Shop


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 11:57 p.m.

Ummm, yeah, we gotta keep it local. If a chain comes in, all the workers will get $10-$14 an hour while the regional managers and the executives will get all the money and use it to pay for their country club dues in South Florida. Ann Arbor needs to become a real city...Like having a proper Chinatown in Northeast and having a proper place to buy porn and a medical marijuana clinic on 4th? How bout a legit TV station with a news team? How bout a local grocery store that sells good local food that poor people can afford?


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 7:06 p.m.

We have plenty of reasonably-priced local grocery stores. You just may not notice them, since they're mostly ethnic grocery stores.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 6:01 p.m.

Downtown can't support a grocery store. Not because it's too snooty, because the average price per square foot is too high, currently around $35 to $40 per. A market correction is needed to bring down the overpriced real estate in downtown. A good place to start is avoiding those who don't contribute to community or culture, like the Melting Pot or Pot Belly.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 4:08 a.m.

Yes on the first paragraph. As to the second paragraph, AA is too small to be a real city, too small (and too close to the Detroit TV market) to support a legit TV station, and, in all candor, too wealthy and snooty for a good, reasonably priced, local grocery store.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 3:47 a.m.

Maybe even a newspaper!


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 11:50 p.m.



Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 10:51 p.m.

Its always funny how people bitch and moan about chain restaurants, but seems if the community does not want them, people won;t eat there. Would you liek some facts on the so-called "local restaurants". *Main Street Ventures- (Gratzi, Palio, Carsons, Real Seafood) is a chain. There are 16 restaurants in the group. Four Chop House locations and four Real Seafood * Fleetwood Diner- has a second location in Grand Rapids *Broken Egg is the same owner as the Chelsea Grill * Village Kitchen is the same family as the Broken Egg and also Nicks House of Pancakes and Smokehouse Blues *Mediterrano has Carlyle The fact is, single restaurants GOAL is usually to grow to beyond one location. That is not a bad thing. I have a good food at chains and bad food at chains. I have had good food at independent restaurants, and bad food at them as well. I don't care about the number of units, I care about the quality of the food, the service, the atmosphere, the cleanliness and many other parts of a restaurant. The Cheesecake Factory is a phenomenol organization in putting out large volume of food which caters to many different taste buds. Their kitchens are organized and cleaner than most I have seen. I could also tell you stories of "locally owned" restaurants, that may look good from the outside, but when you see their sanitation and food safety practices you would cringe (or puke). How about, if you do not want to eat at a chain restaurant DONT.

John B.

Fri, Feb 25, 2011 : 12:57 a.m.

@ssAA: Do you have a price range in mind? Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner? Any particular style/type of food? @timjbd: True, but that doesn't mean we have to accept mediocrity.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 11:38 p.m.

However, the money spent at those restaurants STAYS in Ann Arbor for the most part. Much more so than does money spent at Craparoni Grill or Olive Loaf.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 12:59 p.m.

Hey John B. - Any suggestions for good places to eat? I'm always looking for something new.

John B.

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 12:38 a.m.

I don't eat at a single local restaurant mentioned in your list - because they are all mediocre (or worse) in my opinion! Broken Egg, Village Kitchen, Smokehouse Blues, and her family's other places are just terrible. You can see where the money went (instead of into quality ingredients, etc.) when you see her driving around town in her silver Mercedes G-Wagen....


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 10:27 p.m.

@Macabre Sunset: it's not just about quality or aesthetics, it's about preventing new businesses from getting started. These chains have the ability to pay very high rents, which standalone restaurants can't afford to do. They can take a loss for years. New businesses can't. When they come into an area in quantity, their presence in the market drives rents up, which in turn prevents new businesses from being able to establish themselves. If you get enough of them in an area, you'll eventually wind up just with big, rich chains, because nobody else can afford the rent. Sure, new places can still spring up in lower-quality locations on the periphery, but you've drastically changed the area, and not for the better.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 3:47 a.m.

Unrestricted capitalism is not an appealing prospect.


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 10:43 p.m.

That darn capitalism, ruins it every time.

Macabre Sunset

Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 10:18 p.m.

By all means, let's drive away jobs in the name of aesthetics. If someone shows interest in opening a store of any kind in Ann Arbor, let's tell them our noble unemployed chefs make better food and our noble unemployed shopkeepers sell better goods. Every chain had to start somewhere. And they all started because some local businessman in that somewhere actually had a successful business model.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 11:35 p.m.

Ann Arbor can support a certain number of restaurants and that's it. Every chain that comes to town has enough (Wall Street) backing to outmarket and undercut any local restaurant. Chain restaurants also take most of their income OUT of the local community. Something like $0.67 of every dollar leaves the local economy for good whereas local restaurants continue to circulate local income locally. So a chain will not expand jobs and economic activity, it will only replace a local establishment and remove that money from the community permanently. Why would anyone from Ann Arbor want that? If you want to eat at PF Changs that badly, take a drive to Northville or Dearborn. Or anywhere USA. Those places are spreading like bone cancer.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 3:58 a.m.

Well ... no. Most chains are started by groups of investors with slick marketing plans. The old "we started it in a garage" is a gross exaggeration at best and an outright canard at worst.


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 10:12 p.m.

How about NONE? What we don't need around here is more chain restaurants that can put locally-owned places out of business through huge marketing and real estate budgets and superior name recognition while serving homogenized, bland, boring products. Give me a break.


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 10:06 p.m.

who is "we" in the "we'd like to see"? this is quite possibly the least needed post in history. why would we "need" any of these? is there an underserved need that one of these marginal at best (chik-filet) and diarrhea inducing at worst (cheasecake factory) restaurants? there are plenty of young, talented chefs in this town waiting for the right space and a chance to cook some good food. last thing we need is more chains driving up the rent.


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 9:55 p.m.

Let's remember, that if I have my history correct, Chevy's tex mex is Rio Bravo. Rio closed down as a rebranding in the early 2000s in the upper midwest. I don't recall if there was one near Ann Arbor (as I'm importedfromdetroit) but there were in the Detroit area. ref:<a href="" rel='nofollow'></a>


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 5:16 p.m.

We used to call the Rio Bravo at Westgate &quot;Diarrhea Pronto&quot; for obvious reasons.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 2:14 a.m.

We had a Rio Bravo's in late 90s/early 2000s at Westgate and it was a short stay. The food there was bland and uninspiring.


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 9:51 p.m.

Rock Bottom Brewery!! <a href="" rel='nofollow'></a>

Big Dave

Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 3 a.m.

All right, gave this brewpub slash restaurant five stars on TripAdvisor when I reviewed one four years ago in Chicago. Great place.

John Rosenzweig

Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 9:50 p.m.

I'd love to have a Quaker Steak &amp; Lube in the area.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 12:25 a.m.

I'll second that!


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 9:47 p.m.

I ate at a Cheesecake Factory in Florida a couple of years ago and was pleasantly surprised. The food and ambiance was actually good. The other restaurants listed have horrible food and we certainly don't need anymore &quot;dining&quot; establishments like those.


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 9:46 p.m.

None of the above. We don't need them.


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 9:43 p.m.

How about a Hooter's?


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 7:32 p.m.

I don't know if it's true, but someone mentioned that they were going to open a Hooters where Bill Knapps used to be, but zoning shot it down.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 12:45 p.m.

I'd love to see a Hooter's if for no other reason than to anger those who think they know what's good for others.


Wed, Feb 23, 2011 : 12:04 a.m.

@Huh; Hooters has great wings, but the closest thing to them and (!) maybe better, are found at the Arena. Plus, I think they might be cheaper.


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 11:33 p.m.

Thats a weeks worth of protesting, but a line i would cross for chicken wings.

Ron Granger

Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 9:41 p.m.

Huge Yawn... And a bit of a gag.

Ben Connor Barrie

Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 9:37 p.m.

Really? Is this part of the make Ann Arbor bland/like everywhere else in the US campaign I've heard so much about? Why do we need/want chain restaurants to take over abandoned stores? They tend to sell unhealthy, unsustainable, food that can be found anywhere else in the country.


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 9:36 p.m.

When I think great Ann Arbor restaurants, I certainly don't think of those that are part of a chain.


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 9:35 p.m.

Are you kidding me? Like we need more fast food to fatten up Michigan. Give me a break.


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 11:32 p.m.

We do, im down 10 pounds this month because i need more variety.


Tue, Feb 22, 2011 : 9:34 p.m.

Of the first four, P F Chang's come the closest to real food and without all the waste generated by the likes of Culver's and especially Sonic.