You are viewing this article in the archives. For the latest breaking news and updates in Ann Arbor and the surrounding area, see
Posted on Fri, Mar 22, 2013 : 12:40 p.m.

Ypsilanti, Milan and Pioneer boys basketball teams represented on AP Class A All-State team

By Pete Cunningham


Ypsilanti's Lavonte Davis, pictured above is one of three Washtenaw County players to earn honorable mention on the Associated Press Class A All-State team.

Courtney Sacco | file photo


A trio of Washtenaw County seniors earned honorable mention on the Associated Press Class A All-State team, which was released on Monday.

Pioneer guard Jibreel Hussein, Milan guard C.J. Turnage and Ypsilanti center Lavonte Davis all earned honorable mention on the Class A All-State team.

Davis is a 6-foot-7 center who averaged 9.1 points, 11.3 rebounds and 3.2 rebounds for Ypsilanti during the regular season. The Phoenix won the Southeastern Conference White Division, district and regional titles before being eliminated by the defending state champions, Saginaw High, on Tuesday in the state quarterfinals. Davis will play at Division II Northwood next year.


Milan senior, C.J. Turnage.

Courtney Sacco |

Turnage is a 6-5 guard who averaged 19.1 points, four assists, 7.9 rebounds, 2.9 steals and 1.8 blocks for Milan during the regular season. The Big Reds won the Huron League, a district championship and advanced to the regional finals before losing to Romulus. Turnage will play at Saginaw Valley State next year.

Hussein is a 6-4 senior guard who averaged 15 points per game for Pioneer. Pioneer went 15-5 on the year, losing to Ypsilanti in the opening round of district play.

The Associated Press All-State team is voted on by a 10-person panel made up of sports writers from across the state from Associated Press membership publications. The top 10 players to receive votes from the panel are considered first team All-State, players who receive two votes or more are automatically special mention and those who receive one or no votes are honorable mention.

The Associated Press Class A boys basketball All-State team, as selected by a panel of 10 Michigan sports writers:


James Young, Rochester, 6-6, Sr., Player of the Year

Jalen Adams, Saginaw Arthur Hill, 6-4, Sr.

Wes Clark, Romulus, 6-0, Sr.

Kahlil Felder, Detroit Pershing, 5-10, Sr.

Josh Groenhof, Zeeland East 6-7, Sr.

Jackson Lamb, Temperance Bedford, 6-6, Sr.

E.C. Matthews, Romulus, 6-4, Sr.

Bishop Robinson, Kalamazoo Loy Norrix, 6-2, Sr.

Denzel Watts, Flint Carman-Ainsworth, 5-11, Sr.

Drake Harris, Grand Rapids Christian, 6-3, Jr.

Eric Davis, Saginaw Arthur Hill, 6-3, So.



Eric Krause, Midland; Chris Belcher, Grand Blanc


SPECIAL MENTION (nominees receiving two or more votes from the 10-member panel):

A.J. Turner, Warren DeLaSalle; Martez Walker, Detroit Pershing; Bart Williams, Grand Blanc


HONORABLE MENTION (nominees receiving one or no votes from the 10-member panel):


Pioneer senior, Jibreel Hussein.

Daniel Brenner | AnnArbor.comfile photo

Jonathan Williams, Southfield-Lathrup; Paris Bass, Birmingham Seaholm; D'Andre Johnson, Detroit Cass Tech; Aaron Foster-Smith, Taylor Truman; Marqywell Jackson, Detroit East English Village; Ali Farhat, Dearborn; Brian Morton, Lansing Eastern; Dee Roberts, Lansing Waverly; Javon Haines, East Lansing; Don'Quall Jackson, Holt; Nathan Lafayette, Okemos; C.J. Turnage, Milan; Jibreel Hussein, Ann Arbor Pioneer; Lavonte Davis, Ypsilanti; Luke Cordes, Alpena; Cory Cox, Fenton; Eric Readman, Fenton; J.D. Tisdale, Swartz Creek; Miles Bridges, Flint Southwestern; Tyler Conklin, Macomb L'Anse Creuse North; Keith Phillips, Warren Mott; Tyler Sykes, Sterling Heights Stevenson; Dante Hawkins, Holland; Deshaun Thrower, Muskegon; Marcus Hall, East Grand Rapids; Fernando Wade, Wyoming; Arthur Pearson, East Kentwood; Jaylen Carter, East Kentwood; Jason Malling, Lowell; Kardokh Piromari, Caledonia; Alec Brown, Niles; Trevin Alexander, Battle Creek Central; Dean Kolstad, Richland Gull Lake; Markel Bradshaw, Saginaw; Keyon Addison, Saginaw; Kyle Shomin, Mount Pleasant; Nick Daniels, Westland John Glenn, Ryan Anderson, DeWitt, Robert Geoghegan, Owosso



Nate Oats, Romulus


Voting panel:

Pete Cunningham,; Mike Eckert, Traverse City Record-Eagle; Ross Maghielse, MLive-Flint; Paul Costanzo, Times Herald (Port Huron); Tom Markowski, The Detroit News; Alan Babbitt, The Holland Sentinel; Dick Hoekstra, Lansing State Journal; Steve Kaminski, MLive-Grand Rapids; Scott DeCamp, MLive-Kalamazoo; Jim Lahde, Morning Sun (Mount Pleasant)